We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful respite”

Patagonia Lake State Park
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Patagonia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tucked away in the rolling hills of southeastern Arizona is a hidden treasure.Patagonia Lake State Park was established in 1975 as a state park and is an ideal place to find whitetail deer roaming the hills and great blue herons walking the shoreline. The park offers a campground, beach, picnic area with ramadas, tables and grills, a creek trail, boat ramps, and a marina. The nearby Lakeside Market offers boat rentals and supplies. The campground overlooks the lake where anglers catch crappie, bass, bluegill, catfish, and trout. The park is popular for water skiing, fishing, camping, picnicking, and hiking. And the tracks of the New Mexico/Arizona railroad lie beneath the lake and remnants of the old historic line may be found at the Nature Conservancy in Patagonia. Hikers can stroll along the creek trail and see birds such as the canyon towhee, Inca dove, vermilion flycatcher, black vulture, and several species of hummingbirds.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful respite”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The park is wonderful. Clean restrooms, friendly staff, generous sized RV spaces with water and electric; dump station onsite. Recommend the birding hike with a guide. Although we are casual birders (no life list and limited ability to identify birds), we thoroughly enjoyed the easy hike near the lake and through the forest. Plenty of activities are available on the water and additional hiking options in the backcountry are nearby.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peglova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    72
    15
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay by the lake”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We camped for 3 nights at Patagonia State Park. It was $25 a night, plus a $5 fee. We used one with water and electric hookups available, although we camped in a tent. It worked perfect for the fridge, heater, and lights.The site was shady and mostly flat, although we did have to move the table. The bathrooms with showers, were clean and close. You can reserve a spot online so look for bathroom accessibility. I fished from the shore and caught catfish. Others were not so lucky, but next time I would check to see when they stock the lake. Most of the campers were older couples but everyone was very friendly. We will definitely use this camp area again, but we scoped out better sites for next time. Lots of wildlife including squirrels, birds, and lizards. Bring bug spray if you want to sit around the fire.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tab555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hike a Trail and look for Birds”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our group of 4 adults visited the park for half a day to look for birds and hike the trail that makes its way out past Nutting's Wash and the Mesquite Hillside. Parking is limited for day users near the trailhead and this trail is very popular with birders. We encountered a large group of people who had come just to bird this area. Several highly sought after bird species can be found in this park and draws birders from all over the world. That's why we were there too!
We found the toilet facilities near the trail head were clean.
The visitor center was staffed by friendly helpful people and we found a nice picnic area to enjoy the lunch we brought with us.
I loved exploring the trail. It took us through interesting woods, along a stream and offered surprises around every bend. We were warned to avoid the cattle. Not sure why there are cattle there but we kept our distance.
A few of the campers with nice big trailers had set up bird feeders at their site. Overall the experience was very positive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chickadeedee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best kept secret and by far, the jewel of AZ State Parks”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I'm hesitant to wrote this because I would hate for other Phoenix residents to discover this place. Many people from PHX tend to ruin a place when they overrun it with their loud music, bad behavior, and trash-dumping ways.
Great lake, location, well-maintained, nice people, and views. Hopefully, the closeness to the Mexican boarder will keep away the bad elements that I wrote about since they're also xenophobic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AC_in_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Take a closer look”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Get there early the parking is limited and the washroom lineups are horrendous and the washrooms are absolutely filthy.
Pretty area, lots of trees, picnic areas,scenic half moon bridge over the water, paddle boats, its a nice social area... but...
take a closer look at the water, it is quite polluted. Both times i went here, i saw baby feces being dumped into the lake not even 50 feet from where people were swimming. Plus on many occasions beer and other drinks dumped into lake, buckets off of boats (could it be pee, possibly). There were so many people in the water and so many nasty things being dumped into the water, and factor in that it is a small lake... I wouldn't let my dog touch that water let alone myself! If you want to go for a picnic its not bad, but i would stay far away from the water. It doesn't look very clean either..
There are not a lot of gas stations around so make sure you have a good tank of gas and lots of water in case you break down and it happens to be hot, which is quite often.
Hope this helps!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SoleilVert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patagonia Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Patagonia Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing