We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel was okay. Clean but some problems with wi-fi and soap shelf in shower was broken. The continental breakfast was limited on selection, and wasn't replenished. I've had much better at a Day's Inn. I guess they were in the process of becoming a Holiday Inn Express and that was the reason for the problems, according to the staff. My check-in was slow and confusing. When I pointed out the address on the reservation was not my address, they just shrugged it off. The bed was comfortable, but the walls thin enough that I could hear the guy in the next room snoring loudly. If I have occasion to go back to the area, I'll stay at a Day's Inn or La Quinta, something more in my budget. With tax, the room was over $120 per night!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sheila26751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Sheila26751,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the level of service provided during your stay. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

This place was in shambles when we stayed over President's Day weekend...but the front desk told us that they are in the process of changing over to a Holiday Inn Express.

There were boxes of new mini-fridges everywhere, the smell of new paint, and the sounds of construction.

The manager/owner was often seen and heard "disagreeing" with various staff and vendors in the hallways and lobby area.

Overall, we were only there to sleep...so no big deal. We'll try the place again next year when things settle down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itzMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear itzMS,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had during your stay with us. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel many times over the years on business. The front desk staff is always courteous and friendly and the rooms are a GREAT value. Although there are some issues with housekeeping, the hotel IS UNDER RENOVATION. Some ppl should practice patience while the kinks are worked out. I was also in the lobby when gnatty was there. I felt sorry for the front girl. gnatty and all of his arrogant and self centered buddies were standing at the counter yelling at her about their rooms and kept asking her when their room would be ready. Being verbally abusive to the staff just shows off your ignorance. Obviously they are not from America and should return to their country of origin to re-learn how to treat people. Alcohol was NEVER mentioned. gnatty is fabricating stories to be vile. The hotel staff is NOT responsible for all your complaints such as a light in the parking lot, the weather or your reservation mistakes THAT YOU MADE. Instead of being verbally abusive try patience. "You attract more flies with honey" or keep an eye on your coffee. Someone may spit in it. Maybe you are getting poor service because you are an arrogant jerk. Oro Valley Hotel & Suites has gone through some owner changes and is being converted to a Holiday Inn Express. The transition may be a bit bumpy but well worth it. The ones who make it thru will shine, all others will be left in the dust.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We've stayed at this hotel in the past when we've attended the Accenture Match play golf tournament and while it's not a top notch hotel, it was close enough and was just good enough. Not this time. We made our reservation 3 months earlier and arrived at the hotel around 9:00 pm. We were given a room on the first floor only to find out that the room had a bright, halogen light aimed at the window from outside. The black out curtains didn't block the light and I can't sleep with that much light in the room. We requested another room and were given another first floor room with the halogen light directed at the window. There was only one room left on an upper floor so we took it. Apparently, the room was not checked once it was "cleaned". The dried soap in the bathroom sink had pubic hair stuck to it, there was soap and shampoo left in the tub area and the bathroom didn't appear as if it was cleaned well. After brushing more pubic hair off the bed sheets, we decided to just stay in the room since we were so tired. Bananas & newspapers were also left in the room from the previous guest. The bed was hard and the pillows limp. The vending machines don't take dollar bills and of course, the front desk does not have any quarters. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn express fare with waffles, cereal, fake eggs, etc. but a bit worse. No skim or 2% milk (only whole milk, seriously?) was available, only a few yogurts and no hard boiled eggs. We survived but we will not come back. This is no longer a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mesagrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Mesagrl,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We welcome feedback especially from valued guests like you.

I am disappointed to hear your negative experiences during your stay. I would like to apologize for the shortcomings in your room and regret that our level of cleanliness fell short of your standards.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Worst Hotel Experience Ever. My husband was traveling to AZ with his teammate for a 24 hr bike race and had a reservation for for 2 Queens Thurs, Fri. and Sun. nights (Sat pm was the all-night race). We called to cancel Thurs. night well over 24 hours beforehand. After driving 9 hours and arriving Fri, the hotel had cancelled the WHOLE reservation. They offered a room with a Queen and a pullout. The pullout had used sheets and bathroom was dirty. The showers were cold. The staff admitted there were lots of complaints about the cold water. Saturday at 7am, loud construction began in the room right above! Returned Sunday at 5:30 to a long line of people waiting for rooms. NO CLEAN ROOMS for anyone even though everyone had reservations. Then woman behind the desk argued with her male assistant over who was going to get fired. Very awkward. The cleaning crew was summoned, but argued with the desk staff their shift was over and they were going home!. This went on well within the hearing of all guests. The desk woman then jokingly (?) said she'd call her boyfriend to buy everyone beer. At least she was trying. She said it would be another hour, but after much complaining from all in our party, we finally got a room. I don't know about the others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear gnatty,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear that we have left you with a less than memorable guest experience. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience your reservation has caused you and for the dissatisfaction you have encountered with you room.. Additionally, I am truly sorry for the service you have received from our staff was less than satisfactory.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your comments and these will be taken into consideration for future upgrades. We hope that this incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The problem with this property is the Manager. First, we had no TV, next two nites, no hair dryer and now they are switching to Holiday Inn Express. His answer to all the problems "You can't flip a switch". Location is OK but with this management, not a good place to stay. His nasty attitude to his customers goes over to his employees. Plus they do not have good pillows - glad I packed mine and our bathroom door would not shut. There are other places in the area far better for the value.

Room Tip: Make sure all the amenities work! Our hair dryer never did work and they sent us to other rooms to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tucsonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear tucsonjan ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property regarding your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to hear your poor experience during your visit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service issues you had with the Manager on Duty. We strive to give great and impressive service to all our guests and we deeply regret that we have failed to deliver on this occasion.

We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

If you are looking to stay in the Oro Valley area, this hotel provides a clean and what looks like newly renovated atmosphere. It definitely isn't a 4 or 5 star resort, but the rooms were a good size and very clean; the beds comfortable. A breakfast buffet is provided, else there are plenty of places around to grab food (strip malls with shops and food places) to the north and south of the hotel. There is a fitness room that was larger than expected. The location is good for Oro Valley, but the Tucson attractions can be up to 40 minutes away, but the drives are usually pretty as there are mountains as backdrops.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Euro_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oro Valley
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
5.0 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
6.8 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
3.4 mi away
WorldMark Rancho Vistoso
WorldMark Rancho Vistoso
#1 of 1 in Oro Valley
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North

Address: 11075 N Oracle Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85737-5601 (Formerly Oro Valley Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Oro Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oro Valley's newest hotel. Formerly Wingate by Wyndham. Beautiful views of the Santa Catalina Mountains. Chili's restaurant in parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oro Valley Hotel Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing