We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Paradise Valley
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 March 2005

We are about to leave this wonderful resort and I wish we had a couple more days to enjoy all the Camelback Inn has to offer. The setting is breathtaking, I doubt any of the newer resorts can rival the beauty that surrounds this resort. We found every aspect of our stay to be perfect. The service impeccable. The grounds fantastic and our room was wonderfully spacious, in perfect shape, although beds a little uncomfotable. Just can't say enough about this place. My favorite luxury resort in AZ.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    427
    104
    46
    24
See reviews for
366
646
79
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2005

Stayed here march 15-19 spring break with our two daughters 14 and 18. The room was very small for 4 adult size people and only enough space for one person to put clothes into a dresser. Bathroom was also quite small, though there was an additional sink outside in the hall. The grounds and the pool were immaculate, customer service was excellent, the dinner buffet at $25 or$30 (depending on what time you arrived) was sensational. We felt the breakfast buffet however, at $20 per person was too rich for our blood. (that does seem to be a resort rate) We booked through priceline at $225 a night, more than we normally spend, because we figured it would be the last time our 18 year old might be going with us. It was o.k. but way too cramped. It is a great location but certainly not a luxury room by any standard.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank morningsidetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2005

I spent five nights at the JW Marriott Camelback Inn in early March as it was a designated overlflow hotel for a conference I was attending at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge. I brought my wife and toddler son to the Camelback to help them escape the lingering Winter up north.

First of all, after visiting the Desert Ridge, I was relieved that I was put up at the Camelback. The Desert Ridge resort is located in the middle of nowhere and has all the charm of a downtown convention hotel. The Camelback offers spacious casitas in a sprawling low-rise setting surrounded by spectacular scenery. The environment leaves you feeling relaxed and immersed in a true south-western scene. The hotel is also located a few short miles away from downtown Scottsdale enabling easy access to restaurants and shopping but distant enough to have a character shaped by the natural scene around it.

The staff was friendly and eager to help. They seem to enjoy working at this legendary resort. The facilities, restaurants and grounds were consistent with the hotels excellent reputation. However, the pools would probably not be competitive with the multi-acre facilities at the newer hotels.

My wife enjoyed the spa facilities at the Camelback and found the staff to be friendly and competent. The prices were high compared to the downtown spa she is used to in our home town but consistent with resort pricing.

So here's the rub and the two reasons why I can't give the Camelback a 5* review. Housekeeping is poor and the rooms need some upgrading. With many guests paying peak season prices north of $400 per night, housekeeping should be thorough and prompt. The rooms shouldn't still use 20-year old bar fridges, have tears in the carpet and have dated fixtures. Neither of these two deficiencies was enough to detract from an excellent stay but seemed inconsistent with the best attributes of the property.

Since I was splitting the cost of the hotel with my employer, as it was a higher price than our corporate approved rate, I was very sensitive to value. The hotel gave me and my family a great travel experience but I worry that Camelback may be slipping for others that follow. I would recommend the Camelback to others and would stay there again. I would just hesitate to pay the peak rate.

  • Stayed March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rogue_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2005

This is a WOW sort of place. The ambience and staff are outstanding! You should expect a unique resort that does not look like so many cookie cutter hotels. We had a garden casita that had an outside entrance in a pueblo style building. The pathways through the grounds allow for romantic hand holding or a more vigorous hike up a Southwestern desert hill.Our room was very spacious and included a comfortable king bed, a love seat, a comfy chair ,a wet bar with personal refrigerator, a fully stocked mini bar, private patio and of course the TV and radio(with a sound machine). The bathroom is older but very clean and who lives in the bathroom anyway. Camelback's Day Spa has many options including a very health oriented restaurant. The buffet at the Navajo was absolutely the best and at a price that didn't make you scream. Chef Mark (and his staff) goes out of his way to treat you special. The service was the friendliest and most accommodating we have ever experienced. We loved our stay here and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Newbergians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2005

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights in mid-Jan.

First of all this is a huge complex. It can take a bit of work to find your way round at first - not really a big deal.

It also seems to be a popular conference venue so there are many large groups. Again this wasn't a big deal for us but if you're looking for a secluded getaway this may not be the place for you.

We had a nicely fitted out room - clean, well furnished and generous size. Not the most modern of styling but nothing to compain about.

The food is pretty good. I found the southwest/mexican dishes to be quite bland - but thats to be expected at a large hotel catering to many tastes.

Staff is very friendly and efficient. Requests were attended to very well.

The grounds are great. Wonderful desert garden spread throughout the resort, lots of cacti and hummingbirds.

My wife found the spa to be OK - nice enough people but just an average massage. As another reviewer has noted food is not available at the Spa restaurant after mid-afternoon.

We got a great rate of about $80/night on Priceline. For that price you cant beat this resort. The Poenix/Scottsdale area is amazing country - if you're planning a visit the Camelback is a good place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradcnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2005

We really enjoyed our one-night stay at Camelback Inn. We were travelling cross-country with our dog and the staff could not have been more pleasant and welcoming. We had a beautifully decorated and HUGE casitas room with a fabulous bathroom and an extremely comfortable king bed. The room also had a wet bar area with microwave and fridge. Our very large balcony overlooked Camelback Mountain.

Because we didn't want to leave our dog alone in the room, we ordered from room service at both dinner and breakfast. The service was quick and super-friendly. The food was outstanding -- probably the best room service food I've had anywhere.

Our only regret about this stay was that it was so short. We will definitely go back for a longer stay so that we can enjoy all the amenities of this resort.

Helpful?
2 Thank free101girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2005

Was on a business trip and stayed at Camelback Inn from 1/11 - 1/14/05. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful -- some of the best trained staff I've ever encountered. Rita's and Navajo restaurants were outstanding. Spa closes at 7 p.m., too early for those traveling on business.

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adcosta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa
Address: 5402 E Lincoln Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-4118
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
#3 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unrivaled among Scottsdale resorts, JW Marriott Camelback Inn Resort & Spa remains faithful to its storied history while boldly embracing the future. Located on a breathtaking 125-acre campus beneath Mummy Mountain, this stunning luxury resort features a hacienda style entry, casita guest rooms and impressive amenities that leave guests with the thought of "In all the world, only one..." In addition to 24-hour room service guests can indulge in the fresh restaurant offerings including Rita's Kitchen, R Bar, featuring live music and inviting fire pits, or the famed BLT Steak. Golfers will enjoy 36-holes of championship golf at Camelback Golf Club or instruction from the Advantage Golf School. Spa-goers can unwind at award-winning Camelback Spa with a signature spa treatment, or poolside beneath a cabana while overlooking Camelback Mountain. When you are ready to discover the local area, allow the professional concierges to compliment your interests with the perfect activity or attraction. It's easy to understand why families, business luminaries and leaders alike return to Camelback Inn year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Hotel Paradise Valley
Jw Marriott Camelback Inn Scottsdale Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Scottsdale
Camelback Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing