We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birders Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 4 Patagonia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Birders Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This lovely B+B was one of the highlights on our recent birding trip to south east Arizona. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated with attention to every detail. We especially enjoyed the garden areas with many seating arrangements, bird feeders, and gorgeous flowers all around. We will definitely put it on our list to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 356Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    7
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
57
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

It's a rustic and somewhat charming little B&B but there is no TV, no radio, no phone, no cell service, no WIFI (that we could detect) and no breakfast was offered. Our queen size bed was adequate but a little firm and the lighting was poor. We also thought the rate charged was at least thirty precent too high for the service and facilities offered.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spacer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy M, Owner at The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
I am so sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. I’m sorry you didn’t realize when you made your reservation online that you had chosen a “Bed, no Bread” specially priced night, and that only coffee and tea would be offered in the morning. I’ve tried to make this clearer on the website. Not all cell phone services are available in Patagonia, which is why I have a house phone available on the back porch that guests can take to their rooms to use. Our WiFi is not password protected, and is available to guests in their rooms, in the garden, and on the screened back porch. To insure the quiet ambiance here, I’ve chosen not to put TVs in the suites. Instead, each room has a basket of interesting reading material and a radio/CD player with a variety of CDs. The happiness of my guests is very important to me, and had I known that you were not enjoying your stay, I would have done everything I could to make sure that you were comfortable and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staying at this B&B can be a destination in itself! It is beautiful - the suites are two large rooms & large bathroom. Ours was decorated with colorful Mexican tile & furnishings. They have the most beautiful yard with lots of separate sitting areas, patios & lots of flowers. Nancy made a delicious breakfast and was very helpful in telling us things to do nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLbell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Duquesne's house is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The garden is amazing. The way it is terraced it looks much larger than it is. There are flowers and statues and little nooks to sit in. The hosts are friendly . Nancy uses edible flowers from the garden in her amazing breakfasts. I have been there four times and just love it. You can also go hiking on a beautiful stretch of theaArizona trail

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellopuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed at this lovely B&B for a yoga retreat. The yoga attendees occupied the entire Inn. The rooms were colorful and wonderfully decorated and extremely comfortable. The gourmet breakfast that Nancy,the Inn owner, made was over the top. Each morning coffee and tea were ready at 6am. Each morning she also made an awesome egg dish, baked goods, including yummy options for gluten free, fresh fruit with yogurt and some kind of ham or sausage dish for the breakfast that was included. Considering we had a yoga practice after breakfast we all ate way too much because it was simply delicious and irresistible!!! She made us all feel very welcome. Her two rescue dogs Lilly and Lucy were adorable and we were able to play with them often. There was a lovely fire pit in the splendid backyard which they made available to us for our evening gathering. It was a perfect place to relax, enjoy and visit with each other. We hope to return again next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms were equally comfortable and could accommodate 4 people except the end room with the k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kareninaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helendale, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

A most charming fully restored old Spanish style house welcomes you with bright colors and warm hospitality. Rooms are comfortable, clean and appealing. The garden and patio made great places to meet other travelers or read, relax and soak up the good life. Breakfasts are delicious and beautifully served. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clay66Vair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spent two nights here, on a birding trip to the area. The gardens and patio are great, and the owner went out of her way to accomodate our early-morning departures, setting breakfast earlier than usual one day, and providing us with a delicious "takeaway" on the morning we needed to get out early to (of course!) go birding. As others have said, the suites/rooms are each uniquely decorated, and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mainemal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patagonia
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sonora Inn & Suites
16.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
24.2 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Americana Nogales
3.2 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
23.8 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens

Property: The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens
Address: 357 Duquesne Ave, Patagonia, AZ 85624
Region: United States > Arizona > Patagonia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Patagonia
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique historic inn, built by the founder of Patagonia in 1898, offers charm, quiet, beautiful gardens, and delicious breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duquesne House Inn & Gardens Patagonia, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing