We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!”

Kino Springs Golf Course
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Nogales
Attraction details
Nogales, Arizona
2 reviews
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great service. The condition of the course is amazing and the greens are fast. It's a challenging layout, but this makes it fun to play. Have fun!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank cramos76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, NM
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Course!”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Very interesting layout, very challenging, but the most fun course we played after two rounds at courses in Green Valley during our trip. Guys at the pro shop warned us not to keep score since it was our first time playing. We should have listened to them. Plenty of blind shots, many up-and-down-and-up fairways, and plenty of opportunities to really mess up a hole due to lack of local knowledge of the course's quirks. However, the course's solitude and the wide variety of valley and hilly holes make it worth the trip even from Tucson. Don't let the rather plain and "old" feel to the driving range deceive you. Overall, the course is in good shape, though the sand in the bunkers is a little hard and not of the usual bunker sand consistency we normally expect. Just a pretty and historical location with very little course traffic on a weekday. A pleasure to play if you are a mid-handicapper (15-20+) and don't keep score.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolfCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
809 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Interesting, friendly and challenging”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The course is old and tired as are many of the facilities. It has been around for sometime so it has a colorful history. So why do I play here? I play it for the following reasons. It is an interesting track - many blind shots, many places to go off course and demanding in places. It is inexpensive - great value. The scenery is outstanding in many places . The staff are very friendly. At one point you are almost in Mexico so it is one of the southern most courses. I really like the course and the people down there. Unfortunately, it needs a lot of sprucing up to be rated higher.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank woodmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Kino Springs is Ready to Play; Just Don't Come on Sun AM!”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We played at Kino Springs in Oct. We had played Rio Rico the day before so we weren't quite sure what to expect after that disappointing golf course. Well, Kino Springs has obviously put some money into the course to keep it in decent, playing condition. The greens were in good shape & tightly mowed. The fairways were lush and very playable. It was a pleasurable 18 holes although holes 5 through 13 have some odd layouts. But, BEWARE! Do NOT try to play on a Sun AM or anytime they have a men's league playing. We played behind a FIVESOME who never allowed us to play through....probably because they had a foursome in front of them part of the time. There's just no excuse for a 5 hour round of golf....unless you're paying big $$$ to play at a course like Pebble Beach! When we left in the mid afternoon there was virtually no one on the course and we could have easily played 18 holes in under 4 hours. My advice would be to call the pro shop and check to see if there's a men's group going out when you want to play. I would highly recommend the course other than that.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GVgolfer2aces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely, hilly and scenic golf course”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a lovely course, located well out in the country east of Nogales. The opening holes (1-4) and closing holes (14-18) are in the valley, flat and just normal, good golf holes, but the middle holes (5-13) wind through the hills and are both challenging and scenic. The course is generally uncrowded, and in the winter months, when greens fees go sky-high in Arizona, their prices are still reasonable and tee times are available even on the day you want to play. If it is not too far out of your way, it is a good bet for a pleasant round of golf.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamCooky27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kino Springs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing