We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Management - Not So Good”

Historic C.O.D. Ranch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oracle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic C.O.D. Ranch
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Management - Not So Good”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our group has had many retreats at this ranch but recently it is under new management, nothing is the same, the food was terrible and everything was chaotic, time to find a new place for our retreats, so sad.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CODranch, Owner at Historic C.O.D. Ranch, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Following thorough investigation I am certain the preceding review was written and posted by a disgruntled former employee. My ranch has been under new management which has successfully hosted more than 16 groups since that review was posted . The leaders and participants of those groups are eager to return to the ranch in the near future due to the excellent service they received. Many have already committed to new retreats for 2013. I have made it my mission for 17 years to make my ranch a quality haven of serenity for my guests. I invite you to experience this for yourselves.

Sincerely,
Stephen Malkin, Owner
The Historic COD Ranch, LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Desert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I stayed at the C.O.D. Ranch with a group doing a yoga retreat.
The restored ranch and property is beautiful. The remodeled barn was perfect for yoga with two whole panels that open out to a stunning view. The staff was so kind and attentive they really have a spirit of service. David the chef is a fabulous cook. He made us meals that were healthy but sooooo yummy and creative. I would recommend the C.O.D. to anyone.

  • Liked — private and amazing views
  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank asr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2007

Our family of 5 spent a week there around New Year's. The ranch manager was incredibly kind, taking special requests for breakfast (he's a fantastic cook), setting up the (remodeled!) barn for us to celebrate New Year's Eve in, and generally doing everything he could to make our stay comfortable. The owner came by a few times, suggested a video we might like to watch, and even picked it up himself.

This is not a full-service dude ranch. It's a FORMER working ranch. There is no horseback riding on site, but they'll gladly make arrangements with the stable 5 minutes up the road.

If you're looking for an all-inclusive ranch adventure, with activities scheduled 24/7, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a family getaway on a beautiful site with wonderful people, where you can let the kids run free, where you can sit around the fire or bank the flames and watch the stars, and where there are plenty of things to do within a modest drive, then you'd be hard pressed to do better.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of the staff, mountain location
  • Disliked — Distance from some of our planned activities
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MathHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 August 2004

We had 37 people for a week in August celebrating a family reunion. The entire staff did everything they could to make our stay comfortable, especially Steve, who purchased a bunch more AC units to keep us all cool. The chef prepared two excellent dinners, and we did the rest of our own cooking. We found plenty to entertain everyone (who ranged in age from 8 mos. to 82 years). Thanks to the generous and hospitable attitude of everyone on the ranch, we had an awesome reunion.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 June 2004

My experience with the COD ranch and staff is that I was treated terribly with rudeness and downright snobbiness.
Further they failed to provide us with the arranged activities. We were supposed to receive horse training and roping training and they failed to show up for this activity and further did not respond to our telephone calls and completely ignored and just blew us off.
This was done by the Main Hostess there former Miss Arizona and her Husband.
What a gigantic waiste of time for me and my daughter.
The entire experience was a terrible hurtful and depressing thing.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
codsteve, owner at Historic C.O.D. Ranch, responded to this review, 4 March 2008

The preceding is a review left by a Tripadvisor member following a one night stay at the COD Ranch and Retreat Center. For the record the primary focus of the ranch is group retreats, either corporate, spiritual or family. On the rare occasions when the ranch is not occupied by these activities we do open our doors to B&B guests so that they may enjoy the peace and solitude. We normally have a two night minimum for these types of bookings, which we waived for the guest in question.

The COD Ranch is no longer a working cattle ranch and as such horses and livestock are not boarded at the ranch. Our manager at the time of this stay was associated with several local wranglers and would on occasion, at a groups request and with proper notice, arrange for limited riding and roping activities.

In her eagerness to please this guest, she committed to services that could not be arranged on such short notice. As the guest was staying only the one night, she had departed the ranch before I arrived to discuss other riding options in the area.

It is unfortunate that she chose to spend such a limited time at the COD Ranch, as thousands of guests over eleven years have consistently found the staff to be more than caring.

I write to you because I take great responsibility for treating our guests with caring and goodness. I invite you to visit us and experience our hospitality.

Sincerely,
Stephen Malkin, Owner
COD Ranch and Retreat Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracle
22.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
19.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
WorldMark Rancho Vistoso
WorldMark Rancho Vistoso
#1 of 1 in Oro Valley
88 reviews
10.7 mi away
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Catalina Inn
Catalina Inn
#81 of 130 in Tucson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic C.O.D. Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic C.O.D. Ranch

Property: Historic C.O.D. Ranch
Address: P.O. Box 241, Oracle, AZ 85623-0241
Region: United States > Arizona > Oracle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oracle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the rustic elegance at the Historic COD Ranch! Plan your retreat, business meeting, wedding, family reunion, or just get together with a group of friends at the beautiful COD Ranch, located within driving distance of Tucson, Phoenix, and Scottsdale, Arizona. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing