We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Served it's purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Served it's purpose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

The gals at the front desk were helpful regarding recommending where to eat in town. The room was fine, nothing fancy but we just needed a place to crash and shower so we weren't expecting much. Liked the fact that it had a mini fridge. The location was perfect for us since we were driving around quite a bit, it's right off the 260, very near the beeline hwy. The breakfast was ok, oatmeal, mini muffins, waffles, toast, cereal, oj. The coffee was too weak for me but there's a gas station right across the street that has the super bolt coffee.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squishy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    115
    47
    29
    15
See reviews for
89
219
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Had a very pleasant and nice stay at the hotel...
- Nice, pretty clean, spacious room (we had a non-smoking deluxe with 2 queens)
- Good location (about 1/2 mi east of the 260/87 intersection, on the north side of the road) - do not believe Google Map, which has it way more east than it really is
- helpful staff

Amenities
- Continental breakfast - nothing fancy, typical fare...
- free wireless internet
- restaurant menus and things to do information in the lobby
- fridge
- amenities didn't take advantage of, but saw they had - gas fireplace, dvd player, in room coffee machine, heated pool, accepts pets (for a fee), computer in lobby

Drawbacks
- the heat timer thing in the bathroom did not work
- had trouble with reservations because of using a discount website (Expedia-they were having trouble with the website lately), use the inn's website instead for reservations, only able to get a room because someone left early
- dated decor

Other
- they offer wine or champagne for those in luxury rooms
- they offer a coupon to Fargo's Steakhouse (they didn't offer it to me, but others in line before me)
- told us the continental breakfast was in the lobby, but when going to the lobby the next morning, they had moved it to the clubhouse
- quiet rooms

Overall - nice, nothing fancy...if you're just looking for a good place to crash for the night or several nights, this is your place..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

I would not call this hotel majestic, but it was fine for the price. We stayed in deluxe queen rooms so this review applies to those rooms.

Pros:
- Well-priced
- Very comfy beds
- Fireplaces in rooms (We did not use.)
- Ceiling fans in rooms
-Relatively clean
- Quiet rooms

Cons:
-Lost our reservation so just managed to snag last available room. You should call to confirm if you order from secondary website (expedia, orbitz, etc.)
- Rooms could use updating.
- Landscaping has weeds growing all over.

Overall, our stay was fine and we would stay her again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crgallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

My Husband and I went to the Majestic Mountain Inn again.We Love it there. We had a wonderful time as always. It is becoming our Home away from Home. We always stay in the rooms with the jaccuzi and fireplace but I have stayed in others. It its a very remote place but in the middle of town. The Staff there goes beyond perfection. They aim to please and always do. They always go beyond my expectations. We go there very often... it is a great place to get away from it all of a big city like Phoenix.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannkirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed here last night. Unfortunately, the power went out right as we got into the room. It was out for about two hours and then came back on. The cable was out all night and morning. We wanted to check the weather and get some local news but the radio did not work as well. The beds are as described in the other reviews here, old and very soft. If you are used to a firm mattress, you will have a hard time sleeping. The "Fireplace" is good heat source but nothing more. You can hardly see the flames through the glass. The Jacuzzi is the real selling point here. It is the best in-room jacuzzi we have ever used, very spacious and worked well. When we left in the morning we did complain about the cable and power outage. The young lady working at the desk was very nice and apologized. The manager, however could care less, she said " Its not our fault the power and cable went out" and refused a discount. The owner did refund us 10% and we were happy with that, it seemed fair. Hope this helps.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spiral9fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

We have stayed 3 times now, last time for our 20th anniversary and my husbands 41st birthday, the service and the room are great, this is absolutely the best place in town to stay, we have stayed at others in Payson but none compared to this so we keep coming back. The luxury room with the fireplace and jacuzzi are perfect for the romantic get away!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskadaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cave creek, az
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

What a gem!!!!!!!!!!!! We are staying here right now for our 2 year anni. and let me tell you their luxury room is incredible! Not to mention being young....money is tight....they just happen to have a barbecue grill...cooked up steaks we bought at the store and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schumachers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.8 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#3 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#2 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
1.3 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#12 of 12 in Payson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Mountain Inn

Property: Majestic Mountain Inn
Address: 602 E State Highway 260, Payson, AZ 85541-4935
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Majestic Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Mountain Inn welcomes vacationing guests and business persons to Payson and offers exceptional hospitality and impeccable service that will assure a relaxing and memorable experience. Here, the spirit of west beckons the adventurer with endless opportunities to explore the picturesque mountains, streams and canyons.For the business traveler our central location will be a convenient departure point for making calls and a perfect place to relax after a productive days work. Our superb location at the base of the Mogollon Rim is surrounded by stunning natural beauty and has been described as the gateway to the White Mountains. Majestic Mountain Inn is truly a one-of-a-kind Inn. Stay with us and experience the relaxing atmosphere nestled in the midst of the largest Ponderosa Pine forest on the planet. Payson was originally a small ranching community, but now counts itself as one of the top destinations in Arizona for vacations due to its picturesque mountain backdrop, 300 days of sunshine and friendly locals. From the edge of the Rim to high desert topography, Payson offers an abundance of natural beauty as well as a variety of attractions, history and activities for guests of all ages. At Payson Roundup's annual awards Majestic Mountain Inn once again earned the distinction of "Best of Rim Country" a prestigious award given for hotel category. "We are so honored once again, to receive this prestigious award and we hope to make this year an even better one for our guests, our community, and our grand state of Arizona"Stay with us and experience a most relaxing atmosphere in the midst of the pine forest and enjoy our exceptional hospitality!"The staff at Majestic Mountain Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Majestic Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Mountain Hotel Payson
Majestic Mountain Payson
Majestic Mountain Inn Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing