We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ecclectic Gem in Payson, Az.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Payson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful, interesting and comfortable home nestled beside a creek. You could spend a week exploring all of the interesting nooks and crannies when you are not eating some of the best food you have ever eaten. Maggie, your owner/hosttess is a wonderful cook, gracious hostess as well as being a truly down to earth friendly person. I will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hlange2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our first time at a bed & breakfast so we weren't sure what to expect, but I have to say we absolutely loved the VRRHBB. Maggie is a wonderful chef and prepared an excellent breakfast both mornings. I would have to suggest the Cheese and Cracker tray if you stay not only is this tray very large it is very delicious as well. My party of 4 adults couldn't finish so the left overs were given to the Javalina and Deer. This B&B was like home away from home "WI-FI, Cable, Free long distance calls if needed, Private Bath, stocked mini fridge, snacks, a large collection of DVDs, Flat Screen TV, Private Deck, Jacuzzi & Spa" just to name a few. The views were just amazing.

I would strongly suggest a visit to the Verde River Rock House Bed & Breakfast. Thank you Maggie and Steve for sharing your wonderful home. May you be blessed abundantly!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This "B&B" is so much more and is really a home from home. Maggie , the owner, really makes you so welcome and is expert at just helping when you need something, never intrusive and lets you have as much privacy as you want. No other guests stay during your time - the whole of the bottom floor is yours for the duration. The deck just next to your sitting room is fully equipped with hammock, loungers, fully stocked fridge and BBQ.

The food here is delicious, breakfast is cooked to order for the time you want it and of very good quality and quantity, no complaints. We had Maggies appetisers in the evenings and quite frankly these sufficed as the evening meal, such is the quantity presented. All the food is freshly prepared, made with high quality produce and cooked healthily - no complaints again.

The important thing for us was to get some good quality sleep to get over the jet lag and this was all made possible by the very comfortable bed with memory foam mattress for the perfect nights sleep.

A great place, perfect hostess and wonderful food so if we return to Arizona, we'll return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarkUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A BNB with a few other guests? NOPE. Steve and Maggie Evans have created a private, unique BNB. Only your party & them. Complete downstairs bathroom, bedroom, livingroom (w/fireplace, flat screen TV 100 DVDs,) private deck and all access to hiking along the river. No wonder they were nominated...and won a Travel Channel, "Best of award". The food, Maggie, was unbelievable!!!!! Lamb, with a salad that was to die for...Christy and I still argue what was the best! I say the sausage in the am then she says the sour dough french toast! Steve...you have done a beautiful job creating and STILL creating this place. Nice attention to detail! That must be Maggie? :-) Really, jack hammering through the rocks?! I now know why you have weddings here...ya THAT conversation came up during our stay...thanks guys :-) Everyone who comes close to this place needs to stay a night or more! If not you're missing out! Oh ya someone else on TripADV said " You have to see it to believe it! "Ditto" Thank you so much -Bill & Christy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill85210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

As said in the title" the best bed and breakfast" hands down. Just go to their website, sit back and cruze thru it. What ever you see that you like, it is a hundred times better being there doing it. Maggie and Steve are the best host you will ever meet.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My wife and I love deluxe resorts and great service. The setting was outstanding. We were the only guest which is the way it is set up. Maggie could not have been friendlier and more accomodating and she is very pet friendly. The food was outstanding----the pictures don't do it justice for it is better than it looks and it looks great. The food is actually cooked healthy, too, which is a plus but the taste cannot be beat. We had shrimp cargot, lamb cycles, french toast, salmon, etc. Javelinas come right up to the edge and feed, which is really nice to watch. Combine a Ritz, a beautiful private home and a gourmet restaurant with an owner like Maggie and you wont ever want to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Tough to beat this package. Very Nice Home, Very Nice People, Great Food, Hot Tub & Sauna. Maggie has everything here. The room had chocolate covered strawberries (REALLY GOOD ONES) refrigerator full of water, wine, beer or whatever you wanted to drink. Homemade muffins and an assortment of things to get fat on. Maggie managed to make all the meals with Ultra Low Salt by using different herbs and it was great. You'll wonder why you keep cooking with salt after you taste these meals. Every sort of outdoor entertainment is right there, I have stayed at many B&B's but this one was the most fun.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hardslice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
15.9 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#1 of 12 in Payson
403 reviews
4.8 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#2 of 12 in Payson
431 reviews
20.4 mi away
Christopher Creek Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
350 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Payson
Comfort Inn Payson
#4 of 12 in Payson
111 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Payson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 602 West Eleanor Drive, Payson, AZ 85541-2387
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Payson
Price Range: £133 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A splendid oasis from the heat and havoc of the city. Experience a home like no other, truly private, romantic and magical – “a little piece of heaven in the heart of the forest.” The Rock House is extremely private, secluded and relaxing allowing it's guests to truly experience “being in another world.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verde River Rock House Hotel Payson
Verde River Rock House b&b
Verde River Rock House Bed And Breakfast Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing