We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Payson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Payson B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday. Wanted peace and quiet and that is exactly what we got! We stayed in the A frame cottage that was fully equipped even with food. Cannot wait for our next visit. Perfect weekend getaway....cannot wait to escape the summer heat to Payson !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stay at LOTS of B&Bs and even after a good one I am usually too lazy--I mean busy!--to write a review, but the Verde River Rock House is just too awesome not to share. We stayed in the casita, which is just darling: lovely beveled and stained glass accents, travertine tile, carved wood, beautiful (and sturdy) sleigh bed, not to mention that it is ridiculously well stocked with drinks and snacks and includes every desirable amenity. The evening appetizer is very generous as well as yummy; we had the artichoke dip. Breakfast was equally delightful with blueberry streusel muffins just bursting with blueberries. Descending the big rock out back brought us down to a lovely little path where we could stroll along next to the river, listening to the water and birdsongs. Maggie is the best host ever. She is so laid-back and easy-going you can't help but relax, but she must be a perfectionist in disguise because everything really was PERFECT.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cytohead66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We visited this B & B as a couple with mother in law to give her a special little get away from the Valley heat. It was perfect. We enjoyed the river-side location, the covered deck to hear the water and watch the birds and critters. Maggie was extremely flexible with our dietary restraints and provided exceptionally delicious meals and service. The main house where we stayed was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. There is a 1/2 bath downstairs with the 2 bedrooms and a full bath upstairs as well. Great alternative to the busy Sedona scene!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherryLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Tripadvisor hit a home run on this one! We wanted to go somewhere quiet without children. My girlfriend and I stayed at the casita next to the bed and breakfast. This little casita had everything in it...stocked bar and refrigerator, DirecTV, snacks, and was so well adorned with that great pine feeling! The bed and breakfast is tastefully appointed with wonderful "down home" decorations throughout the home. Maggie is a delightful cook and pastry chef--her breakfasts' were amazing! Nestled on the side of a mountain, the river is only about 40 feet below and a wonderful sound to listen to with the cabin windows open while star gazing! Maggie truly cares about her guests' enjoyment--it is easy to see. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful, interesting and comfortable home nestled beside a creek. You could spend a week exploring all of the interesting nooks and crannies when you are not eating some of the best food you have ever eaten. Maggie, your owner/hosttess is a wonderful cook, gracious hostess as well as being a truly down to earth friendly person. I will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlange2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was our first time at a bed & breakfast so we weren't sure what to expect, but I have to say we absolutely loved the VRRHBB. Maggie is a wonderful chef and prepared an excellent breakfast both mornings. I would have to suggest the Cheese and Cracker tray if you stay not only is this tray very large it is very delicious as well. My party of 4 adults couldn't finish so the left overs were given to the Javalina and Deer. This B&B was like home away from home "WI-FI, Cable, Free long distance calls if needed, Private Bath, stocked mini fridge, snacks, a large collection of DVDs, Flat Screen TV, Private Deck, Jacuzzi & Spa" just to name a few. The views were just amazing.

I would strongly suggest a visit to the Verde River Rock House Bed & Breakfast. Thank you Maggie and Steve for sharing your wonderful home. May you be blessed abundantly!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This "B&B" is so much more and is really a home from home. Maggie , the owner, really makes you so welcome and is expert at just helping when you need something, never intrusive and lets you have as much privacy as you want. No other guests stay during your time - the whole of the bottom floor is yours for the duration. The deck just next to your sitting room is fully equipped with hammock, loungers, fully stocked fridge and BBQ.

The food here is delicious, breakfast is cooked to order for the time you want it and of very good quality and quantity, no complaints. We had Maggies appetisers in the evenings and quite frankly these sufficed as the evening meal, such is the quantity presented. All the food is freshly prepared, made with high quality produce and cooked healthily - no complaints again.

The important thing for us was to get some good quality sleep to get over the jet lag and this was all made possible by the very comfortable bed with memory foam mattress for the perfect nights sleep.

A great place, perfect hostess and wonderful food so if we return to Arizona, we'll return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
4.8 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#3 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#2 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Verde River Rock House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 602 West Eleanor Drive, Payson, AZ 85541-2387
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A splendid oasis from the heat and havoc of the city. Experience a home like no other, truly private, romantic and magical – “a little piece of heaven in the heart of the forest.” The Rock House is extremely private, secluded and relaxing allowing it's guests to truly experience “being in another world.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Verde River Rock House Hotel Payson
Verde River Rock House b&b
Verde River Rock House Bed And Breakfast Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing