We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-visit gem.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nogales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Corona de Guevavi
Ranked #1 of 3 Nogales B&B and Inns
Fitzwilliam, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must-visit gem.”
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Every aspect of this top-notch B&B surpassed our expectations. We stayed for three days in the well-appointed and very comfortable “Duke” suite, but other rooms we saw would have been equally pleasing. On top of that, we thoroughly enjoyed the elegant comfort of the many rooms open to guests, the beautiful grounds, the wonderful panoramic views, the absolutely delicious breakfasts, and the warm hospitality of hosts Wendy and Phil who have made this lovely property into a must-visit gem.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2008

We asked a friend in Tucson to recommend where we should spend a couple of days to make a relaxing break before a demanding trade fair. The friend recommended the Hacienda Corona de Guevavi and it was everything we were seeking.

Phil and Wendy provided a warm welcome and offered advice on where to go nearby. We resolved that next time we would go riding.

It's a lovely, most restful place: it almost seemed sacreligious to be using Wi-Fi there.

Nick

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

When we booked a 4 night stay at this out-of-they way B & B, we were merely looking for a base from which to explore southeast Arizona that would get us out of the city.
Wow!! Were we ever surprised! When we first drove up - past the dried riverbed & the cows & tumbleweeds, we had serious doubts as to what we had "gotten ourselves into". Hacienda Corona turned out to be the highlight of our trip.
The Hacienda is a real hidden gem in the desert. Wendy & Phil have done an amazing job in restoring the hacienda. Everything from structural changes to the building & furniture/decorations maintain the original "feel" & design of the house. The murals in the courtyard, from the 50's, are just amazing, & lend to the ambiance. The rooms are actually NICER & bigger than appears on the website photos. The views of the mountains were just breathtaking at all times of the day, with lots of birds to be sighted.
From the moment we drove up, Phil & Wendy really made us feel like we were guests in their home. Each night there was a chance to visit & relax around the fireplace (yes, southern Arizona can be cold at night in December!) for Happy Hour. There are enough "living areas" for guest to either sit & mingle, relax in private, or even play one of the board games.
During our stay, Wendy & Phil somehow managed to assure that all of their guests were happy & comfortable - whether they were looking for a romantic get-away, relaxing escape from hectic schedules, shopping in Mexico, or relaxing after long days of hiking.
Breakfasts were plentiful & delicious. It was different each morning - from frittata to pancakes with pinenuts. They really made us feel pampered, & seemed to cater the selection to the guests. On the morning we went hiking before breakfast was served, the "breakfast fairy" provided coffee, tea, fresh juice, yogurt, & homemade granola for us.
There are horses on the property, & Phil gives riding lessons. I had never been on a horse, yet he trusted me with his favorite "girl", Sadie. He is knowledgeable about horses, & was very patient in teaching me the basics, & well as giving me a good understanding of the dynamics of the relationship between the horse & rider - something I probably wouldn't have gotten from most riding instructors.
In short, Hacienda Corona is a real gem in the desert -- something not to be missed. The location allowed us to feel that we were "away from it all", yet is not really so far from civilization to be inconvenient. We have stayed at many B & B's, but this one really is at the top of the list - not to be missed.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ShortyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

This was my second trip to Hacienda Corona de Guevavi, and I hope I can go back again and again. There are few places to which I truly want to return, but this is one. The first trip was a long weekend in November; this trip was five days at Christmas a year later. The rooms are splendid; breakfast is excellent and local; the innkeepers (Wendy and Phil) go out of their way to make every stay special. The hacienda is a lovingly restored and beautifully furnished ranch home with splendid murals painted by Salvador Corona in the first half of the 20th century. You can't help unwinding in this quiet place just an hour from Tucson. We particularly like the room called The Duke, where John Wayne stayed when this was a family residence; John Wayne movies are part of the deal! La Posada is ever so elegant, with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The magic is in the place and the people; don't miss a chance to spend time there!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KateMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

I have been going to Nogales for years but, only ever planned a day trip because the hotels near the border are so mediocre. I was thrilled when a google search of hotels in the area led me to Haciena Corona. When we arrived we were more than excited by our surrounding. The Hacienda and the grounds were amazing. We felt so special like we have discovered a little secret treasure. This place will not disappoint!!! Phil and Wendy are so kind and welcoming. We loved it so much we retuned a month later for another stay.
-Kira Weinstein, Tucson, AZ

Helpful?
3 Thank KiraWeinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2005

My son was stationed at Ft Huachuca Army Base this past summer, and my husband and I decided on a 10 day road trip starting in Nogales so we could visit him. I found the Hacienda on a bed and breakfast website, and after speaking with the owner, Wendy Stover, we chose the "La Patrona" suite for two nights in August. We flew from NYC to Tucson, and the drive south to Nogales was about 45 minutes. Be warned that once you get off the highway, you need to literally go over the river and through the woods to reach the hacienda! Phil Stover was kind enough to meet us by the entrance and guide us to to main building. The house sits on what used to be a real cattle ranch that was visited frequently by John Wayne, and one of the rooms is called The Duke (very masculine with lassos and cattle-hide bedspread!) My husband was ready to cancel our reservation because we realized the hacienda was about an hour away from the army base, but after seeing our suite, and the view from our private terrace (words cannot describe the mountains and vistas) he decided the drive was worth it. We had the most wonderful two days! Wendy and Phil were wonderful hosts, and we met some great people at breakfast each morning (and those breakfast were delicious!) We didn't feel like driving back to the army base the second night, and they provided a roll-out bed for my son and breakfast for only $25. Wendy also prepared a complimentary picnic basket of enchiladas and fruit and cheese so that we could sit on the terrace and watch the most spectacular sunset. Because the hacienda is so remote, the stars in the night sky were brilliant-we don"t have that in NYC! We hated saying good-bye, but we agreed that we would come back.

Helpful?
8 Thank Frolic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nogales
4.2 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
4.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
12.6 mi away
The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens
8.2 mi away
Esplendor Resort at Rio Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Corona de Guevavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Corona de Guevavi

Property: Hacienda Corona de Guevavi
Address: 348 South River Road, Nogales, AZ 85621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Nogales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nogales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Corona, the onetime headquarters of the Guevavi Ranch and playground for Hollywood star John Wayne, is a historic treasure. A perfectly private and peaceful desert oasis for all kinds of events. Weddings, corporate events, family retreats or a romantic weekend for two getaway! Guests relax and refresh with birds singing in the lush, vibrant gardens with historic murals on courtyard walls and a sparkling mosaic tile swimming pool. Guest rooms are luxurious and unique and while "gourmet" is not a typical ranch phrase, breakfasts are scrumptious. One hour south of Tucson between the towns of Tubac and Patagonia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing