We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Stay and It was just as good as the 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“4th Stay and It was just as good as the 1st”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Just returned home and decided to take a couple of friends, otherwise a "Girls Weekend" .
Again, the staff, Bell men, concierge and food exceeded my expectations. Kimberly our waitress at breakfast made the morning coffee just that more special with her professional and friendly personality. My friends normally take vacations to Florida and Mexico but decided that this is trip to The Sanctuary is a must "Do" vacation every year. The grounds are quiet and the fact that there are no kids in the pool is great. If you want a family vacation go to Disney land or a big resort, this is not a place for children. People leave there kids at home to come to a quiet place like The Sanctuary !!!!

Room Tip: The spa casitas are great for quick access to pool and are nice and private. The mountain casitas ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. There is no greater compliment for us than when our guests choose to return, let alone for a fourth time. We are delighted to hear this stay was just as wonderful as all your previous visits. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. They work very hard to ensure that all our guests feel welcome and well taken care of and it sounds like they did a great job. We are honored that you would consider us for your yearly getaway. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,310
    204
    82
    35
    20
See reviews for
195
768
87
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here in the middle of a two week business trip to Arizona. I was looking for somewhere sophisticated to go on my own and escape from the rounds of meetings. I stayed for two days in a mountain view room and it was just what I was looking for. I arrived on a Saturday afternoon and was very pleased by its location on an extremely well landscaped part of camelback... Every type of attractive flowering desert plant or it seemed that way. The room itself was large and decorated in an attractive modern style - spa-like perhaps. I could tell it had been a little while since a refurbishment but it didn't matter as it was all in fine condition and good original materials. On the Saturday the pool was a pretty lively scene as was the resort in general. It was clearly a long weekend or Phoenix crowd but largely couples. I was reading in one of the local magazines that for Staycations in the Phoenix area, The Sanctuary is the "bucket list" choice. If you are not into golf (which I am not) I can see that being true as the other facilities were extremely high quality... The pool with first class pool service, a great gym and a top-notch spa. I didn't dine in the restaurant but had drinks in the bar served by professional bar tenders making excellent cocktails and offering a beautiful elevated view of the sunset over paradise valley. I had room service a few times and dined by the pool others. It was all very good and from the same leading Arizona chef as is in the main restaurant.

I would certainly go back with my wife for a romantic escape and if you are in the area I highly recommend that you try it. You could easily stay here while working in Phoenix.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PADILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear you had such a wonderful visit. We are delighted we were able to help you escape and relax for a little while during your business trip. Sounds like you had a great time at the pool and took full advantage of our gym and spa. We are glad you also found time to enjoy a few cocktails at the bar. We agree completely that it is a great place to take a peaceful and romantic getaway. Thank you so much for recommending our resort. We hope to see you again next time you make it to Arizona and hopefully we will get to meet your wife as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I could not have had a better time here. The staff at this resort treats you like absolute royalty. The grounds are so serene, and our room was beautiful. We spent our days by the pool, which was so relaxing. They provide floats for the pool which makes it easier to deal with the Arizona heat. I have nothing but amazing things to say about the Sanctuary. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CC_StAugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Sanctuary during your recent visit to Arizona. We are delighted you and your husband had a fantastic stay. We are glad to hear that our staff took excellent care of you and made you feel right at home throughout your trip. Sounds like you had a wonderful and relaxing time by the pool, which we always love to hear. Thank you for all the great things you have to say about our resort and we can’t wait to see you again next time you make it over to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

What's not to love about The Sanctuary! The staff is amazing! Genuinely helpful and went out of their way to be at our beckon call. Felt completely pampered. Everything one would desire from a spa hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a window that does not overlook the parking lot!\
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0cha424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience at Sanctuary. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful visit. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We work very hard to make sure every guest has a magical experience during their stay, which it sounds like you did. We are very happy to hear we lived up to all your expectations for a spa hotel. Thank you again for choosing Sanctuary and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglaston, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

For a 5 star resort , the operator did not connect me to the right place 3 times.I guess 3 times is a charm. Had the best facial ever . Staff was knowledgeable and friendly.they did not overwhelm and push their products on us which most spas do .loved the heated table and hot rocks my back while the facial was being done.If ever in Scottsdale and looking for relaxation, this
is the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyngal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Sanctuary. We apologize for any hassle regarding the phone transfers, though it sounds like our spa team helped remedy the situation. There is no greater compliment than when our guests tell us their treatment was “the best ever” so thank you. We are glad to hear the staff was friendly and helpful, but never too pushy. We always want our guest to leave here relaxed and rejuvenated, which it sounds like you did. Thank you for recommending us as the place to go for a relaxing retreat in Scottsdale. Thank you again for choosing Sanctuary and we hope to see you next time you make it back down to the Scottsdale area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This place is beautiful and serene. The outdoors here is full of flowers and native plants.
Everything is done to invoke a peaceful and calm oasis. The spa is great, and Dora is
outstanding...she makes sure that every detail is attended to for you before your spa appointment, and does everything with a big smile.
My spa service was outstanding, the food here is excellent, and the views are just amazing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 134Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sanctuary. We are very happy you enjoyed the setting as much as we do. There really isn’t a resort quite like it anywhere else in the Valley. It’s great that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful spa during your stay. We are delighted you had such a fabulous experience there. It sounds like you had a fantastic visit all around, which we always love to hear. Thank you again for choosing Sanctuary and we hope to see you again next time you make it down to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Sanctuary has clean and spacious rooms. Staff is quite friendly and very helpful. Ask for a room on the upper levels as they have a great view. Coworker informed me his view was quite different than mine. The suites are amazing! Excellent gym and swimming pool!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizDelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sanctuary. We are very happy you had a wonderful experience throughout your visit. It’s great to hear that our staff were very friendly and took excellent care of you during your trip. We are glad you enjoyed the infinity pool and had time to take advantage of our gym and lap pool as well. Thank you again for choosing Sanctuary and we hope to see you again next time you make it back to Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Camelback Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Property: Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing