We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIghly recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Patagonia B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We originally went to the Spirit Tree Inn because we had heard about the Amish barn that is onsight that they have restored. It was great, and enjoyed Tom's history of how they got it and what they did to restore it. The hospitality of Tom and Mary Jane was wonderful. They have a great knowledge about the history of the area, and could give us great ideas about things we could do in the area. The food we ate there and at the restaurant, The Gathering Grounds, is some of the best food we have ever eaten. It is very quiet and peaceful there, and just a great place to "get away from it all". I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Patagonia.
Dawn and Doug Sorensen
Phoenix, AZ

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank familysorensen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2008

May 2008
A friend and I went to AZ Wine Country Memorial Day weekend and stayed at The Spirit Tree Inn. It backs up to the beautiful national forest and its setting is beautiful. No TV or phone and that added to a total escape from the hectic everyday pace. Mary Jane, Tom and Joe could not have been nicer. Tom's gourmet breakfast was a fabulous treat. We stayed a while after breakfast and had a terrific conversation with Mary Jane. She is a jewel.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AC-MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Okay, quiet bed and breakfast. Not your 'typical' stay. The kids enjoyed the outdoors, but hated the breakfasts (however hubby & I enjoyed it). FYI -no TV or phone-
The shower in our room was literally a 'trickle' ... water pressure was unusually low. We had 5 in our family who needed to shower & get ready for a wedding -so this was an inconvenience we didn't anticipate. Once the shower got going, it flooded the bathroom(?!) . . .
We stayed in the Sonoran Bunkhouse. The exterior of the bunkhouse is not impressive at all, and could use some landscaping and/or walkways, and some TLC. Does not do justice for the quaint interior. (However, dishes and appliances in the kitchenette were old and dirty.)
Owners are very friendly; however, overly chatty and can absorb some of your time-- would I stay there again? Probably not-

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phoenixchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

With all the five star reviews, I was expecting a bit more than I actually found at the Spirit Tree. Several miles outside of Patagonia, it's in a nice, but not dramatic location. Other than the tree itself, the views are unimpressive but pleasant. The main negative about this place is the fact that it is a bit rough around the edges which is why I almost felt it was more akin to a dude ranch than a B&B. Some of the fixtures and furniture are way past their prime. OTOH, the breakfasts were first-rate which is what keeps me from giving only 3 stars. Also be forewarned that the owner is a bit talkative which was not a problem although some folks might prefer to be left alone. I would stay there again. The Patagonia area is beautiful and a unique part of Arizona.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

This is a fabulous find. Peaceful, old worldly and with excellent service. A lovely old adobe ranch with a magnificent cotton wood tree is swing under. Awaken to a gourmet breakfast and peace.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fergie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

My wife and I recently enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Spirit Tree. The setting couldn't have been nicer: peaceful, quiet, in a beautiful setting amidst red rock mountains. Great hiking trails nearby. The historic inn was charming, the bed was the most comfortable I've slept on in years. Tom, Joe and Mary Jane were great hosts. Tom's breakfasts alone were worth the price of the stay. We love Patagonina, love the Sprit Tree!

DS
Langley, Washington

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank whidbey_islanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

The Spirit Tree Inn was absolutely wonderful! The grounds were spacious and quiet. Their history in the valley is complimented by all the surroundings. A very nice change from the rat-race of the city. The accommodations were cozy, and the hospitality was exceptional. I would definitely go again.
John and Janeen

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank twentyyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patagonia
17.5 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
17.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
25.0 mi away
Garden Place Suites
Garden Place Suites
#3 of 22 in Sierra Vista
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#4 of 7 in Nogales
45 reviews
17.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Nogales
19.4 mi away
Tubac Country Inn
Tubac Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Tubac
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3 Harshaw Creek Rd, Patagonia, AZ 85624-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Patagonia
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Patagonia
Price Range: £96 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Tree Inn Bed And Breakfast Patagonia, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing