We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultured and intimate”
Review of Hermosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermosa Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Hermosa emphasizes quality over size, yet somehow has so many discrete corners that it feels more interesting than hotels and resorts 10 times its size. You'll never feel like you're part of an anonymous crowd at the Hermosa. As an introvert who values a discrete, personable setting, this place was perfect for me.

Nearly 100% of the hotel is ground floor. It comes with a library, and a genuine wine cellar. The staff are happy to organize dinners for you in either of them.

Best of all: the food was the best of any hotel I have stayed at in my life. It was something to write home about.

Room Tip: I was surprised to find the staff visit around 6pm to turn up the bed for the night. They come with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review, Jack! How you describe the property as discrete and personable is exactly what we strive for and we are so happy that you enjoyed it.

I also passed on your kind words to the Executive Chef and culinary team at LON's - they were thrilled to hear it!

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe casita. There are only 4 but worth the extra should you be debating on casita or deluxe.The Hermosa really is a delightful property. It only has 34 units and therefore you are a person and not just another guest. Special mention must go to Pam guest relations director and Randy - banqueting manager. We had been travelling for 2 weeks and this was our relaxing period - it did not dissapoint. The Hermosa is 'tucked' away - driving down the road you would be hard pushed to realise that it was there. However that makes it all the more appealing. Make your way from the car into the grounds and you soon appreciate the quality. The grounds are beautifully laid out with sculptures, cacti and plants and there are intimate areas you can sit and relax with a drink or book or both. Did not use the spa but made full use of the pool facilities which were excellent. We dined at Lon's restaurant and choose the patio. Very romantic with the sound of the water from the fountain together with the lanterns stratigically placed. Food and service were A1 and the staff certainly knew the menu and advised accordingly. Living in Scotland we are not in Phoenix that frequently but will definately return when next in the area.

Room Tip: The 4 deluxe casitas are in a more secluded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontycatPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for the glowing review, and for sharing your experience with others! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and have let both Pam and Randy know of your kind words.

Safe travels and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the States!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

After spending a week on Dories rafting down the Colorado, the Hermosa Inn was a true indulgence.
The deluxe Kaseeta was more room than we really required, but we enjoyed every moment. The bathroom was spa like, and allowed us to truly indulge ourselves.
The grounds are quite spectacular, and we took full advantage of the pool and hot tubs on the property.
On our last day we rented a poolside cabana. Perfect way to end our trip.
We had dinner the night before we departed at the restaurant Lon's.
Our server was very well-versed in the menu, and aided in us having a stellar experience at this restaurant.
I was also struck by the skill and knowledge of the bartender.
If I were to be critical of anything, it would've been our checkout. Our stay overlapped the seasonal change between September and October and our nightly rate increased by $100.
It wasn't so much the rate change, as I understand high and low seasons, but rather the reception my questions received from the young lady behind the desk.
During this interaction a second Hermossa employee join the conversation and made the interaction much more pleasant.
All in all a stellar place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Peterbarker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for the great review, Peter! It's so nice to hear we could help you indulge and relax a bit after a week of rafting down the Colorado. Sounds like an amazing vacation!

I made sure to let our Director of Guest Services know about your experience with check-out, as well as the receptionist who was handling your stay, so we hope to have any issues with that resolved moving forward.

We hope to see you again soon but in the meantime safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Please be aware of the fact that the Hermosa Inn has misleading cancelation policies. I reserved a room for a two-night stay in late September. Due to a family emergency, I submitted a 10-day advanced notice stating that I will no longer need a room. They informed me that I paid for a non-refundable room. I have three piece of written documentation that their cancelation policy is a 7-day notice. The Hermosa Inn refused to refund my money for the two nights...this is what I call stealing. Here's the facts: I gave an adequate notice, 10-days in advance; I have written documentation of all emails and cancelation polices which all state 7-day advanced notice; I was not offer a credit or any opportunity to recoup my money. I now have hired an attorney to help get my money back, the money that I earned, and they took - - must be nice to take money from people in-exchange for nothing. They have the audacity to take money from people and hide behind misleading polices...what type of business steals? Businesses with poor management and bad ethics. I'm a frequent traveler with over 100K in airline miles, which I do annually, along with many overnight stays. We all know that hotels will do what they can to make the potential guest happy and be accommodating to one's needs...not the Hermosa Inn. I was within their polices and they refused to refund my money. Even if I weren't within their polices, I would hope that in an emergency situation they would be accommodating. I've experienced hotels that do the right thing regardless of their polices.

The Hermosa Inn let me down. I can't think of another word to explain their behavior, stealing seems to be the word of choice. Each year I have have three, to four consultants, stay at the Hermosa Inn, not any longer. What puzzles me, if they're such a great hotel, why couldn't they fill a room for two-nights with a 10-day notice? That itself speaks to how they treat people and their business ethics.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank FrankRII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Frank,

I’m so sorry to hear about your experience at The Hermosa Inn earlier this year. After looking into your account, as well as speaking with both our Director of Guest Services, Pam Swartz, and our Managing Director, Michael Gildersleeve, our records show that you paid for a “Preferred Advance Purchase,” which it states on the website is “fully prepaid – non-cancellable/non-refundable rate plan. Prepayment for full stay due at booking – non-refundable.”

I do understand your frustrations, as other, larger hotels are able to bend on their policies in some cases, but being a boutique property with only 34 guest rooms does not allow us that luxury when it comes to advance purchase sales. We do apologize for this inconvenience and if you’d like to discuss this further, please contact Mr. Gildersleeve directly (602.955.8614 or MGildersleeve@HermosaInn.com). He would be happy to clarify any policies and procedures, and connect you with a reservationist who can walk you through any future bookings to ensure there's no confusion.

Thank you, and again our apologies for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Hermosa Inn after searching online for a luxurious but intimate place to relax. The Hermosa Inn is that place and more! Our casita was comfortable, beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. The huge shower and soaking tub in the bathroom were wonderful. The only thing missing in the bathroom was a make-up/magnifying mirror and I have a feeling that had I requested one the staff would have provided it. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The grounds are a mini southwest botanical and sculpture garden combined. Many of the plants are labeled with their names - helpful if you are not from the southwest. Our casita, number 104, was secluded as we requested it be. The pool area is lovely and I would recommend reserving one of the few cabanas if you plan to spend the day poolside. We had dinner at Lon's after dark on the patio. It is a very romantic setting, particularly with the duo playing guitars, all of the lanterns lit and the beautiful fountain splashing into its pool. I wish we had stayed more than three days and next time we will. The drive from Sky Harbor airport was about 15 minutes, making the Hermosa Inn convenient as well as a perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, Janis! We're so happy to hear that the property and our restaurant was everything you'd hoped for and made for such an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night from a travelzoo deal. It is a boutique hotel, so the rooms are a little bit on the small side. However, they are very nice and comfortable, with nice amenities (I.e. krueig coffee machine). We could not get over how nice and quiet the hotel is. You are close to all sorts of good restaurants and shopping, however it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere.
Very Beautiful grounds, and a great place to relax! I would also highly recommend the hotel's restaurant lon's. It has a stunning patio and great food!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeLOVEtravel806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for the great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time on property and hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Great accomodation in a very secluded area of Paradise Valley.
Spacious units with all the necessary "modcon"...exceptionally clean , alrge bathrooms and Shower areas.
Restaurant is excellent with the outdoor dinner areas.
Certailny would stay again, n fact we extended our original reservation by two days.....

Room Tip: Go for the King....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lance094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra S, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, as well as your time spent at LON's.

We hope to see you again soon but in the meantime safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,518 reviews
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Address: 5532 N Palo Cristi Rd, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-7599
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: £271 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the top hotels in the Southwest, the AAA Four Diamond Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley, and minutes from Scottsdale and its many attractions. Handcrafted in the 1930s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his residence and art studio, the Inn's adobe architecture has kept its "authentic Arizona" character and charm. The 43 newly renovated guest casitas are nestled in a garden setting with breathtaking vistas of the lush desert and Camelback Mountain. Accommodations reflect the southwestern design of the original Casa Hermosa (beautiful house) and most include deep soaking tubs, beehive fireplaces and private patios. The culinary centerpiece is LON's at the Hermosa, a AAA Four Diamond restaurant with a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator serving globally inspired Arizona fare. The restaurant is complemented by a subterranean wine cellar, a celebrated outdoor dining patio, and its bar and casual dining counterpart LON's Last Drop, named after one of Megargee's iconic paintings, many of which are displayed throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing