We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christopher Creek Family Friendly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christopher Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Christopher Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christopher Creek Family Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Had a wonderful time with wonderful views on the creek. Cozy by the fireplace and the kids loved the loft. Kids loved being able to fish right there and the poles and bait were free and supplied by the front desk! Restaurants are in walking distance. They even had a dog park for our pup! Campfires at night just finished a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: We preferred the cabins along the creek but have stayed in the others before and all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    72
    15
    15
    17
See reviews for
145
137
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I absolutely love this place. We've stayed here 3 or 4 times now, and every time it's been spotless, quiet and accomodating. The grounds are very well kept and the trail bunk cabins that we stayed in were very clean. There are little charcoal grills and picnic tables at each cabin along with outdoor chairs. It's fully equipped with everything you would need for a week or weekend. We just bring our food and drinks and the rest is provided. We were only 1.5 hours from the valley, but felt like we were in the deep woods. The staff are all very friendly and it's always easy check in/check out. The previous reviewer has it right...It's like camping, but more comfortable...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

This place was amazing! We stayed overnight here in the Pony Express Motel this past weekend, coming from Phoenix, and it was like camping with the comforts of home. And the Caretaker was more than accommodating. The rooms were very clean and cozy. The scenery of the property was just breathtaking. After doing some exploring in the afternoon, we found a cozy little spot behinds our rooms (me and my family had 2) where the had tables, a grill, fire pit and a play ground for the kids. The caretaker kept coming over to check in us and see that we had all we needed. We had such a Wonderful experience and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mon4582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Cabin #4 last week, our first visit to this property. This cabin has a separate bedroom with a king bed. There is one night stand and an open shelving unit. A couple of hooks on the wall would’ve been handy for robes or jackets, though. The bathroom had newer tile on the floor and the good-sized shower. There is only liquid soap available at both the sink and shower, so don’t forget your bar soap, if you prefer. The kitchen had an apartment-size electric stove, a full-size refrigerator, a small microwave, a coffee maker and a toaster. The enamel sink had issues – very stained and chipped. The appliances were spotless and the “camping grade” dishware was nicer than I expected. The table with attached benches was a little hard to negotiate, but was sturdy. Overall, the cabin was very clean, although the dark carpet looked a bit worse for the wear. There is somewhat of a tripping hazard with a shallow step from the foyer to the K/LR, as it would be easy to overlook. The lighting was a “Goldilocks” issue: the kitchen and table lights were on one switch, therefore very bright together and the floor lamp bulb was so dim as to be useless; nothing “just right.” The bedroom and bathroom lighting were also dim. There is Wi-Fi, but it is only available in limited spots on the property, not including the cabins. The back porch is the full length of the cabin and has 2 chairs and a wooden bench. There is no front porch. Only the cabins are situated right on the creek and there is easy access to the water from Cabin #4 and the adjacent cabins. The cabins are less than 50 yds. from the main road, with only the creek and a few trees as buffers. Since we were there on weekdays in mid-September, there wasn’t much traffic. I imagine it might be noisy during the summer months and weekends.
There is a lot of info on the lodge’s channel on the TV – over 40 minutes’ worth – and you have to watch it all to glean what you need. One thing specifically mentioned was the local fire department’s phone number; it’s a local 10-digit number, not 911. It would be nice if that number were posted somewhere in the cabin. It would also be nice if the office/contact numbers were posted or listed somewhere in the cabin. We had a couple of minor issues that required a walk to the office, which is not staffed 24 hrs.
This property has several types of accommodations which are situated close together. For example, the cabins are about 15 ft. apart. But the acreage is heavily wooded, so that eases any crowded feeling. We had plenty of birds and squirrels to watch and even saw a doe and fawn near the office one afternoon. All in all, the lodge suited our needs for a short woodsy getaway.

Room Tip: Check out the website thoroughly. There are several types of accommodations available at a variety o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We loved the lodge! It was an amazing vacation for us and we are definitely thinking about coming back next year! We had a family (and close friend) get together at the lodge for a friend’s birthday. The man at the front desk was very friendly and very patient with us, believe me we are difficult sometimes! He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable, he even came out when we were gathered around the fire just to make sure that we didn’t need anything else! The children were very accommodating making sure that our rooms/cabins were well supplied. We will definitely be recommending this place to other friends of ours. Thank you to the Lewis family for such an enjoyable get away!

Room Tip: Cabins on the creek are amazing, you open your front door and there is the creek just past the porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a wonderful lodge to relax, play and enjoy nature in comfort. Our "kids" are two small dogs and they had a great time exploring and walking on the lodge grounds (on leashes of course!). My husband and I had a great time walking the dogs and relaxing as well. The cabin was tidy and clean and the manager and his wife were very friendly and accomodated all our needs. Although it rained most of the time the first couple of days we were there, the cabin was nice and cozy and we could sit on the back porch and watch the rain.

Our cabin was situated creek side and our family enjoyed listening to it day and night. If you're sensitive to sounds at night you may not want this feature but we enjoyed watching and listening to the creek even at night as it lulled us to sleep.

Thank you to the managers Brendan and his wife and staff for making sure our stay was restful and enjoyable. We will be sure to come back and stay at Christopher Creek Lodge soon.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the creek side cabins. This definitely enhanced our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at Christopher Creek last week,last minute and I got the last cabin available.It is so nice to be able to stay at a lodge and be welcomed the way you are by the Lewis family!I love the property,I love the rustic cabins,the serene beauty of the stream that runs through the property...Everything is perfect!This is my second visit while the property has been managed by a young couple that go way above and beyond "customer service"...Brandon came over while I was making a very poor attempt at fire starting,and got an awesome fire going for us! "If" there is anything you need,Brandon is right there and makes you feel VERY welcome!I was very glad to see that they were still there running the lodge and am looking forward to going back soon!I take my grandchildren up from Phoenix and I know its a great experience that they will never forget!Great family place!

Room Tip: Over the years I have stayed in several of the available cabins and have always had an awesome time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
4.7 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#3 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
18.0 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#2 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
18.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Creek Lodge

Property: Christopher Creek Lodge
Address: 1355 E Christopher Creek Loop, Payson, AZ 85541-2218
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original, largest and only lodge right on the banks of Christopher Creek. We hope you'll be a part of the history! "Had a rough day...or a rough week? Get away from it all.. relax on the creek!" New Ownership April, 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Christopher Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Creek Hotel Payson
Christopher Creek Lodge Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing