We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance Fantastic”
Review of Hermosa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermosa Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romance Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 July 2010

My wife and I took advantage of our kids being away, so I booked the Romance pakage for a one night stay at the Hermosa Inn. It was great, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us in the room upon our arrival, the room was spacious and the bathroom and tub amazing. We ate dinner at the Inn's restaurant Lon's and had a wonderful meal. The beef short ribs was simply too die for. When we returned to our room the floor was covered in rose petals, the bath drawn, and candles a light. It truly was a night to remember.

The Rogers

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWR1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermosaInn, Director of Guest Experience at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
Thank you, PWR1122, for your comments,

We are grateful for the opportunity to provide you and your wife with a romantic getaway. It is always exciting the hear of the experiences of our guests. I will be sure to pass your compliments to Chef Pacheco as well!

We look forward to your return in the near future, all the best to you and your family!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    60
    20
    13
    13
See reviews for
19
224
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Since we live in Phoenix, we are blessed with access to great resorts and great resort packages in the summer. We usually take advantage of these rates for summer special occasions like our anniversary or my wife’s birthday. One of our favorite places to stay is the Hermosa Inn. We booked a “Night at Lon’s” package with a Deluxe Casita. The package includes a $100 dining credit at their wonderful, intimate restaurant Lon’s as well as breakfast in the morning. We felt it was a great deal. In season, these 650 – 750 sq ft. Casitas cost a pretty penny. So to get all this for around $250 is a bargain. As I mentioned, there are lots of great resorts to choose from. If you are not looking for a giant pool, waterpark, lazy river, hip pool party, DJ’s, hip hop or the “in” spot to be seen and your tastes un to quiet, intimate, romantic, authentic Southwestern then check out the Hermosa Inn. You will be pleased. The recently room renovations really improved on accommodations that were already good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellyrollblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermosaInn, Director of Guest Experience at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2010
Thank you, Jellyrollblues, for you comments!

We are glad you were able to make it over and enjoy our summer rates and the peaceful relaxation of our Boutique Hideaway. We hope you have a spectacular summer and be sure to return again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Outstanding experience in all ways, will very comfortable rooms that have all the extras expected on very expensive hotels.

This is a place to really get away, even though in the mist of a large city.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acpreusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermosaInn, Director of Guest Experience at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you, ACpreusch, for your comments,

We appreciate the kind words, and are glad you found your stay to be comfortable.

Have a wonderful summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

For the second time, my husband surprised me with a birthday weekend at the Hermosa Inn. I could not have chosen a more romantic location. Our room was beautiful. Our dinner by the outdoor fountain at Lon's was delicious, quiet, extra-special. I hope he surprises me again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbsmithMarana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermosaInn, Director of Guest Experience at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Thank you, LBsmithMarana, for your comments,

My staff and I always enjoy helping our guests celebrate becoming another year younger! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your time here at our Hideaway and we look forward to your next birthday celebration.

Have a wonderful summer and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The Hermosa Inn used to be my first choice in Phoenix, but I had abandoned it after a disappointing stay in 2006/7 when the pool was closed and I thought the rooms (and bathroms in particular) were getting a little tired. Tempted back by the newly renovated casitas, I'm happy to say the Hermosa Inn has returned to the top of my list. If you want a lively pool scene or lots of activities, it's not the place for you, but if you value peace, quiet and seclusion, you'll love it. You'll hardly see another guest (there are only 30 or so rooms) and my casita was gorgeous - spacious, beautifully decorated with a four-poster bed, a fireplace and the most amazingly luxurious bathroom. There was also a large patio with loungers and a table & chairs, looking out over the beautifully maintained grounds. The service was friendly and helpful, and the free water a very welcome touch. The food and the romantic courtyard setting at Lon's was just as good as I'd remembered too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermosaInn, Director of Guest Experience at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
Thank you, UKLizzie, for your comments!

We are thrilled that you have re-discovered The Hermosa Inn. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are as pleased as we are with the re-model!

We view repeat visits as the highest compliment and to have a guest return after a sub-par experience and enjoy themselves as they used to is very pleasing to us.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUPITER, FLORIDA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

My husband & I recently stayed at The Hermosa Inn for two weeks. Our casita was absolutely beautiful having two rooms. The service was outstanding as well as Lon's, their restaurant. Every one of our needs was attended too. We usually book Four Seasons , but this hotel offers a much better location in Scottsdale. I wouldn't hesitate staying here!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DREAMGIRLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermosaInn, Director of Guest Experience at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you, Dreamgirly, for your kind words!

Our goal at Hermosa Inn is too always exceed our guests expectations, we are thrilled to see that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!

Thank you again for visiting our Hideaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

The Hermosa Inn is a small, exclusive hotel with the best of amenities. There is no light or noise pollution, no hustle and bustle of people, and no parking or traffic complications. We found it the perfect business or personal retreat! Top notch, comfortable Southwestern elegance! Once again, you can trust the Conde Nast Johansen award.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KF44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHermosaInn, Director of Guest Experience at Hermosa Inn, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
Thank you, KF44, we truly appreciate the compliments!

When re-opening the hotel we took many of these elements such as light, noise and natural space into account, we are pleased to see our guests enjoy the ambiance of the property as much as we do!

Thank you, and we look forward to hosting you and your guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Inn

Property: Hermosa Inn
Address: 5532 N Palo Cristi Rd, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-7599
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermosa Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked among the top hotels in the Southwest, the AAA Four Diamond Hermosa Inn is a jewel of a hideaway surrounded by an exclusive neighborhood in Paradise Valley, and minutes from Scottsdale and its many attractions. Handcrafted in the 1930s by cowboy artist Lon Megargee as his residence and art studio, the Inn's adobe architecture has kept its "authentic Arizona" character and charm. The 43 newly renovated guest casitas are nestled in a garden setting with breathtaking vistas of the lush desert and Camelback Mountain. Accommodations reflect the southwestern design of the original Casa Hermosa (beautiful house) and most include deep soaking tubs, beehive fireplaces and private patios. The culinary centerpiece is LON's at the Hermosa, a AAA Four Diamond restaurant with a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator serving globally inspired Arizona fare. The restaurant is complemented by a subterranean wine cellar, a celebrated outdoor dining patio, and its bar and casual dining counterpart LON's Last Drop, named after one of Megargee's iconic paintings, many of which are displayed throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermosa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Hotel Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing