We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning historic murals and a perfect retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nogales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hacienda Corona de Guevavi
Ranked #1 of 3 Nogales B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This is an amazing bed and breakfast in so many ways! The hacienda itself is a masterpiece, with stunning historic murals, several courtyards, fountains, pool, and even a mini cantina! The decor is superb, including an eclectic mix of styles such as Mexican antiques alongside modern chandeliers. Situated on a low hill, there is a gorgeous view of the mountains and valley. Wendy, the owner, is a charming and warm hostess who whips up fabulous breakfasts and tells riveting stories. I have stayed here twice and plan to go back again next year, and maybe sooner, if I can!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k-wren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

My husband and I just returned from a lovely two-day stay at this marvelous southern Arizona B&B, the Hacienda Corona de Guevavi. Our visit was delightful in every way. Wendy, our hostess, is not only charming and great fun, but also a wonderful chef. The breakfasts are delish! We drove down to experience birding in Southern Arizona and came away with wonderful photos of the wildlife there. We stayed in the Out of Africa room and enjoyed the decor and ambiance. In the evening, you can join Wendy for a glass of wine (or soda) and some nibbles. I think that was our favorite time. But I don't know . . . the breakfasts might have been my favorite part. Hmmm . . . no, it was the gardens. You get the point. Highest recommendations.

Room Tip: John Wayne used to stay in the Duke room. Great spot with a door right onto the patio,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katierey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Five years out of the past seven, we have celebrated our anniversary here. Only uncontrollable circumstances kept us away the other two years. If you yearn for the old west, where cattle were king and horses worked for their feed every day, this place is where you want to be. John Wayne roamed the halls of this ranch, when the film "Red River" was in production. But that was then, and today, Wendy Stover offers all of the history of the region along with the gracious hospitality that results in the "5-star" ratings given by virtually every guest who has bothered to write a review. Trip Advisor calls the Hacienda Corona de Guevavi "number 1 of 3 B&Bs in Nogales." What it actually is: the most authentic taste you could hope for of the authentic old west not long from when the Gadsden Purchase added this land to the United States in 1856. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: The "John Wayne Suite" is a hoot, but all the rooms are lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I can't say enough good things about this place. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights celebrating our wedding anniversary. We have stayed at many B&B's this place is far and above any of them. The owner and hostess Wendy is wonderful and gracious. We stayed in the La Patrona suite it has a comfy king bed and large fireplace. The bathroom was my favorite, it is huge and beautiful. We had a lovely patio right outside our suite. This suite is for romance! The property is gorgeous with spectacular views. Wendy served amazing breakfasts but I think our favorite was a little get together with her at 5:30 pm each night she served appetizers and wine, it was lovely, just like her. We will be back, it was a little cool last week so didn't get to enjoy the pool. When we come back it will be in July or August. We also went into town of Nogales AZ and walked across the bordor into Nogales Mexico and had a great time. Very fun; we had lunch downtown and had the best enchiladas and margaritas. If you go please don't hesitate to walk across the border into Mexico we felt very safe and the Mexican people were very warm and welcoming. I'm also included in some pics and I will try to post a video.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Staying here is like being the welcome guest of a wealthy rancher in Old Arizona. The sprawling ranch house and out buildings are furnished with taste and character. The hostess is gracious and generous. I stayed with my mother in the Duke room, which has a separate sleeping area with fold-out couch. But we hardly spent any time in the room. Instead, we relaxed in front of a fire in the living room while sipping wine and chatting with our hostess. The ranch is an ideal location for a retreat, destination wedding or other event. There are wonderful things to do in the area - if you can tear yourself away from the ranch.

Room Tip: La Patrona is an incredibly elegant and romantic room for a couple. But every room is nice and gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Loved it. Will definitely go back. We were charmed from the second we arrived. Wild duck pond to greet us, slow winding hill, sweeping vistas. This B&B is the quietest place I have been in and is decorated to perfection. Each room individually styled and proportioned. Large homey farm type kitchen and verandas everywhere. We felt at home in 5 minutes

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaa123kaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

When we visited Hacienda Corona for the first time, it was late at night. After driving a mile off the main road down a dirt, washboard trail, my wife and I had our doubts. Then we arrived at the main house, entered the courtyard, and we were transported into another time and place -- the old West. We have since gone back nearly half-a-dozen times and each time is better than the last. This place should be designated an historic landmark. Original murals by Mexican artist and bullfighter Corona decorated the interior walls. This hacienda has four rooms to rent -- we have rented them all except for "The Duke" - John Wayne's favorite bedroom when he was a frequent visitor there. (He first visited when he was filming a John Ford western nearby.) The Stovers are wonderful owners and make you feel like you are more family than guests. It's conveniently located, Mexico for lunch is a 20 minute drive. There's horseback trips thru the Santa Cruz Valley and into the mountains surrounding it, sunning by the swimming pool, and incredible Mexican/Arizona style breakfasts. I have found old (meaning 300-500 yrs old) indian pottery around this Hacienda left by the Hohokum Indians who camped out exactly where the hacienda now stands. I highly recommend spending at least a few nights at this authentic, unique hacienda.

Room Tip: Book early since it's generally sold out. While there, check out Tubac, Tumacocori and Patagoni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJClancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nogales hotels
4.4 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
4.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
El Dorado Inn
El Dorado Inn
#6 of 9 in Nogales
12 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
5.6 mi away
Frida's Inn Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Corona de Guevavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Corona de Guevavi

Address: 348 South River Road, Nogales, AZ 85621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Nogales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nogales
Price Range: £132 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Corona, the onetime headquarters of the Guevavi Ranch and playground for Hollywood star John Wayne, is a historic treasure. A perfectly private and peaceful desert oasis for all kinds of events. Weddings, corporate events, family retreats or a romantic weekend for two getaway! Guests relax and refresh with birds singing in the lush, vibrant gardens with historic murals on courtyard walls and a sparkling mosaic tile swimming pool. Guest rooms are luxurious and unique and while "gourmet" is not a typical ranch phrase, breakfasts are scrumptious. One hour south of Tucson between the towns of Tubac and Patagonia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing