We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Really Get Away from it ALL”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Patagonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tree of Life Center US
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patagonia
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place to Really Get Away from it ALL”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Been here several times over the past years for fasting, and other programs. Fasting is about not just abstaining from food but all sorts of vices, including TV, Internet, McDonalds, etc. There is area that has WIFI, btw. It makes a HUGE impact to not have these in your environment especially when you are fasting, but even on a vacation. If a person really needs the tv, internet and McDonalds, etc. then they can usually just stay home and take a week off work. Not the same thing at all by coming here. Some things are real subtle but something inside you just slows down, and relaxes.

Regarding previous comments about 'hippies': Anyone is free to judge anyone else, and yes the media and our culture thrives on phhhhh but that is such a negative place to live in really. There may or not be a hippie there, but guess what? I heard a rumour that they are not dangerous! The only thing infective is their laughter.. Plus someone told me that they actually are human beings too just expressing themselves in their own way, living their own life. Oh, wait a minute, just like the rest of us 'normal' humans.. Come on people, get out of the hate and judgement mode and grow up. Enjoy life and each other!

Great Spa! Front desk staff is good! Food programs are also excellent - learn a fascinating and ultra-creative way to prepare foods. Scenery is amazing, sunsets are out of this world. Fascinating wild life - great for photos. Great hiking. They have weekly 'parties' on Friday, singing and dancing, no one feels left out and you actually remember what it is like to be a human being again, - without the technology (ie. you learn how to communicate face to face with people again and hang out with them instead of your computer).

Room Tip: Garden House is really nice has kitchen, laundry, liv room, etc. Or the private casitas with ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SoleilVert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    6
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
3
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I was really excited to go to Dr. Cousens resort but left disheartened. Found the "resort" to be cold and not a nice property for the price you pay. When you get there they push more services to buy which you end up spending so much you could have traveled the world. I don'tt think the juicing was for me and I think that is something they should have respected and recognized in the doctor visit. I was miserable emotionally and physically and I am a very active person so was disgusted laying around and getting colonics because didn't know you had to do your own enema until you get there! They wouldn't let me switch from the juicing to the vegan live food! I was expecting a beautiful layout of this property but it was a run down isolation camp and the employees/volunteers do not live in a nice dorm building! The raw food was good for the few days I had it. I spent way too much money here to try to feel good and be happy considering how miserable I was and would have rather gone to a nice rejuvenation center. Dr. Cousens also says one thing one day and the next day he has a different theory and keeps changing and is too strict with some things. Eat healthy be healthy. This cleanse ruined me for the worse and what a gloomy depressing resort to be at when doing something like this.

Room Tip: the orchid house is nicer than the adobe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
42 Thank BravoBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm beach grdns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I just completed the diabetes program with the juice fast, for 7 days , for me was very strong but it works, I return home with more energy I learned a lot with with the raw live vegan foods. The staff is always happy and I always get respond to any question. The spa very professionals
The manager Johsua always there doing the best, helping the group to have a good stay. He is the best. The ladies at the front desk, too. usually you don't get answer for you phone calls because I think they are really busy. I stay in the Orchard house, wich I think was very good choice . The food fantastic, every day vegan living food. The most important thing for me was that I came back with less numbers in my daily sugar check ups. I will continue in touch with them for the next months to see how I doing with the sugar levels. If someone need more information about it please write to me . madreselva1@att.net
I planing to come back as soon I can.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank madreselva d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Tree of Life Center US, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Hi M!

Thanks for the great review! It was such a joy having you for Dr. Cousens' Diabetes Recovery Program. We're so glad you were successful in reversing your condition! Please continue to check in throughout your year of support. We want to hear all about your continued progress.

Best to you and your's!

Joshua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

I just completed the Spiritual Fasting Program and I would highly recommend it to first-time fasters. It's a structured juice fast that lasts 7 days. When the group broke the fast we ate only what they served at the cafe which is 100% raw live vegan foods and they portioned it out for so we didnt inadvertently overeat.

Each day I was there i got to attend up to 3 meditation sessions a day, one Kali tree yoga session a day, plus various spiritual ceremonies like a sweat lodge. Everything but the morning check-in meetings were optional.

The staff was very attentive and were quick to respond to any needs that arose. I didnt have a car with me so I got a lot of walking in. It's about 1/2 mile from the Oasis (registration and spa area) up to the cafe and casitas (lodging). The walk is uphill to the cafe so, if you think that might hinder you, I'd suggest bringing/renting a car.

The rooms in the casitas are double occupancy-two single beds, and they have a decent sized closet. Very simple. No tvs, no radios, no clocks. There are four single bathrooms that are shared amongst the folks staying at the casitas so coordinating shower times can be tricky - it's best to get up early (6am) and shower then.

The last thing ill mention is the spa--it's wonderful. I had three treatments there but my favorite was the crystal glow treatment. There's more info about that on the website but everyone shod treat themselves to I e of those; be sure to ask for Kim. She's a truly talented masseuse.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jzamostny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua S, Manager at Tree of Life Center US, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Hi JZ,

It was great to have you with us for the Spiritual Fast. The Spiritual Fast is such a special program, and there's no substitute for participating in a fast with Dr. Cousens' and Shanti's guidance. We do hope you'll join us for another Spiritual Fast, a Detox, or a Holistic Vegan Vacation in the near future.

Best of luck!

Joshua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

If you are looking for a "retreat" and you are not a hippie straight from the 70's this may not be the place for you. It is very simple, no luxury. If you are going into the casitas which are the most economical (nearly $13,000 for a full program) be prepared to not only share bathrooms but walk outside to get to them. It's a step up from camping. Let me tell you, it is dark in the middle of the night in the desert. The food is amazing and the spa practitioners are wonderful. The surrounding environment is stunning. They do help many people heal which is more important than anything material, but there are things they could do to make it more comfortable and enjoyable, especially for what they charge.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank Shana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palo alto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Okay so I've wanted to go there like 20 years, I'm glad I waited because the Casitas have been renovated, very simple but sweet. Tile floors clean actually amazing cleaning staff wanted to bring Mary and her sister back. Okay the culinary Angels to prepare the food are absolutely amazing, most are sweet and helpful and the food is pretty over the top, also garden staff are great/they pick the veggies and you eat them about two or three hours later talk about fresh :-) amazing landscapes and scenery.
Caution they use salt which I do not use and don't recommend that someone's detoxing and sometimes the weather can be funky so prepare for hot cold rain etc. :-) also do not think I would recommend staying anywhere except Casitas. Also take comfy walking shoes. Can be pricey depending upon which program, and if you have abundance challenges maybe consider optimum health San Diego........ also much better than Hippocrates Palm Beach in terms of food, scenery venue campus etc. specially classes :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank travelslotsPaloAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I am glad to choose Tree of life. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Especially the staff in the kitchen. they work tirelessly but always have a smile on their faces. I have been here for the spiritual fasting, zero point and conscious eating 1 program for 3 weeks. This has been a life changing experience for me. especially the zero point program which helped me to eliminate the unwanted thought forms so i can focus my energy towards positive goals. we all come with some emotional baggage due to our past experiences. zero point helped me to remove the pain that i was holding on to. now my outlook towards life has changed so much. I am more happy and peaceful inside. and external events don't effect me as they used to before.

The accommodation was decent. and they clean the rooms everyday. I like the fact that there were no distractions like TV/ phone or internet in the room, which makes us to come out and meet other people. or spend time to revisit our inner selves. I loved the view i was surrounded with. the mountains, the sunset it was beautiful. I definitely felt very spiritually connected to this place.

Tip - make sure to close your room door at all times, i opened it for a few hours and in the night i saw some bugs come in. If you keep your door closed you should be good.

I hope this review helps others.

Regards,
Nimisha

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Nimishareddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patagonia
17.4 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
24.8 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
42 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nogales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Spirit Tree Inn Bed and Breakfast
24.4 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
19.1 mi away
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree of Life Center US? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree of Life Center US

Property: Tree of Life Center US
Address: 686 Harshaw Rd, Patagonia, AZ 85624-6028 (Formerly Tree of Life Rejuvenation Center)
Region: United States > Arizona > Patagonia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Patagonia
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tree of Life Center US is an Oasis for awakening on the physical, emotional, mental & spiritual levels for both inspiration & rejuvenation. The Tree of Life was founded in 1993 by its Director Gabriel Cousens, M.D., M.D.(H), Diplomate of the American Board of Holistic Medicine. Tree of Life is a Healing/ Rejuvenation Center with Juice Fasting & Detoxification Retreats, Diabetes Recovery Programs, Conscious Eating Live Food Prep Courses, Vegan Vacations, and Live Food Retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Rejuvenation Hotel Patagonia
Tree Of Life Center US Patagonia, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing