We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "WOW!" experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A "WOW!" experience.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Celebrating out 46th anniversary called for a special location and new experience. Driving up to the Sanctuary was the first of many pleasant experiences. No typical hotel entrance at this resort. A private get away in the midst of a metro city. Non conformity, laid back, discreet, inviting are terms that describe my first impressions. The staff was phenomenal! From the moment we arrived and greeted by the gentlemen with valet service, to checking in with Alex. Seems as if he had been waiting just for our arrival! The perfect introduction to the Sanctuary. A short drive to our wonderful suite and our celebration is off to a great start. We ventured into the Jade Bar for their happy hour. What a busy place. A very nice view and relaxing atmosphere. We were greeted by Ashley. She made sure that we were familiar with the offerings at the resort and offered her services to make our stay the best possible. We were then served by Sara and she was yet another person that left us with that cared for feeling.
The next evening we had reservations at Elements. We had heard a great deal about the restaurant an were excited to try it. Everyone greeted us with warmth and best wishes on our anniversary! We became the center of attention. I can not say enough about the service and the wonderful food. Denise and Rafael were beyond excellent! Making sure our every need was taken care of. The finale was the breath taking sunset that must have been arranged just for us!
Kudos to the Sanctuary and to a wonderful staff that represents them so well!

Room Tip: This is such a unique layout that I don't think there is a one location better than another. Onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful visit and a fabulous anniversary. We are very glad the staff took superb care of you throughout your stay. It’s great that you were able to experience the bar and elements in full swing and that you not only enjoyed the cocktails and food, but the experience as well. Thank you again for celebrating such a special event with us and taking the time to review your stay. We wish you both many more anniversaries to look forward to and hope to see you again next time you make it out to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    204
    82
    35
    20
See reviews for
195
768
87
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful setting and a great value in the summer. The pool is wonderful. Great views. The staff is very friendly, and exactly what you would expect in a high end resort setting. The food, spa and workout facilities are all top notch.

Room Tip: Just speak with the staff and thy will guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us! We are delighted to hear that you both had a wonderful time and that our staff took great care of you. We are honored that you would choose to celebrate with us and we are glad we did not disappoint. Tell your wife Happy Birthday for us! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

In my opinion: that a hotel lives up to its reputation, or that a hotel doesn't pretend to have more, or be more than it can deliver-- is the basis by which my wife and I rate our hotel experience.

This hotel passes with flying colors!!!!!The staff is delightful (they obviously want to be there and want to satisfy their guests). The atmosphere is superb. And the property is beyond words beautiful and immaculate...

Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyrus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with Sanctuary during your recent visit. We are delighted to hear that lived up to your expectations and that our staff took wonderful care of you during your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, it means a lot to each and every one of them that our guests have a fantastic experience during their visit. It sounds like you had a great visit all around, which we always love to hear. Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. We hope to see you again the next time you make it back to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The entire experience was way beyond all expectation's. Staff was friendly and efficient. Food was incredible weather we ate in out room or in elements restaurant itself. The view from everywhere on the property was breathtaking. I would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristy0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are delighted to hear your stay exceeded all expectations and that the staff took excellent care of you. We are very happy enjoyed your meal elements and in-room. We are always very honored when our guests recommend our resort to others, so thank you very much. We hope to see you again the next time you make it out to the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosina Lardieri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is such a great place. I've stayed several times and the staff and facilities are just phenomenal. Every thing about the place is chic and stylish and they really go the extra mile to make your stay memorable in everyway.

We love the mountainside casitas, they have great decks and fabulous views. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and abound with birds and flowers. One of the amazing things about the sanctuary is how private it feels. We were there on a completely full weekend and when we were tucked away in our room it felt like we were the only people in the place.

The spa is fab, I have a massage every time I come. We also take advantage of classes in the fitness center and I am really impressed by the quality of the teachers and the attention to detail, they really make sure you are doing the exercises properly and have the correct form. We did pilates with grayson and cycling with kathy and both were fantastic. As others have said the pool is pure bliss.

Love the drinks at jade, try the mezcal one it's delicious! Views are superb from both bar and restaurant. The location is also great, being close to downtown scottsdale where there are lots of shopping and dining options. But really why would anyone everyone to leave the sanctuary. I know I never do when I am there, it truly feels like a home away from home! I just can't say enough good about it. It's really the only place to stay in phoenix!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to Sanctuary and stay with us again. There is no greater compliment than a returning guest, especially one who speaks so highly of our property. We really appreciate your kind words about our resort and staff. We completely agree that one of the things that makes the resort special is the privacy it offers. It’s the perfect place for a quiet romantic escape, but it’s still close enough to the city to easily take advantage of all the exciting things Scottsdale/Phoenix area has to offer. We are very glad to hear you had another wonderful experience at the spa, and that you took advantage of our awesome fitness staff. It’s a huge compliment to be your home away from home, and we are honored that you feel that way. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The attention to detail and personal service from the staff was outstanding. The rooms were huge and had every amenity you could ask for. The beds were like heaven. The spa was the most wonderful escape from reality with really interesting services, the walking meditation with Cindy Nichols was life altering and restaurant was hands down the best I've experienced at a resort. I will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeline-Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that our staff took excellent care of you and made your stay something special. It sounds like you had a pretty wonderful time all around, which is what we always want to hear. Glad you were able to take advantage of the spa and some of our more unique services like the walking meditation. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you need a relaxing escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had an excellent second stay at Sanctuary over the July 4th holiday. The staff is lovely and the property is beautiful. We stayed in a spa casita, and we loved the modern Zen-like style. Little extras like turn-down service and a welcome-back basket of goodies are just some of the ways staff goes the extra mile here. Our shower drain was backed up but fixed quickly after we reported it. The bed was super comfy, and we loved the robes and slippers, not to mention the other fun products like lavender spray for your pillow and bath salts for the tub. The staff at Elements was great... the hostesses got us a great romantic table overlooking the nearby fireworks. Pool staff is friendly and attentive. I appreciate all the umbrellas they have in the pool area. The spa is lovely... I had two treatments, both of which were first-rate. We got great tips from the bellman, Andy, for some great local restaurants to check out. Can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b33tah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend the holiday weekend with us. We are delighted that you had a fantastic and relaxing stay overall. It’s great to hear that our staff took excellent care of you during your visit. Glad we were able to get the plumbing issue fixed quickly. It’s great to hear that you got to enjoy a nice romantic table with a great view of the firework display. Overall it sounds like you had a wonderful time, which we never get tired of hear. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your experience. We look forward to seeing you again next time you make it back to the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Property: Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing