We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel BUT management issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights this week and enjoyed the physical property very much. The rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable. The breakfast is a step above the usual waffle/bagel/cereal fare! The pool was heated and the hot tub very hot, but still enjoyable. Housekeeping staff helped us with lighter blankets to replace the heavy comforter on the bed, in a very timely manner.
The management, specifically the General Manager, Jim, was the most obnoxious person I've met in a long time. There was an issue with rates. We had booked with a group and the original contract was for a room/golf package. When the hotel changed owners and was no longer a Wingate, they changed the arrangements to room only rates. I found a $24/night cheaper rate for the same 2 days at Venere.com and booked it there and then called the hotel to cancel my original reservation When I spoke to the hotel staff member to cancel, she said "You didn't need to do that--we would have matched the rate without you having to do that". I then asked if the others in our group could just call to get the rate, she said yes. I informed our group of my rate and indicated they could just call to book it. Anyhow----when we checked in, only those who booked at Venere.com and then called to cancel got the rate. The GM Jim said that only 2 rooms should have been allowed at that rate and no one else should have it. He refused to back up his staff member who told the 4 other couples on the phone that they had the lower rate. He was rude and arrogant in insisting they were just out of luck and even told one couple to "go down the street to another hotel". Each couple who thought they had the lower rate spoke to him directly and with each, he was surly and certainly did not have customer service in mind.
This hotel is soon to be a Holiday Inn Express, and I've written them regarding the GM, hoping this person will no longer be associated with this hotel(or any other if this is his idea of customer relations).
My suggestion is to check rates on line if you book this hotel and not accept their rate as being the lowest available.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as you are not close to a major highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dianegma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

The hotel was clean and spacious. Outstanding breakfast which was included with the price of the room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marathon1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

If your business or leisure or hospital visiting takes you to the North of Tucson, Oro Valley Hotel is a safe bet. Largish rooms, good desk w/computer plug-ins, comfortable king bed, the usual more than continental-less than full breakfast fare. An added plus is the paved walkway/bikeway that runs along the river (dry mostly cept in heavy rain) steps from the hotel. Remember though it is North of Tucson, about 15 miles to downtown. There are the usual chain restaurants nearby and several locally owned places within 5 miles (Blue Fin, Saigon, Saffron, Beyond Bread). For burger fans, an in & out is a mile away. The Oro Valley hospital is two miles away and this place is very convenient if you have someone laid up for a knee replacement (as I did), or some other medical necessity.

Room Tip: Ask for the hospital rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank fmiller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at the Wingate for four days in February. Our plan was a day in Arizona wineries, a day of hiking and a day driving the Catalina Hwy. The wineries were far no matter where you were staying in Tucson... but the hotel was within walking distance of Catalina State Park and about 20 minutes away from the Catalina Hwy.

The hotel was lovely, clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was well stocked and had a nice choice of items (eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, biscuits, cereal, milk, coffee & juice). Wi-Fi was free and fairly fast. Nice flat screen tvs and comfy beds. Everyone was very kind and helpful.

There are plenty of restaurants and shopping areas for you to visit near the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mediagurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is a very nice hotel located with a very nice view of the backside of the Santa Catalina mountains. The room was well-appointed and spotless. The walk-in shower is a little narrow, but should not be a problem for most. The only downside of this property is that it is located in the extreme north edge of Oro Valley. If you are looking for a place out of the way, this is great. If you are interested in driving into Tucson regularly while staying here, it is probably not the best choice. There are a number of restaurants about 1/2 mile souoth of the hotel, located in a strip shopping center. No real shopping in the immediate area other than a Home Depot, a Fry's Grocery and a Target. Breakfast was fairly typical of hotels that provide a basic breakfast, with the usual fare.
Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpoehls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This is a fairly new hotel and everything looked well cared for. The rooms are spacious and inviting as was the bathroom.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank superkalifragaistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in April 2010 for business. The hotel was very clean, well maintained, and the staff was very friendly.

The room had a small refrigerator, microwave, safe, flat screen television. The room was well maintained and clean.

The hotel also a small, but sufficient pool and jacuzzi. The outside area was also very clean.

The free breakfast was actually a very nice surprise. Much better than I expected, lots of food to choose from.

There is a Chili's restaurant directly in front of the hotel, easy walking distance. Ate there one night, one of the items was very salty. Management was very apologetic, and took the item off the bill.

I would stay here again, and recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNAFU23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oro Valley
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
5.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
6.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
1.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.7 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North

Address: 11075 N Oracle Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85737-5601 (Formerly Oro Valley Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Oro Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Price Range: £78 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oro Valley's newest hotel. Formerly Wingate by Wyndham. Beautiful views of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Chili's restaurant in parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Valley Hotel Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing