We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parker Canyon Lake

Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Patagonia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful lake has comfortable summer temperatures and is great for fishing and boating.
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hiking around the lake is great in almost any season. Wouldn't want to be there during Mosoon or snow. The lake is a popular site for fishing, so we carry small trashbags with us to pick up trash that some anglers left behind. The trail is not totally flat, but not strenous either. A great hike.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank okrealtyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south of Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little gem right down the street from a wonderful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is a great find, water in southern AZ. A nice hiking trail 5 miles around the lake. If you're adventurous you can hike there from the AZ Trail (turn onto Canelo Pass Rd between mile posts 14 and 15, drive 3.5 miles, VERY WELL MARKED and easy to find trail heads, one of which goes to the lake. the Trail is beautiful both ways, a little steep on horseback though. The Lake is beautiful in all seasons. Right down the street from a wonderful B & B too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lake near Sierra Vista... Yay!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Hey water we can actually get in... or kayak on. It's alright, and a bit small, but is great in the desert heat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank tayolr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Enjoyable hikes around the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We haven't had a chance to actually canoe on the lake, although you can rent canoes there. What we enjoy is hiking the trails around the lake. The trails aren't difficult and you can choose how far you want to go. The lake itself is lovely as Arizona lakes go--we don't have a lot of water around here so we appreciate what we DO have. Plenty of free parking there and restroom facilities too. No fee for the Lake although it can take awhile to get there if you go via Patagonia. It's faster through Fort Huachuca but not easy to find.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SFNM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very dirty camp ground.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The walk around the lake is pleasant and we saw a Bald Eagle. BUT, the camp ground is a disgrace. We visited on a Monday and were the only people there. The camp ground is obviously a favourite with fishermen at weekends. Every camp site was littered with cigarette ends and beer can ring pulls. Every fire pit was full of beer cans. There was not one clean site on the entire camp ground. We drove away and camped elsewhere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Trojandog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parker Canyon Lake also viewed

 

Been to Parker Canyon Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing