We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place!”
Review of Grey Hackle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Payson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Hackle Lodge
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and I went back again...for about the 5th or 6th time. Why? We love it! I will never understand any of the bad reviews. This time we had a few issues on our first day, but they were pretty quickly resolved and the manager was very apologetic and very nice! Thanks for explaining things to us, Brendon, and also for the updates on changes that may be coming! We look forward to staying again soon. Even though it's warm during the day in the summer, it cools down really fast at night! Woods Canyon Lake is not too far from there, and it's a beautiful lake! Take a trip to Grey Hackle! You'll love it! I promise.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonysgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed in the same cabin we did last year and everything was perfect! The cabin was clean and had everything that we needed. The kitchen was fully stocked and everything worked perfectly. The landscaping was beautiful, AND we woke up in the morning to "breakfast with the deer" ... there were 3 deer 15 ft away from our front porch!!! Great place to stay and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJ-Hanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

A group of friends and my boyfriend and I stayed a Grey Hackle Lodge for the weekend. We had such a great time! The cabins are clean and cozy and the property is full of trees and very peaceful. The thing I liked best was that the cabins are all set up in a circle with a common area in the middle. This allowed each couple to have separate cabins but still be close together. We had a blast telling stories around the campfire at night and even made friends with some of the other guests. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleeblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed in Cabin # 11
Bedsheets were "used" and "stained" prior to use
Coffee grounds were left in the carafe from an old customer, and looked like moss covered slimy blueberries. Had to wash and boil it before use!
Cot frame was broken, so our little guy slept on the mattress on the floor
Sofa sleeper was broken
Refrigerator was full of water on the bottom. We wiped it up before putting in our food--but it dripped the whole time onto our bread and food items. The shelves were all broken off the door.
Mat at the front door, probable wasnt ever picked up and shook out.
Rugs were filthy and the cabin has a very sour smell
Windows were filthy
It was the dirtiest most disappointing place I ever stayed at. How can they stay in business?

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roseann2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreyHackle, Owner at Grey Hackle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Hello.

I would like to respond to this review with just 5 simple comments:

1- There were people in this Cabin that departed the same day that these new guests were arriving and they had a great time with zero complaints.
2- We have new guests in this Cabin that specifically requested it and have booked for 2 weeks.
3- Had we been notified of any would-be concerns we'd have promptly and happily addressed and remedied the best we could.
4- If it was so bad why would they stay even one night, let alone two nights? How could they stay if the concerns were real, especially given the "completely unacceptable" claim?
5- We received a scathing email from this customer with an specific threat of "give us our stay for free or else".

I hope any potential guest will look at our other reviews and just think this particular one through and come to your own conclusions. We are not perfect, but we do provide a nice place and are working hard at making continual improvements.

Thank you for reading our response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Cabin was more like a shed. No A/C in late June. Got close to 90 degrees in the afternoon. TV didn't work. Bed was uncomfortable. Camping would have been more comfortable. With the price of this place, I could have stayed at one finest resorts in the state of Arizona. This place never again!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian_White3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGreyHackle, Manager at Grey Hackle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Hello. As you can see this review is out of character with our other reviews. I'd like to respond to the comments made point by point so that nothing is missed.

1- "Cabin is more like a shed" - While this guest did choose one of our smallest cabins it is not a shed. It has a kitchenette, a bathroom, etc. We have current full pictures showing the entirety of each unit on our website.
2- "No A/C in late June...90 degrees" - No lodges up here have air condition as it rarely ever hits 90 degrees and at night it usually drops to the 50s. We do provide fans if they are requested.
3- "TV did not work" - The TVs at this lodge come with DVD players, and we loan out 300 different movies for free at the front desk. Our website clearly states there are no TV channels.
4- "For the price could've stayed at finest" - The "finest" places are on average double to quadruple any rates here.

In summary- We are of course not happy that this guest did not have a nice time, but I think this is more a function of a guest having different expectations than what we actually provide. We are not for everyone, nor do we pretend to be. However, the overwhelming majority of our great guests have a terrific time and some even come here purposefully to not have TV channels.

Thanks for reading our reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Living in central Phoenix, the Grey Hackle Lodge is a perfect getaway for an extended vacation or a one-night escape. The Lodge is just a 15 minute drive from Payson, yet once there you feel the seclusion of the woods with the Lodge now off the Christopher Creek loop. "The Hackle" is roomy, clean and convenient as they supply the silverware and cooking equipment you'll need for a home-cooked meal. Grills are out in the common area to cook the fish you caught at one of the many nearby lakes while you mingle with other vacationers. Basic amenities are all supplied from dish soap to toilet paper to free dvd rentals. The Hackle is very dog-friendly with their fenced-in dog-run so your furry family is welcome. Two restaurants and the Tall Pines Market all within a stone's throw of the Lodge to purchase food, drink, newspaper or fishing poles you may have forgotten to bring.
Bring a flashlight for that late night walk and enjoy!
Ingrid
Phoenix, AZ

Room Tip: Make reservations by phone not online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1bigmedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My husband and I have been going to Christopher creek even before we were married. (some 28 years now). We are never disappointed. Grey Hackle has always been our "get away" as the atmosphere is quiet, fishing and restraunts are within walking distance. The restraunt right across the street is small but the view of hummingbirds is huge! I recommend you get a cozy cabin for those escapes from the kids and other distractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin. They are small, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAALLISON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
4.7 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#1 of 12 in Payson
405 reviews
18.1 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#2 of 12 in Payson
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christopher Creek Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
353 reviews
18.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Payson
Comfort Inn Payson
#4 of 12 in Payson
111 reviews
18.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Payson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Hackle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Hackle Lodge

Address: 1441 E Christopher Creek Loop, Christopher Creek, Payson, AZ 85541-3088
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Payson
Price Range: £45 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grey Hackle Lodge Cabins nestled in the mountains of Central Arizona in wonderful Christopher Creek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grey Hackle Hotel Payson
Grey Hackle Lodge Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing