We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Resort with a few kinks to work out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Best spa in town in my opinion. I've always had a great massage. Lovely resort. Beautiful grounds. Nice rooms with comfy beds. Be sure to check your bill before you check out though. Ours has been wrong every time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,591 - 1,597 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

It's difficult to contain my enthusiasm when I think of the Montelucia as this is my third stay at the Resort, now under a new hotel group, but the same -if not better- level of service and wow factor. From the moment you arrive to the hotel you feel welcomed and the Reception Desk Staff's personable demeanor start getting you ready for the best to come. With their top-notch, elegant Prado Restaurant overlooking Camelback Mountain to the Crave Cafe's gourmet food market and house-made, mouthwatering pastries and gelato pastries, you're in for a gastronomic treat. And then there's the beautifully manicured Resort grounds and landscaping, multiple pools, world-class SPA, complete fitness facility, and luxurious guest room accommodations. A total treat for your senses, everywhere around you. Well done, Montelucia!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank MFuentes782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Montelucia is a great deal that we got on line. We were visiting family and did not want to stay at a normal run of the mill hotel. Coming here was great. Resort setting, so plenty of outdoor walking to get around the property. Bell Staff with golf carts to help you get around if you don't like all the walking. Restaurants, shops and most importantly beautiful accommodations. The room was very upscale and clean. The beds so comfortable and just the right amount of space, couch, table and etc. Plenty of room in the drawers for your cloths or even in the closet. The bathroom is sheer luxury with the walk in shower, the super large tub and totally relaxing. We did not partake in using the pool as we were running around so much. However, it LOOKED so inviting and there is even an adult salt water pool as well which is separated from the general pool. Great if you are looking for piece and quiet. As a person that stays in hotels all over the world, I really enjoyed Montelucia!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel and spa - I would stop short of calling it a resort since there really is not much there for activities other than pool and spa, but the restaurants are good, the grounds are quite pretty, the spa is great, and the service is attentive. I was there when it was not terribly crowded so it was great, but I'd be a little wary of how it is when the rooms are full - the pools just are not that big even though they are nice. The bathrooms in the two rooms I saw were extremely nice and spacious - very big tubs, easily for two, and very big spacious showers. All rooms seem to have a balcony or patio.

However, be aware that your experience can vary dramatically depending on whether you get a room that suits you. The biggest variables are (1) floor (2) location, and (3) view. What I wish I had done is scanned the resort map and attached it, because the map available online is missing the crucial labels of buildings and building numbers.

See the online map here: http://www.montelucia.com/resort-map. Basically, the reception is the far right, the restaurants, spa and conference area are near the reception and in the very big building in the lower right. The main pool ("Kasbah" pool) is the first big pool as you come in from the right. The smaller adult-only "Oasis" pool is right in the middle of the map. The mountains are primarily off the map to the left side, so mountain views are best facing that direction.

Regarding room choice, my personal advice would be to go for the second floor over the first floor in just about any building. The first floor feels very exposed and also has the potential to have more critters ("wildlife") on the patio. Plus, the views are definitely worse - e.g., obstructions of the mountains, and if you have a room facing a pool, you get lots of foot traffic, but can't really see the pool area.

As for view, there are some rooms (a lot, actually) that literally look right at another building, You might as well stay in the city - for such a beautiful place I'd want more of a view of the mountains or of the pool. As noted, the second floor has better views across the board. Some of the rooms on the second floor around the adult pool have the best of all worlds - good view of the pool and the mountains.

Lastly, location matters aside from how it affects views. This is a big area. The rooms all the way to the left on the resort map are quite far from the pools, restaurants, spa, etc. If you end up there, it is a lot of walking, which isn't so bad at night, but in the high heat of the day it is a bit painful.

Room Tip: See complete review for details but 2nd floor anywhere is generally better than first, and second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Too many negative things to list....from the bird poop on the patio seats during breakfast to the fire ants and dog poop on our private lawn....the scalding hot rain shower to the dirty sheets in the master suite....broken water fountain, pool tiles and lights....I am disgusted at the lack of attention to detail and the unhurried demeanor of staff when voicing requests or concerns.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcom_scottsdale, Manager at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations as we would have hoped. Please accept our sincere apology for the service experience you encountered. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service to all of our guests and are sorry to hear that this was not the case while you were at our resort. We appreciate your comments and they will certainly be used as a training opportunity for our team. I know that this does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concerns and are actively working to resolve these issues.

I apologize again for the problems you encountered, and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Without your feedback we cannot continue to improve our services.
It is our understanding that our Management team has spoken with you regarding the issues you encountered, but if this is not the case please feel free to contact us directly. We would like to further discuss your recent visit, and we can be reached at marcom.scottsdale@omnihotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

When we arrived the staff did not offer to handle our luggage. We were lazily directed to the check in area. After we checked in we were given a map of the property and half heartedly directed down a path and left on our own to find the building and room. I guess I was thinking that a quality hotel would offer to help or a staff member would show us to our room. Your website advertises an adult pool that remains open until midnight. That is great but service at the pool ends at 5:00 PM. Really an adult pool! The pool was dirty with debris from the palm trees. I do realize it was that time of year but perhaps the pool should be netted 2 or 3 times a day. Overall the resort is beautiful but the service not so much. Perhaps a little more attention to the details is in order. Maybe a management change should be considered due to their lack of attention to the details.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcom_scottsdale, Manager at Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for providing us with this valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations as we would have hoped. Please accept our sincere apology for the service experience you encountered. We were disappointed to hear that our Bell staff didn’t assist you with your luggage and offer to escort you to your room on one of our golf carts. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional customer service to all of our guests and are sorry to hear that this was not the case while you were at our resort.

We appreciate your comments and they will certainly be used as a training opportunity for our team. We will also be reviewing staffing schedules to ensure that we have enough attendants available at the pool to ensure that the pool remains well maintained.

We were happy to see in your review that you enjoyed the overall beauty of our resort. We truly do hope that we will see you again soon to give us another chance to show you an experience that the Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia is known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I would like to rate this resort higher as it was well a beautiful, well kept property with friendly staff. The reason for lowering the rating a bit was that we paid extra for a room with a view of the mountain. The mountain was not actually visible unless you crouched down in the room to look out over some tall bushes. The view as you actually relaxed in the room was of a small green lawn and some bushes. Certainly not horrible, but not the spectacular mountain view we were expecting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Terry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia

Address: 4949 E Lincoln Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-4139 (Formerly InterContinental Montelucia Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: £198 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rich history, white-washed villages and sun-drenched hills of Spain’s Andalusia region, the Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia brings the essence of Europe to the heart of Scottsdale. With arching entryways, splashing fountains, floral walkways, and a collection of antiquities hidden throughout the property, Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia is an enchanting resort destination that boasts 293 luxuriously appointed guestrooms, the Moroccan-inspired Joya Spa, six tempting dining options including the critically-acclaimed Prado restaurant, a myriad of radiant pools and breathtaking views. Nestled at the base of Camelback Mountain, the resort’s convenient central location offers easy access to the area’s best golf, recreation, nightlife and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni Scottsdale Resort & Spa at Montelucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montelucia Resort And Spa
Montelucia Hotel Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Paradise Valley
Intercontinental Montelucia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing