We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sanctuary is Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

In my opinion: that a hotel lives up to its reputation, or that a hotel doesn't pretend to have more, or be more than it can deliver-- is the basis by which my wife and I rate our hotel experience.

This hotel passes with flying colors!!!!!The staff is delightful (they obviously want to be there and want to satisfy their guests). The atmosphere is superb. And the property is beyond words beautiful and immaculate...

Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cyrus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Sanctuary during your recent visit. We are delighted to hear that lived up to your expectations and that our staff took wonderful care of you during your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, it means a lot to each and every one of them that our guests have a fantastic experience during their visit. It sounds like you had a great visit all around, which we always love to hear. Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. We hope to see you again the next time you make it back to Arizona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

988 - 994 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The entire experience was way beyond all expectation's. Staff was friendly and efficient. Food was incredible weather we ate in out room or in elements restaurant itself. The view from everywhere on the property was breathtaking. I would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are delighted to hear your stay exceeded all expectations and that the staff took excellent care of you. We are very happy enjoyed your meal elements and in-room. We are always very honored when our guests recommend our resort to others, so thank you very much. We hope to see you again the next time you make it out to the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is such a great place. I've stayed several times and the staff and facilities are just phenomenal. Every thing about the place is chic and stylish and they really go the extra mile to make your stay memorable in everyway.

We love the mountainside casitas, they have great decks and fabulous views. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and abound with birds and flowers. One of the amazing things about the sanctuary is how private it feels. We were there on a completely full weekend and when we were tucked away in our room it felt like we were the only people in the place.

The spa is fab, I have a massage every time I come. We also take advantage of classes in the fitness center and I am really impressed by the quality of the teachers and the attention to detail, they really make sure you are doing the exercises properly and have the correct form. We did pilates with grayson and cycling with kathy and both were fantastic. As others have said the pool is pure bliss.

Love the drinks at jade, try the mezcal one it's delicious! Views are superb from both bar and restaurant. The location is also great, being close to downtown scottsdale where there are lots of shopping and dining options. But really why would anyone everyone to leave the sanctuary. I know I never do when I am there, it truly feels like a home away from home! I just can't say enough good about it. It's really the only place to stay in phoenix!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to return to Sanctuary and stay with us again. There is no greater compliment than a returning guest, especially one who speaks so highly of our property. We really appreciate your kind words about our resort and staff. We completely agree that one of the things that makes the resort special is the privacy it offers. It’s the perfect place for a quiet romantic escape, but it’s still close enough to the city to easily take advantage of all the exciting things Scottsdale/Phoenix area has to offer. We are very glad to hear you had another wonderful experience at the spa, and that you took advantage of our awesome fitness staff. It’s a huge compliment to be your home away from home, and we are honored that you feel that way. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The attention to detail and personal service from the staff was outstanding. The rooms were huge and had every amenity you could ask for. The beds were like heaven. The spa was the most wonderful escape from reality with really interesting services, the walking meditation with Cindy Nichols was life altering and restaurant was hands down the best I've experienced at a resort. I will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeline-Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that our staff took excellent care of you and made your stay something special. It sounds like you had a pretty wonderful time all around, which is what we always want to hear. Glad you were able to take advantage of the spa and some of our more unique services like the walking meditation. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you need a relaxing escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had an excellent second stay at Sanctuary over the July 4th holiday. The staff is lovely and the property is beautiful. We stayed in a spa casita, and we loved the modern Zen-like style. Little extras like turn-down service and a welcome-back basket of goodies are just some of the ways staff goes the extra mile here. Our shower drain was backed up but fixed quickly after we reported it. The bed was super comfy, and we loved the robes and slippers, not to mention the other fun products like lavender spray for your pillow and bath salts for the tub. The staff at Elements was great... the hostesses got us a great romantic table overlooking the nearby fireworks. Pool staff is friendly and attentive. I appreciate all the umbrellas they have in the pool area. The spa is lovely... I had two treatments, both of which were first-rate. We got great tips from the bellman, Andy, for some great local restaurants to check out. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b33tah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend the holiday weekend with us. We are delighted that you had a fantastic and relaxing stay overall. It’s great to hear that our staff took excellent care of you during your visit. Glad we were able to get the plumbing issue fixed quickly. It’s great to hear that you got to enjoy a nice romantic table with a great view of the firework display. Overall it sounds like you had a wonderful time, which we never get tired of hear. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your experience. We look forward to seeing you again next time you make it back to the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I recently traveled to Scottsdale and stayed at The Sanctuary for a weekend Mom's Getaway at the end of June. Before we arrived we made transportation arrangements and dining reservations with the Concierge. We were picked up at the airport in style and the weekend unfolded from there. Our arrival at The Sanctuary was very welcoming. We were escorted via golf cart to our two casitas. The rooms were very clean and the bed was heavenly. During our stay we slept wonderfully and never heard any other guests at the resort. We had cocktails at Jade during and dinner at Elements. Jade was enjoyable, although a little busy as the entertainment brings in a crowd. The dinner at Elements was absolutely delicious. Dinner was leisurely paced, as you would expect from a top notch restaurant. We spent Saturday at the main pool (adults only on weekends). There were no less than 10 people working the pool during the weekend. We had umbrellas adjusted, ice water refilled (every 15 or so minutes) in addition to lunch and drinks by the pool. The servers poolside were very attentive and courteous. I also had the opportunity to visit the Spa during my stay for the Wild Lime Blossom (90 min) treatment. The Spa facility was one of the cleanest I have seen in some time. The Spa attendant was constantly walking thru the facility - straightening up and making sure everyone had what was needed. Several beverage options and light snacks were available in the relaxation room before/after the treatment. The treatment itself was truly enjoyable (Massage Therapist - Lisa) and I highly recommend it to anyone needing to unwind. We also used the fitness facilities during our short stay. The variety of equipment in a smaller space was unexpected. Sports drinks, water, tea and coffee were available to enjoy during/after your workout. We had such an enjoyable time on our Mom's Getaway that I plan to return with my husband. The atmosphere is very quiet and relaxed, which will be perfect for a couple's retreat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenverGal309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at sanctuary during your visit and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are very happy to hear that our concierge team took excellent care of you and made your trip easy. We are delighted that you both took advantage of and enjoyed jade bar and elements during you stay. It sounds like our pool staff did a great job taking care of you as well, which we always love to hear. Thank you for your compliments about our spa. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again and getting the chance to meet your husband this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend & I stayed at Sanctuary over memorial weekend. It was my friend's birthday & the resort went out of their way to make it special. Chocolate covered strawberries when we arrived to the room was a nice touch. We stayed in a spa casita & it was perfect, with a great patio. Overall service was excellent, with a few glitches. We had amazing facials at the spa. My friend's massage was perfect, but my massage was pretty bad. We rented a cabana by the pool on the Saturday & that was one of the best things we did. It was definitely worth the money. I can't remember the girl who took care of us (she had a blonde ponytail), but she was great! Jade bar was lively & fun, but elements really missed the mark for me. We ate there 3 times (2 dinners & 1 brunch), brunch was good & the service was great. Both dinners were not up to standard that I would expect from a resort of this calibre. Overall, I would stay here again, but skip eating at Elements.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Sanctuary for your recent visit to Arizona. We are delighted to hear both you and your friend had a wonderful and memorable weekend overall. We are always very honored when our guests choose to spend special occasions, such as their birthdays, with us. We’re very happy you liked the spa casita, but so sorry that your massage was not very enjoyable. Glad you liked the new bar, but again we are disappointed to hear that elements did not live up to your or our expectations. We always want every guest to leave with a magical culinary experience and it sounds like we did not meet that standard. We would love for you to give us one more try if you decide to stay at the resort again. Thank you so much for you feedback about your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area and we will do our best to make sure your next visit is five stars all around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#19 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range: £268 - £1,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing