We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure in Paradise Valley”
Review of Hermosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermosa Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A treasure in Paradise Valley”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We drive back and forth from California to New Mexico and have stayed at many places. We happened upon this gorgeous property at the suggestion of Snique Away. So glad we did. The property is beautiful and the casitas are roomy, well-appointed and luxurious. We will absolutely stay here during our road-tripping through Arizona.

Room Tip: Upgrade and book one of the casitas. Well worth a few extra dollars. Although not in Scottsdale, j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tothatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and we're happy to hear you found us through SniqueAway. Hope to see you again on your next drive, but until then safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    60
    20
    13
    13
See reviews for
19
224
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway Beach, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We recently stayed here (May 28-June 1, 2013) after a week long whitewater rafting trip in the Grand Canyon. Without a doubt, this was one of the best experiences we've ever had! Aside from the staff being exceptional and extremely accommodating (from Corina who assisted me with our reservations, to David, Nicole and Pam at reception, not to mention Rachel, Sara, Juan, Kenny and Andrew at Lon’s, to Trevor and Apree –our poolside servers -sorry if I left anyone out), the Inn itself was amazing. We were looking for something which incorporated the southwestern aspect into their theme and were not disappointed. The grounds were breathtaking. Our room was beyond our expectations! Corina upgraded us to a Grande Casita and even my fiancée was speechless (actually he did say “Wow”). From the nice touches of music filling our room every night, to the nightly homemade chocolates from Lon’s awaiting us upon our return to our casita, free goodies in reception 24/7 (pastries, coffee, bottled water, flavored water, and to die for chocolate cake every evening!), to the large soaking tub in our room (first time I’ve ever taken more baths than my honey!), to the wonderful service and great food at Lon’s. The only thing that really needs updating are the in-room rugs and they could definitely use a larger swimming pool. Otherwise, this is definitely the place to be if you want a small intimate hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annamarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I've made sure to pass on your kind words to the staff that assisted you, as I'm sure they'll be thrilled. We hope to see you again soon, but in the meantime safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I decided to stay a night in Phoenix area after a week+ in Canadian Rockies before heading home. Decided to try the Hermosa Inn for several reasons: Lon's Restaurant was there, good overall reviews, off season rates. Glad we did. Arrived about 6 pm (only 15 minute/$25 cab ride from airport), checked in and was escorted to a very nice room. Although it was "Phoenix hot" (100+), the room was nice and cool. Very spacious with a fireplace we didn't use. Nice grounds and a beautiful pool. We tried the pool after dinner and had it and the hot tub all to ourselves. BTW - the pool is open 24 hours. Nadia in the reception area was very accommodating - arranged for an earlier dinner time at Lon's, ordered a car for our return trip to the airport - and she seemed to be working 24/7. :-). Ice water is available in the lobby and by the pool, and Sunday papers were available as well. Contrary to some reviews, bathroom and shower was very spacious. Plus, there was free wifi, a safe in the room and great TV reception. My only minor comments are that the carpet (room 123) was in need of cleaning, as was the overhead ceiling vents in the bath. Overall, a very nice overnight experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, Andy! We're so happy you and your wife chose us for your one night stay in Phoenix and we appreciate you sharing your experience with others! We also notified housekeeping of your comments for room 123; it is being taken care of as we speak.

Thank you again and safe travels! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I was in town for a night- everything sold out (Except the W that has a room for $1200). Booked a room at 269. Not high season.

Grounds were very nice, cool vibe from the staff- super helpful. I was looking forward to eating at Lons, but other plans prevented that.

The room was small and odd. slatted window coverings with adequate privacy, but one wonders. Anemic tub shower. Dated tile. No dresser. Actually no SURFACE in the room except for a 2 foot square 'desk' that held hotel materials. I dumped these and had a desk that held a laptop. But no place for clothes except hanging in the closet or placed onto one chair (or the floor). No drawers. If I was there with someone else for multiple days we'd have to live out of suitcases.

The rooms seemed like they were in a low 'dormitory style' building, maybe other rooms are more modern and spacious. It felt like a 1950s strip motel with an adobe twist an some 1990s upgrades.

I wouldnt go back unless the 4,5 start places were booked.

Oh, the Air Conditioning was AMAZINGLY LOUD. If you let the fan cycle, it will wake up and blast you...so I turned the fan on and it droned on all night. Think twice as loud as the box in the wall of the motel six.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for the review. We’ve taken notes in order to allow for future upgrades/fixes to that and nearby rooms so we appreciate you making us aware.

We do hope to see you again in the future, and perhaps try some of our other casitas. Please let us know next time you return to the area by contacting our Director of Guest Services Pam Swartz at 602.955.8614 or PSwartz@HermosaInn.com.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I just got back from a few days at the Hermosa Inn. I had a great room - #108 - at the back of the property. Nice big room, really (!) comfortable bed, big bathroom with separate shower and tub. Some of the rooms looked to be a lot smaller so it is good to ask about the room configuration beforehand. The property is very nicely done - some interesting local sculpture (not all Native American themed) and pretty gardens. Nice pool area (I didn't use it). The restaurant, Lons, is quite good - I only had breakfast and lunch there, not dinner. The bar, and bartender (Jeremy) was also good - seems like it gets a mix of locals and hotel guests, so it was fun the night I was there. Only drawback (and this depends on your interests) is that it is a little out of the way. It's in the middle of a residential neighborhood (very upscale), which makes it nice and quiet, but it's a bit of a drive to get to things you might want to see. Also, no fitness center - they have an arrangement with one that's about a mile away.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary quite a bit in size - rooms toward the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OaklandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to AZ! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent on property and we hope to see you again on future trips.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Our family stayed at the Hermosa Inn for two nights. We booked one casita that connected to one deluxe casita, forming a hacienda. This arrangement worked very well for the family: one room for us and the other for the children, ages 12 & 14, to share.

The rooms were luxurious and spacious including the bathroom which was equally grand. There were special touches like sky lights, walk in closets and a convenient electronic docking station for your camara and cell phone.

The view from the room was lovely as well, I was constantly spying on the birds landing outside our patio door near the jacuzzi.

On our first night we ordered in from the room service menu. It was delivered to the room with aplomb fitting just how good the food was. It is the best room service meal we've had; each of the four selections were delicious.

We found the Inn secluded and classy... no crowds here. Even the walk from the lobby to our rooms was inspiring as you pass by the flower covered pool area and various gardens including a garden filled with statues and other art pieces. The lobby is very inviting, especially with the complementary fresh fruit, water, coffee/tea, and fresh baked cookies!

The concierges were very helpful, providing guidance about the neighborhood. As a result, we ended up taking a lovely walk from the Hermosa Inn along the canal all the way to the Arizona Biltmore. While at the Arizona Biltmore, we signed up for a guided tour of the establishment which we found to be very interesting and worthwhile as it explored the architecture and history of the hotel and surrounding area (before you go: check which days/time they do the tour; there is a $10.00 pp charge if you are not a hotel guest).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0tt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your hacienda, the views and the room service from LON's.

Hope to see you again soon - safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We've been going to the Hermosa at least once a year (and also dining at Lons - a treat not to be missed) for about 4 years. It is small, old South Western adobe style, gorgeous grounds and plantings, nice quiet private pool area, and especially friendly staff. It is truly a special place - like a home away from home. They provide complimentary unlimted bottles of water for sun bathers, coffee and danish (differing breakfast rolls) in the morning, and nice afternoon tea time treats. Bottom line, we highly recommend the Hermosa - it is a special treat: good for a romatic anniversary; special birthday; or just a great get-away from it all !!!!

Room Tip: I like to stay away far from the pool - much more privacy. All the rooms are very nice and cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnSallyTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for the glowing review, John and Sally! We love that you've made the Inn and LON's one of your regular retreats and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Safe travels and have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Property: Hermosa Inn
Address: 5532 N Palo Cristi Rd, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-7599
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the top hotels in the Southwest, the AAA Four Diamond Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley, and minutes from Scottsdale and its many attractions. Handcrafted in the 1930s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his residence and art studio, the Inn's adobe architecture has kept its "authentic Arizona" character and charm. The 43 newly renovated guest casitas are nestled in a garden setting with breathtaking vistas of the lush desert and Camelback Mountain. Accommodations reflect the southwestern design of the original Casa Hermosa (beautiful house) and most include deep soaking tubs, beehive fireplaces and private patios. The culinary centerpiece is LON's at the Hermosa, a AAA Four Diamond restaurant with a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator serving globally inspired Arizona fare. The restaurant is complemented by a subterranean wine cellar, a celebrated outdoor dining patio, and its bar and casual dining counterpart LON's Last Drop, named after one of Megargee's iconic paintings, many of which are displayed throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing