We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Tranquility”

Historic C.O.D. Ranch
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oracle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic C.O.D. Ranch
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful Tranquility”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

My experience at C.O.D. Ranch was nothing short of perfection. What a great place! It is surrounded on three sides by public land, the views are stunning, especially the sunrises and sunsets. the grounds immaculate, the rooms spacious, and the beds comfortable. Most importantly for our group's retreat, the "Barn" in which our group meetings were held, is fully equipped with modern AV equipment, comfortable, and conducive to meaningful meetings in an atmosphere of quiet tranquility. We got a lot done in our time there. And the food was very good, tastefully prepared, and artfully served.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. It really depends on the size of your group and personal preferences. Do you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodFanFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I headed up a group of 20+, spending two nights at The Historic C.O.D. Ranch. The staff was cordial and attended to our every need. We were able to choose our menus, which exceeded our expectations. Even accommodated vegetarian and other dietary needs. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and the grounds were quiet and blooming. Great time of year for hiking and birding. This was a year in the planning and we can't wait until we do it again!
Thank you C.O.D.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a fireplace and/or a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Stayed at the COD Ranch with a bunch of old college buddies and had the time of my life. Had a spacious room, clean and inviting. Great western motif. The staff was friendly and very accomadating. Could not have been nicer. Food was also good , homemade and plenty of it. All in all really captured the flavor of the old west. You felt like you traveled back to a simpler more relaxed era. Great views of the valley. Great hiking. Had a nice time making s'mores around a fire pit after dinner. It was an enjoyable getaway for my wife and I

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

COD Ranch

What a wonderful New Year’s Eve weekend my group and I just had at COD Ranch near Oracle, Arizona! It couldn’t have been lovelier. An good ending for 2012. The ranch is the true old west of the 1890’s, not an imaginary “cute” ranch but one with the simple true flavor of Arizona cowboys.

Our rooms were in separate buildings with names like “Bunkhouse” but lovely inside with rustic paintings, heat, air conditioning, gleaming bathrooms, and a large wood-burning fireplace in my room. Steve Malkin, the owner, and the staff were friendly and very professional and attentive but didn’t interfere with our privacy. Several times, staff came to insure that the fire was still blazing in the fireplace. That is good for me since I am not a fire builder.

We walked a great trail, wide, and easy to walk with railroad tie steps. But the best part of all is the jaw-dropping view of the valley below and great vistas all the way to the horizon. We couldn’t take enough photos, the view is so great. It would be a wonderful place for a wedding.
But our biggest surprise was a gentle snow that fell during the night and covered the cactus and mesquite trees. In the morning when we woke, it was a breathtaking sight.

The meals were delicious – and my dinner steak was grilled over a barbeque, just the perfect tenderness.
We are planning another trip in a few months.

Room Tip: I chose a room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our group has had many retreats at this ranch but recently it is under new management, nothing is the same, the food was terrible and everything was chaotic, time to find a new place for our retreats, so sad.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CODranch, Owner at Historic C.O.D. Ranch, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Following thorough investigation I am certain the preceding review was written and posted by a disgruntled former employee. My ranch has been under new management which has successfully hosted more than 16 groups since that review was posted . The leaders and participants of those groups are eager to return to the ranch in the near future due to the excellent service they received. Many have already committed to new retreats for 2013. I have made it my mission for 17 years to make my ranch a quality haven of serenity for my guests. I invite you to experience this for yourselves.

Sincerely,
Stephen Malkin, Owner
The Historic COD Ranch, LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Desert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I stayed at the C.O.D. Ranch with a group doing a yoga retreat.
The restored ranch and property is beautiful. The remodeled barn was perfect for yoga with two whole panels that open out to a stunning view. The staff was so kind and attentive they really have a spirit of service. David the chef is a fabulous cook. He made us meals that were healthy but sooooo yummy and creative. I would recommend the C.O.D. to anyone.

  • Liked — private and amazing views
  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank asr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2007

Our family of 5 spent a week there around New Year's. The ranch manager was incredibly kind, taking special requests for breakfast (he's a fantastic cook), setting up the (remodeled!) barn for us to celebrate New Year's Eve in, and generally doing everything he could to make our stay comfortable. The owner came by a few times, suggested a video we might like to watch, and even picked it up himself.

This is not a full-service dude ranch. It's a FORMER working ranch. There is no horseback riding on site, but they'll gladly make arrangements with the stable 5 minutes up the road.

If you're looking for an all-inclusive ranch adventure, with activities scheduled 24/7, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a family getaway on a beautiful site with wonderful people, where you can let the kids run free, where you can sit around the fire or bank the flames and watch the stars, and where there are plenty of things to do within a modest drive, then you'd be hard pressed to do better.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of the staff, mountain location
  • Disliked — Distance from some of our planned activities
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MathHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oracle
18.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
19.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
22.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
19.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
13.3 mi away
Catalina Inn
Catalina Inn
#82 of 130 in Tucson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic C.O.D. Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic C.O.D. Ranch

Property: Historic C.O.D. Ranch
Address: P.O. Box 241, Oracle, AZ 85623-0241
Region: United States > Arizona > Oracle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oracle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the rustic elegance at the Historic COD Ranch! Plan your retreat, business meeting, wedding, family reunion, or just get together with a group of friends at the beautiful COD Ranch, located within driving distance of Tucson, Phoenix, and Scottsdale, Arizona. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing