We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Zarape

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Zarape
Ranked #20 of 68 Restaurants in Nogales
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Patagonia, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Pretty much local fair, and outstanding. Parking was different, everybody just jams in, but when holler they just go out and move the cars so you can get out with a smile and a good day. Loved It!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiffin09Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I loved the authentic Mexican food. They were making all the tortillas when I walked in. The parking lot full which is a good sign. Everything I had was great and came back several ties for lunch. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bgranillo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall -- yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I had no idea what to expect from this little, tucked-away restaurant, but I was completely & pleasantly surprised. We dined there sort of late for them (we found out they close at 8), but we were met with friendly service and fantastic food! I ate the Birria, a rich red chile and beef broth filled with shredded beef. They served a bowl of real limes (tiny orbs of tangy, fragrant juice), a plate of fresh white corn tortillas, and fresh shredded lettuce, chopped onions, and cilantro. It was heaven! My husband ate chicken enchiladas and a maccacha taco, both declared great. Our friend has shrimp with green chiles and raved!

Be sure you start with a homemade guacamole appetizer because it was fabulous: chunky, with diced onions and a LOT of cilantro. I added lime and it was scrumptious. Te only thing we had that wasn't homemade and WONDERFUL were the chips. Too bad. Ause the salsa was to die for! Besides that, you cannot go wrong here. And it was under $10 per person! Yay!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We ate breakfast here 3 times during our visit with family. The food is excellent - authentic Mexican, reasonably priced, and the service is great! I had chorizo and eggs. The chorizo was spicy, but not too hot. The tortillas were wonderful! .We will definitely be going back on our next visit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieNTexas13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Zarape also viewed

 

Been to El Zarape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing