We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax on the bank of the creek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Christopher Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Relax on the bank of the creek”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our 30th wedding anniversary and we wanted someplace relaxing to spent 4 nights. Having stayed at several other properties in northern Arizona owned by the same owner, we felt very comfortable making reservations for Christopher Creek Lodge. We were not disappointed.

Online reservations were taken care of very professionally with follow-up personalized e-mails (besides the auto-generated confirmation) to answer a few questions. Everything was in order when we arrived -- we could have said "hi, we're ____" and grabbed the key. But we wanted to get some local information from Brendan at the front desk -- he knows the area and what is going on. If you are new tot he ara, plan on spending 5-10 minutes talking to Brendan on your first day. The friendly, family that staffs and runs the place makes staying there a joy. (Did I mention they were friendly?)

Our cabin (Fisherman's) was definitely rustic and older but had been modernized, was very clean, comfortable and fairly well equipped -- exactly as described on their website. The road through the property was narrow, curved, and dirt -- and you had to be careful driving and parking -- but, hey, this is the middle of the forest and that's why you came here, right? The loft looked very cozy and nice, but the stairs are very steep and not for the old -- I took a quick look up there and we stayed downstairs. This cabin had a very small, cramped bathroom but we were told others were larger. There was also a lack of space for storing/hanging clothes, but we found the stairs to the loft made great shelves. Bed was very comfortable, fireplace (Duraflame logs only) worked beautifully -- bring your own logs or buy them there. We spent hours on the porch overlooking the babbling creek -- could even hear it at night with the windows closed.

Our stay was great. On Saturday evening, there was a wedding on the grounds with a loud reception. The policy is quiet time after 10:00 and -- sure enough -- they were shut down just minutes after 10:00. Other than that, it was quiet and relaxing. Many of the other guests had well-behaved dogs -- no problem there. (They do have a small, fenced dog park on the property but it is a bit of a walk from the cabins.) This is a great place to bring your (furry) best friend. And there is a rustic playground for kids with a tire-horse swing you must see to believe.

We will definitely come back to Christopher Creek Lodge. And probably go for the slightly more expensive (and larger) Pioneer cabin. The same owner also has two other similar properties in Christopher Creek. We looked a the other two -- looked nice, but CC Lodge is the one for us!

Room Tip: Cabins are more expensive, but are on the bank of the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david-oberpriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    72
    15
    16
    17
See reviews for
147
138
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My friend was visiting from out of state and I brought my son as well for a boys weekend. We had a great time at the Christopher Creek Lodge. It was the cleanest cabin I have ever stayed in. It was stocked well with all the kitchen items and linens we needed for the weekend. Carpet was new and so was the floor in kitchen and bath. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We did some hiking which was close by. We had a great time away from the valley. I will definitely be back with the entire family this summer. - Craig

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmiloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is our favorite place. We stayed in a cabin over 20 years ago for our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. We have also stayed in the motel which is great for the weekend or just a quick get away. We walked along the creek this time and it was beautiful. Both of the restaurants are within walking distance and have good food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I had a couple of days to celebrate some recent success that was a long time coming and we randomly chose the Christopher Creek Lodge because of something we heard in conversation. We thought that the atmosphere, accommodations and surrounding area were perfect to take away the stresses of the real world and enjoy some peace and quiet. We had already begun to plan our next trip back to the lodge before we even left!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The cabin was simple, functional, next to the tiny creek with no fish. The grounds were ok, a couple of playgrounds, fire pits. Friendly staff. Only real complaint was the price, for this cost the cabin and lodge should be nicer. I don't mind simple and rustic if the price is that way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge M, Owner at Christopher Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
First of all, I would like to thank this guest for their business and choosing to stay with us. With that it should be noted that we have worked extra hard to keep our rates affordable. In over 6 years I think our rates have maybe gone up $10 on a few of the cabins. This is after we added new carpet, new tile, new beds, new kitchen, new couches, flat screen TVs, etc...and upgraded the entire property as well. We've put in well over a million dollars in the last few years and again we've barely raised any rates. As to the fishing...there are most definitely fish in the creek year round on the property. We have native brown trout and also they state stocks us routinely with rainbow trout when they stock all the lakes up here. The creek runs year round and it is a bit smaller than normal due to a lack of snow this year, but still it is a good size creek which is always able to be fished right here on the lodge grounds. Again, we have worked really extra hard to make this place amazing for our great guests, and at the same time to keep our rates reasonable. I want to thank all of our repeat guests and others who have made this possible. Thank you for reading our response and may you have safe travels! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After having spent a very nice vacation here last year, and planning another this spring, I decided to check Tripadvisor to see what others have observed. I was surprised to find a "friend of a friend" review that was terribly uncomplimentary and so off the mark I decided to write a review of our experience at Christopher Creek Lodge.

We have been visiting this area for over 35 years and totally love it. Several times every summer we would make the 100 mile trip up to stay in the Christopher Creek Campground. We would visit the little store, Alpine Market, and passed by CC Lodge many times. Over the years we graduated from tent to Camper, and last year prior to the campground opening we decided to take 3 days and try out the lodge. We booked the Trail Bunk Tandem unit with kitchenette. We totally loved it. Just enough space for the 2 of us and our dogs. The little kitchen definitely filled our needs. We were happy.

Well, after our first night, my husband happened up to the office and he was offered for a very small additional fee to upgrade for the balance of our visit the Fisherman's Cabin overlooking the creek. Nice patio and much larger than the Tandem unit.There was a full size refrigerator in this cabin, queen size bed and upstairs 4 twins for kids if they came along. Yes, the stairs would be tricky, and there is a warning sign (also the office had advised caution), but most normal kids would have loved climbing up there and having their own little hangout. In fact we noticed some very happy kids in the upper windows of the other cabins, giggling and just being kids.

We spent our time fishing, hiking the area, playing cards, and generally having a great time. There are little fireplaces where you must use the duraflame logs, not real ones, and a fully equipped barbeque grill outside. We were having so much fun we stayed an extra night..

I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to explore the area and does not want to camp.I guess it would not suit someone who is "high maintenance". The Christopher Creek Lodge does not advertise itself as a Spa Resort.

We are going again and can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rastawoman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a little getaway out of Phx for the weekend last minute and this was a perfect little place in the middle of nowhere. We stayed in the tandem cabins which was perfect. Very small and cozy, but next time I would like to stay in one of the stand alone cabins. It is right next to the creek which was perfect to go sit by and have a little picnic. The next day we drove to Tonto National Park and hiked down to the waterfall. It was a great weekend getaway!! The staff at the cabins where very helpful and nice and the cabin area was so cute and cozy.

Room Tip: Tandems where cozy and cute but connected to other cabins. Even though there was no problem with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
4.6 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
386 reviews
18.0 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
413 reviews
18.3 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
250 reviews
18.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
19.4 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Creek Lodge

Property: Christopher Creek Lodge
Address: 1355 E Christopher Creek Loop, Payson, AZ 85541-2218
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original, largest and only lodge right on the banks of Christopher Creek. We hope you'll be a part of the history! "Had a rough day...or a rough week? Get away from it all.. relax on the creek!" New Ownership April, 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Christopher Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Creek Hotel Payson
Christopher Creek Lodge Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing