We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I took my girls volleyball team to stay there for a tournament at Tucson Convention Center and it was great. Staff very nice, very clean and breakfast was wonderful and very convenient to everything. The rooms where clean has a pool and whirl poos. workout room breakfast room big with yummy food.

Room Tip: there really are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBVOLLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback and we make sure to pass this along to the hotel staff. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Great visit; nice and quiet, yet convenient to shopping, hiking, business. Good breakfast and beautiful outdoor seating. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very nice, roomy and quiet. Not too much for onsite shopping or dining, but there is a lot very close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaskaLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This location with a beautiful view of mountains is well staffed and clean. Any accommodation we needed was met with a smile. They set up a family meeting area for our "after wedding" family get together. They let us enjoy the use of the patio and living/lobby area. Our guests were in and out, from out of state and nearby. Everyone was treated with respect, even when stay dates needed changing. Even when out of town guests found themselves ill after arriving, the staff was as helpful as they could be. Setting up reservations, giving us a website link to add to our wedding site, guiding us through the property before we decided on their property, everything was wonderful. Thank you!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the east and upstairs have the best view of the beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie_R60950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

In Tucson for the half-marathon, I selected the Fairfield Inn over its next-door neighbor, the Hilton El Conquistador. I wasn’t looking for a resort experience or even a full-service hotel - just a clean, basic hotel. And that’s exactly what I found at the Fairfield.

The hotel is on the East side of Oracle Road, and the Southwestern architecture was a welcome sight. I appreciate when chain hotels try to incorporate the local flavor, and there were Southwestern elements evident in the interior as well. The hotel touts the room as “all-suites” since there is a sitting area with sleeper sofa and refrigerator. Television viewing options were extensive – over 50 channels. While the room would not be confused for one at the Four Seasons, it was clean and functional.

As with other Fairfield Inns, breakfast was complimentary. The breakfast itself was an array of continental fare – cereal, yogurt, and pastries. The first morning I arrived at 6:15, and the breakfast buffet was meticulously organized. This is to be expected since I was among the first guests. When I returned from the half-marathon the next morning – after 9:30 – the buffet was just as well-organized as the previous day. It was evident that the breakfast staff was making a conscious effort to restock and rearrange the breakfast items.

There were three minor issues which prevent this hotel from a perfect rating. First, the bathtub was like an oil slick – I almost fell upon entering. The hotel may want to revisit the bathtub polish. Second, the sound of doors closing interrupted my sleep. The guest room doors do not have stoppers. So if a fellow guest lets the door close itself, you’ll hear it. Finally, the associates were not helpful regarding the marathon shuttles. This was one of a few hotels which offered direct service to and from the marathon. It was surprising that none of the associates knew when the last bus was scheduled to leave, nor was there any signage. I learned from the bus drivers - at 4:45 in the morning - that there were multiple shuttles, and the last one would leave at 5:30. At that early hour, I would have greatly appreciated the extra sleep.

Finally, the hotel is about 35-40 minutes from Tuscon Airport and 25 minutes north of downtown. Oracle Road appears to be a main north-south artery, so you’ll pass multiple restaurants and shops. About 5-10 min due north on Oracle Road are several other restaurants including Chili’s and the Olive Garden. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel has been permanently closed, so you’ll need a car to pursue a meal.

In summary, the hotel fulfilled its purpose – clean, functional rooms. The three minor issues offset the attentive breakfast staff, so the hotel earns an "average" rating.

Pros: Clean, functional rooms and meticulously-organized breakfast

Cons: Slippery bathtub, doors slam, uninformed staff regarding local event

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was close to a location I needed to be the next morning. I was surprised by the high rate I found when I made the reservation, which actually was more than I had paid for a four star hotel the previous evening.

I found my room to be adequate and the bed comfortable although the room was quite dark and drab with little flare in any way. I had a breakfast meeting off site next morning so I did not eat the buffet provided at the hotel but I did go the the breakfast room for some orange juice before I left. The buffet appeared to be generous in its offerings and the food looked appealing.

I almost always stay at Marriott properties when I travel and chose this hotel simply because it was the closest one by some distance to where I needed to be. I would not choose to stay there again unless I needed to be in the area, and even then might explore other options.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravenroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My wife and I were initially booked at the Hilton hotel nearby that was hosting a tennis tournament, but switched after one night to this one. Sadie at the front desk was very helpful with making the reservation. The free continental breakfast in the immaculate dining area was the perfect way to start each day. Unlike the other hotel, which our friends informed us charged for a corkscrew, this one readily offered use of one for no cost. When we asked about the availability of a drinks cooler, the manager, Bill, brought his in from home for our team to use. Compared to the other hotel, Fairfield, with its updated room, refrigerator and microwave, included breakfast and free fast wi-fi in the room, not just the lobby made our decision one we were very happy with.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveK425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hieovaz, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We have taken steps to correct the problems you mentioned. We know that our guests have choices and your feedback helps us determine if we are reaching our goals. It pleases us as a team when we receive positive feedback. Thank you. William Nintzel and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Overall this property compares favorably to other Fairfield Inns, despite having been converted from a property built for another chain. Lovely welcome and ongoing contact with Sande at front desk. Super housekeeping. Ultra-convenient location unless you need to be right in downtown Tucson -- otherwise, every service/merchant under the sun is nearby. Although the almost standard waffle-maker is absent in the breakfast, there is French toast that can be warmed up in the toasters that is so tasty and rich, I must say (with jealousy) that it's better than my homemade!

Two small negatives: (1) The plumbing hardware is cheap and confusing to use in shower. And junky for the sinks (e.g., you really have to work on the faucet to get it not to drip). This should get into a maintenance/upgrade cycle soon. (2) Annoying pop/rsoft rock music going on in pool area -- given that there is no refreshment service, the nicest thing to do is relax by the pool and look at the mountains in the background; so play soft "New Age" or similar music suited for the location--not Madonna or some howling rock balladeer. Or no music at all. It adds nothing and detracts from the peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Pool-facing room unless you want the 6:40 AM wake-up call of the hotel Dumpster being emptied! Firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blaise122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oro Valley
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley - Tucson North
3.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tucson-Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
0.5 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley

Address: 10150 N Oracle Rd, Oro Valley, AZ 85704-7646 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Tucson North-Oro Valley)
Region: United States > Arizona > Oro Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oro Valley
Price Range: £101 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Oro Valley is a 100% non-smoking, all suites hotel nestled at the base of beautiful Pusch Ridge in the Catalina Mountains. When traveling on business to one of our high tech neighbors including Honeywell, Securaplane, Ventana Medical Systems, Copper Mine Industry, Northwest Medical Center, or retirement communities, Saddlebrooke, Sun City Vistoso, or Splendido to our north, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites is the choice in Northwest Tucson! Close to the Oro Valley Marketplace with its Cinemark Theater and Walmart Supercenter opening soon.Stay Smart and experience the incredible serenity of the area away from the hustle and bustle of the big city and enjoy a relaxing game of golf on one of the World Class Golf Courses just minutes away. Check out Biosphere 2, Old Tucson Studios or the Sonora Desert Museum nearby. There are also some excellent restaurants, nightlife and shopping close to the hotel. Work out in our Exercise Room or take a dip in our Outdoor Heated Pool. If relaxing is more your style, enjoy the mountain view as you soak up that Arizona sunshine in our Soothing Spa or laze on the pool deck. Check your email on your computer or ours with our free high-speed Internet access and 24-hour business center.Wake up each morning to the smell of our premium roast coffee and Express Start Breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tucson North/Oro Valley Hotel Oro Valley
Holiday Inn Oro Valley
Oro Valley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Oro Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing