We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely place”
Review of Hermosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermosa Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotels in Phoenix seem to be rather expensive, but this one was worth the money. I'm pleased we went there rather than some anonymous resort hotel. The setting was really lovely with the cactus gardens and the scuplture all around. We were lucky as well in April as the garden was colourful. We had a casita which was well equipped. Bed very comfy although so high up you needed to jump to get on to it! The food was lovely, especially the breakfast outside in the shade, and the waiting staff were very kind and friendly. The pool and the jacuzzi were well maintained and you could actually swim a bit. The only problem was the noise from generators that went on and off intermittently all night long near our room. Not a major problem but one that could have been solved. But somewhere one can recommend.

Room Tip: Perhaps a casita round the separate jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briquenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra R, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are happy to hear it was an enjoyable visit.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to AZ and thank you again for sharing your experience. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Everything at this hotel was above and beyond what we expected. A lot of care and love has been put into the Hermosa. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back. We are very happy to have found it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra R, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we very much appreciate the great review! We hope to see you again soon but in the meantime safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great classic Arizona patio. Good food, good drinks and good entertainment on Thursday and Saturday nights. Staff very attentive and casual friendly. We have been coming to Phoenix for years and were disappointed that we only found the patio here this year. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cam_and_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra R, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Happy to hear you enjoyed the patio - it's perfect on those beautiful spring days. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit and appreciate the review. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

If all you see is "Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Paradise Valley", you will completely miss the true beauty of the Hermosa Inn. It shouldn't even be called a hotel and it shouldn't even be compared to the other resorts in the area. The Hermosa Inn is in a class of its own. Somebody has spent a lot of time and attention to every detail from the architecture (down to the lamps by the doors) to the flowers and the welcoming music and lighting you get when you enter your casita.

My wife does home staging and design work for remodeling so she picked this resort out for our 4-night stay because she does like those kinds of details. I like to photograph interesting and beautiful objects so I spent a lot of time walking around taking pictures. We did check out one of the other resorts (Sanctuary) and had some good people-watching time but crowded bars and pools are not relaxing to us so it was nice to return to the quiet atmosphere of the Hermosa.

Lon's is an incredible restaurant and you can tell the locals love it so get your reservation in for a culinary delight. Once again there is an attention to detail down to the specific types of red chilies that spice up the cornbread. Some of the ingredients even come from an on-site garden.

We booked the Deluxe Casita because of the large tub and were not disappointed. The shower was also roomy and the bathroom can accommodate two people getting ready at the same time. The bed was comfortable and there was a fridge to keep things in. They have free water in the registration area so we kept our fridge stocked for the warm days. Depending on our mood we could sit by the fireplace in the room, outside on the porch or in the hammock just to the side of our casita. We also rented their bikes and rode up the canal to check out the homes and golf courses along the way.

Next time we come it will be difficult not to stay at the Hermosa Inn.

Room Tip: A little extra for the Deluxe Casita gives you the large soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilzalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra R, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for the glowing review! We're so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate you sharing your experience with others.

We hope to see you again on your next visit, but in the meantime safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My huband and I recently returned from 5 nights at the Hermosa - he was in Pheonix on business and I was enjoying a few days in the sun. We chose this hotel because it was a little different to the big, impersonal hotels we normally stay in. I would love to be able to rate the hotel as excellent but due to a few things that really began to grate on me after a couple of days, I can only rate it as good.

Plus points

1. As has been said many times before, the gardens surrounding the hotel are outstanding and the display of spring flowers was truly beautiful.

2. The staff are extremely polite, helpful and efficient. You feel like you are really getting personal service.

3. The rooms are cosy and the beds are very comfortable.

4. Lon's Restaurant deserves it's great reputation.

5. The pool area is very attractive, calm and the sunbeds extremely comfortable.

Minus points

1. Due to security lighting outside, it was impossible to make our bedroom dark enough to get a good night's sleep. This was a particular problem as we had come from a completely different time zone.

2. There was no full length mirror in the room and no mirror at all other than in the bathroom. This should be a prerequisite in any hotel bedroom.

3. The pool service for food and drinks was very hit and miss. The menus were left out but the staff rarely came out of the hotel - in fact on one day no-one appeared for the full four hours I was at the pool and on two other occasions my husband had to go into the hotel to find someone to place an order.

4. The breakfast service, despite the very friendly staff, is far too slow if you need to get to a meeting. One day we sat there for an hour in total and hadnt even ordered cooked food. For the final two days we actually nipped up the road to Starbucks for breakfast because it was quicker. Also the portion sizes were ridiculous. Whilst I know US portions tend to be bigger than here in the UK, the porridge with banana and raisins and the monkey bread were both big enough to feed a family of five and I hate to see waste but we just couldn't eat that much.

5. We were very disappointed that there were no other shower facilities when our room was not available for a late check out. It is not pleasant to face a ten hour flight home without a shower when covered in sun lotion.

Whilst it may seem that I have been a little critical and perhaps mentioned things that I would not have bothered about if it had been a one or two night stay, after five nights they were all things that began to irritate. We did, however, enjoy our stay overall and would recommend this hotel for a very short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusieJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra R, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Excuse the delay, but we wanted to thank you so much for the review! We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with others and are happy to hear that, overall, it was an enjoyable stay.

As for the minus points, I've passed on your review to our executive team who has since been making necessary changes to ensure these don't reoccur for future guests.

We hope to see you again on upcoming visits to Arizona, but in the meantime safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 enjoyable nights.

The casita we had backed up to a hot tub surrounded by flowers. The room itself was spacious with a nice bathroom. A mini-fridge and Keurig were included. Each night included turn-down service and chocolate.

The pool was nice and there were plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. Their pool drinks are priced so that you order one then drive to Safeway to replenish. A can of beer was $10.52 ($6 beer, $2 "trip fee"--bartender walking 20 feet beyond restaurant--$2 tip, tax). That being said, it was one of the only things we didn't enjoy on our trip.

The service was oustanding as was the food. Everything we at at the restaurant or bar was great. Trevor and Rae took car of us in the bar with Mike and Jim serving us in the restaurant.

Recommend.

Room Tip: Casita backing up to the hot tub. Inquire if the road construction project is completed first. If no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nogophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra R, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate it.

I've also sent this on to the Director of Guest Services Pam Swartz, regarding the menu at the pool, but should you ever need anything else during a future stay please feel free to contact her directly: 602.955.8614 or PSwartz@hermosainn.com.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Hermosa Inn is rather special! Considering all of the full service luxury resorts in the area, this one is a refreshing alternative. This is not for you if you want golf or all of the amenities of a full service resort. However, if you are looking for something special or romantic in the Scottsdale / Phoenix area - this is it! The grounds are gorgeous, the restaurant is phenomenal and the rooms are adorable. We had a chance to try the spa and it is really quite small, but the service and treatment was quite good. Not Amangiri good, but still really good! The dinner was probably the best we have ever had in the Phoenix area. Even if you are not staying at this hotel, definitely make a plan to have dinner at Lon's. Love it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafariSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendra R, Public Relations Manager at Hermosa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and have since shared your kind words with the staff.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to AZ, but in the meantime safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,515 reviews
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Address: 5532 N Palo Cristi Rd, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-7599
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: £271 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the top hotels in the Southwest, the AAA Four Diamond Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley, and minutes from Scottsdale and its many attractions. Handcrafted in the 1930s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his residence and art studio, the Inn's adobe architecture has kept its "authentic Arizona" character and charm. The 43 newly renovated guest casitas are nestled in a garden setting with breathtaking vistas of the lush desert and Camelback Mountain. Accommodations reflect the southwestern design of the original Casa Hermosa (beautiful house) and most include deep soaking tubs, beehive fireplaces and private patios. The culinary centerpiece is LON's at the Hermosa, a AAA Four Diamond restaurant with a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator serving globally inspired Arizona fare. The restaurant is complemented by a subterranean wine cellar, a celebrated outdoor dining patio, and its bar and casual dining counterpart LON's Last Drop, named after one of Megargee's iconic paintings, many of which are displayed throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing