We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the grey hackle”
Review of Grey Hackle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Payson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grey Hackle Lodge
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time at the grey hackle”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Our friends have been coming here for years. This time we decided to join them. We stayed in cabin #9 which had a nice porch swing. The cabin is small but has everything a person needs. We brought our own food to make breakfast, lunch and bbqd for dinner. The hospitality here is old fashioned and amazing!! We don't normally travel much, but we're now going to try and make it here at least once or twice a year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    15
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

What a place to stay for relaxing, hiking, fishing, and all around fun! We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin and it was completely furnished, very clean, and the owners are so courteous. They offered over 300 movies to watch free if we wanted them. We just needed to bring the food and extra clothes. All the cabins are in a circle. Everyone got together at the hugh firepit and visited, played games, etc. We didn't want to leave!!! The location is perfect for hiking trails. There are several lakes within a 45 minute drive for fishing. We had a outdoor grill, picnic table, swing, etc. at each cabin. Everyone should come here!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Girls trip in the middle of July and the Grey Hackle was the perfect place for it. We got caught in a rain storm our first afternoon, went fishing at Woods Canyon Lake the next day (Also getting caught in the rain) and just relaxed on the third day. Cabin 10 was perfect for the 3 of us. Loved watching the squirrels and birds and getting to know some of our neighbors. We will definately be back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeJ31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the cabin. Though we did not use the kitchen it was nice to know we did had options. Great location between Payson and the Rim. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband and I just went to Grey Hackle again, for about the 5th time! We sooo love it! The management is always super nice, and willing to get you anything you need. Our cabin was clean and ready to stay in, and everything worked properly! We will never stop going to this place, as it is always relaxing and quiet. There's nothing quite like it to get away from city life for a few days!
I would again reccommend this place to everyone who needs to get away from the city to relax and enjoy the sounds of nature!
We are thinking of going again in the fall, but since Grey Hackle is closed, we would stay at Christopher Creek Lodge, just up the road...ran by the same people. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonysgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed at the Gray Hackle in August and had a marvelous time. I felt like I was living a children's fair tale. These are cute little cottages right in the middle of the forest. Out Cabin (#9) had a little porch swing that we watched humming birds and blue jays from. Our cabin was cute and cozy. The ambiance and "village" feel is warm and welcoming. If you are looking for something different and want to feel young again you'll just love it!.

Room Tip: They have pretty good pictures on the website. Our cabin was small, but cute and cozy.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Internet pic of this place are extremely deceiving as well as the information. Cabins are furnished w/older than old furniture(which was a couch), carpet in cabin come on, screens with tape to seal holes, fridge from 80's that has it's own constant sounds all night,(had to unplug it and put our food back in our own coolers) hot water that runs out, bathroon ceilng vent, with no cover...could go on...but you all get the pic and for the price ...and lastly the location...your facing the main hyway and next door the trailer park of local residents up at crack of dawn -talking to their neighbors about whatever, like I want to hear all that, and running their 4 wheelers next to your bedroom window. Wouldn't suggest this place to anyone. total rip off and their owners etc think it's picture perfect and when you give them your opinion, they are extremely defensive, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Rudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
4.7 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
381 reviews
18.1 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
408 reviews
18.4 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
79 reviews
17.9 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
246 reviews
19.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Hackle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Hackle Lodge

Property: Grey Hackle Lodge
Address: 1441 E Christopher Creek Loop, Christopher Creek, Payson, AZ 85541-3088
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Grey Hackle Lodge Cabins nestled in the mountains of Central Arizona in wonderful Christopher Creek. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grey Hackle Hotel Payson
Grey Hackle Lodge Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing