We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a prize wait person”
Review of El Chorro

El Chorro
Reserve with OpenTable
El Chorro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 56th Street & Lincoln Drive
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a prize wait person”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Damian, our waiter, was the absolute best. He made the evening and handled a huge table with grace and aplomb. What a special person and his attention and kindness made the experience. Worth it just to have him.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sesphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    131
    62
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quality and experience on the decline”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have dined at this landmark many times and the experience was always great until this visit. Started with being assigned a table in the sun at 5 p.m. which we asked not to sit at (only occupants in area) but were assured by a snooty hostess it would be fine. There are generally great views in the patio area but not were we sat. We moved ourselves after our 1st course. The cocktails were all ice and melted quickly in the sun. The soup and salad were not enjoyed because of the sun. Would have returned the overcooked steak that was ordered med but never saw the server. To top it off a 20% gratuity was added with no thanks for coming or being a guest. It will be a while before we or our friends return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dakphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Dinner”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We selected El Chorro for our "Mothers Day Meal," having had nice dinners at this facility in the past. It had been redecorated about 5 yrs ago and offers nice outdoor patio dining. Long established eatery. Offers inexpensive valet parking. We were promptly seated upon arrival. Discussed the limited "price fix" menu offered on this particular evening with the waiter. We were not excited about the soup/salad selection and were going to skip that part of the meal when the waiter suggested a "substitution" of prawns which when received were old and limp. I ordered a med steak from the price fix menu and it arrived very quickly and well done. No wonder - obviously it had been pre cooked and not well warmed up. The bill included a very substantial charge for the substitution suggested by the waiter who said nothing about such an additional charge, at the time for the price fix meal. Then a 20% "gratuity" was added to our bill. We were quite disappointed with this dinner. Sad as it was a special holiday and we have had good meals here in the past.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlin35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Chorro & Mother's Day ....”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A beautiful restaurant steeped in history and delicious food! The brunch menu was a perfect balance of sweet and savory. The French toast creme brûlée was creamy and flavorful. The eggs benefit could have been cooked a bit longer as I am not fond of very runny egg whites. The service was great even with a very busy afternoon. We will go back for the regular menu and happy hour!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
448 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great night out with Friends”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had dinner out on the patio with 6 friends over the weekend and had a great time. From the attentive service of the wait staff to the bartender that remembered my friends drink from his last visit, the service was great. The food was also very good, with great seafood appetizers and several great entrees. Will definitely be back with another group of friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chorro also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Paradise Valley, Central Arizona
Paradise Valley, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to El Chorro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing