We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found at The Sanctuary, Scottsdale Arizona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Paradise Found at The Sanctuary, Scottsdale Arizona”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I recently traveled to Scottsdale and stayed at The Sanctuary for a weekend Mom's Getaway at the end of June. Before we arrived we made transportation arrangements and dining reservations with the Concierge. We were picked up at the airport in style and the weekend unfolded from there. Our arrival at The Sanctuary was very welcoming. We were escorted via golf cart to our two casitas. The rooms were very clean and the bed was heavenly. During our stay we slept wonderfully and never heard any other guests at the resort. We had cocktails at Jade during and dinner at Elements. Jade was enjoyable, although a little busy as the entertainment brings in a crowd. The dinner at Elements was absolutely delicious. Dinner was leisurely paced, as you would expect from a top notch restaurant. We spent Saturday at the main pool (adults only on weekends). There were no less than 10 people working the pool during the weekend. We had umbrellas adjusted, ice water refilled (every 15 or so minutes) in addition to lunch and drinks by the pool. The servers poolside were very attentive and courteous. I also had the opportunity to visit the Spa during my stay for the Wild Lime Blossom (90 min) treatment. The Spa facility was one of the cleanest I have seen in some time. The Spa attendant was constantly walking thru the facility - straightening up and making sure everyone had what was needed. Several beverage options and light snacks were available in the relaxation room before/after the treatment. The treatment itself was truly enjoyable (Massage Therapist - Lisa) and I highly recommend it to anyone needing to unwind. We also used the fitness facilities during our short stay. The variety of equipment in a smaller space was unexpected. Sports drinks, water, tea and coffee were available to enjoy during/after your workout. We had such an enjoyable time on our Mom's Getaway that I plan to return with my husband. The atmosphere is very quiet and relaxed, which will be perfect for a couple's retreat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverGal309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at sanctuary during your visit and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are very happy to hear that our concierge team took excellent care of you and made your trip easy. We are delighted that you both took advantage of and enjoyed jade bar and elements during you stay. It sounds like our pool staff did a great job taking care of you as well, which we always love to hear. Thank you for your compliments about our spa. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again and getting the chance to meet your husband this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    211
    82
    35
    21
See reviews for
200
792
88
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend & I stayed at Sanctuary over memorial weekend. It was my friend's birthday & the resort went out of their way to make it special. Chocolate covered strawberries when we arrived to the room was a nice touch. We stayed in a spa casita & it was perfect, with a great patio. Overall service was excellent, with a few glitches. We had amazing facials at the spa. My friend's massage was perfect, but my massage was pretty bad. We rented a cabana by the pool on the Saturday & that was one of the best things we did. It was definitely worth the money. I can't remember the girl who took care of us (she had a blonde ponytail), but she was great! Jade bar was lively & fun, but elements really missed the mark for me. We ate there 3 times (2 dinners & 1 brunch), brunch was good & the service was great. Both dinners were not up to standard that I would expect from a resort of this calibre. Overall, I would stay here again, but skip eating at Elements.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Sanctuary for your recent visit to Arizona. We are delighted to hear both you and your friend had a wonderful and memorable weekend overall. We are always very honored when our guests choose to spend special occasions, such as their birthdays, with us. We’re very happy you liked the spa casita, but so sorry that your massage was not very enjoyable. Glad you liked the new bar, but again we are disappointed to hear that elements did not live up to your or our expectations. We always want every guest to leave with a magical culinary experience and it sounds like we did not meet that standard. We would love for you to give us one more try if you decide to stay at the resort again. Thank you so much for you feedback about your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area and we will do our best to make sure your next visit is five stars all around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We spent a night here at the end of June 2014. This is the third or fourth time we have stayed here. The property is as beautiful as always but the rooms seem to be getting in need of a good spruce up. In our room the wood around sinks was all scuffed up and worn and the room did not look as if it had seen a lick of paint in many a long year. The room looked clean enough overall but my wife dropped a diamond earring and we spent 10 minutes on our knees and moving some furniture looking for it. Under the bed had not been vacuumed in a long time and behind some of the other furniture we moved there were several layers of dust. Lots of dried rose petals under the bed. We spent the afternoon in the pool and it seems that some of the guests have a high opinion of themselves. Between burping, language issues and two couples making out it wasn't as relaxing as it should have been. We had supper at Elements (see that review) and it was excellent. Will probably look elsewhere in future when staying in Scottsdale and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms over looking the parking lot as they don't have balconies, rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDSAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay with us. We are sorry that your experience was not as wonderful as the previous three stays. We would like to mention that we are working on getting some new furnishings and remodeling some of the rooms based on comments from our guests. We really do appreciate your feedback, as we want to make sure we continue to provide a spectacular experience for each guest, every time. We’re very sorry to hear that some of the other guests made your pool experience less than enjoyable. We would love to invite you to check out the resort next time you are back in the Scottsdale area, so that we can show you the changes to the rooms that we are all very excited about. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you’ll give us another try next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at The Sanctuary for our honeymoon and we will definitely be returning. From the moment we arrived, the staff was there to assist us with anything we needed. Everyone was so nice, friendly, helpful, and kind.....and NOT in a pretentious, fake way. The staff are genuine! Very clean. Fabulous pool and restaurant, too.

Room Tip: We loved the Mt. Casita. However, I think all of the rooms are great. We felt like we had our own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle36161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Congratulations on your recent nuptials! Thank you for choosing to stay at Sanctuary for your honeymoon! It’s always a great honor to be even a small part of such a special occasion. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful visit and that our staff took excellent care of you during your stay. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. Again, congratulations and we can’t wait to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

To celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary we returned to the spectacular Sanctuary on Camelback Mountain, where we were married. Our two night stay was relaxing. We reminisced back to our special day on the wedding lawn where we said our vows to one another. It was very special. From our arrival to our departure, everything was perfect. We stayed in a Spa room which was clean, comfortable and modern. Kudos to the housekeeping staff. It was an added bonus to see that after 10 years there were so many familiar staff members. The incredible staff is definitely part of what is so special about this resort.

We had lunch at Elements where Rebecca and Jonathon took great care of us. We loved the new Jade Bar and the live music made the evening even more special. Our Anniversary dinner was out of this world. We asked to be in Kumi’s section because she is an absolute joy. You must order the Hamachi Sashimi and Hawaiian Nairagi. They were beautiful flavor combinations, delicate and spectacular. The best culinary experience was by far the Foie gras Benedict it was mind blowing, it’s a must have. I wanted to order three more and I’m not sure this can ever come off your menu. A big thank you to the sommelier, whom recommended the perfect pairings for our dining experience. Chef Beau your menu is brilliant. (Go Sox!)

The Spa, Fitness center and Tennis was a much needed break that we needed. We loved the renovation to the Tennis center. Ben was very knowledgeable on the spa menu and a big help when trying to pick from the unique treatment choices. It was so nice to see Rod at the Spa again and he was so welcoming. My Spa treatment with Cheryl (another familiar face) was one of the best massages I have ever had (and I’m kinda a spa junky). The spa attendant Karla added to the relaxation while at the Spa, she was very professional and kept the locker room comfortable and clean.

This is the perfect resort for a wedding, special celebration or if you are looking for an amazing get-a-way. You will be pampered while enjoying a culinary adventure. We will be making this our Anniversary tradition.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at this resort, we prefer the Spa Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieNateC654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for coming back to celebrate 10 amazing years with us! We are so delighted to hear that you had an amazing stay. It’s always such an honor to get to play even a small part in such important moments as weddings and anniversaries. Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff, especially our housekeeping team, who work so hard, often for little recognition. Very glad to hear Rebecca and Jonathon took excellent care of you during your meal at elements and that you got to enjoy some of the great live performers we have playing at jade bar this summer. We also love that you took advantage of our wonderful spa, tennis and fitness center. It definitely sounds like you made the most of your stay, which we love to hear. Thank you again for letting us be a part of your special day again and we look forward to seeing you for many anniversaries to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on Am EX Centurion. Upgraded to mountain vista suite was is a great casita with a family room, dining area and small kitchen. Breakfast at elements was first class each day as was lunch at elements. Pool was very nice and they have a great staff to keep you cool. Spa facilities is first rate. Had a massage and facial. Massage was only ok but facial was great. My wide had 2 services which she said was great. Summer great time to go with great rates and specials and Scottsdale is a nice area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nailcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. We’re very happy to hear you liked the mountain vista suite. Glad were able to enjoy a delicious meal in elements every morning, it’s a great way to start off your morning at the resort. We’re very happy you enjoyed the pool and that the staff took excellent care of you while you were there. It’s great that you and your wife were able to take advantage of our spa during your stay as well. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you again next time you make it back to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just back from my fourth or sixth stay at The Sanctuary in Scottsdale, and thoroughly satisfied with the venue in general and the service in particular. Front desk, concierge, valet, restaurant staff, room service, and housekeeping all combine--on a very consistent basis--to make this property a very easily recommendable property.

Definitely looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Suites are sizable enough to comfortably accommodate in-room business meetings with up to six attend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJim67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. There really is no greater compliment than when our guests continue to return to the resort. We are delighted to hear that our staff provided you with excellent service during your visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and recommending us as a great resort. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Property: Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing