We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Christopher Creek Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn Payson(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Payson(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kohl's Ranch Lodge(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn & Suites Payson(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rim Country Inn(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Mountain Inn(Payson)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
246
72
15
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
246
72
15
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristopher creekget awaypioneer cabindog parkback porchbunk bedslove this placestove topsmall kitchengreat escapepicnic tablesbeautiful arearim countrytandemloftwoodsfishing
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My fiance and I, along with our seventeen month old son, had a wonderful experience here. The location is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were really cute. The staff was so friendly and everyone we came into contact with made us smile. We booked the smallest cabin on the Grayhackle site for two days because it was the only one available. It was a tad small for the three of us but it had what we needed and was really cozy. It was about a five minute walk from our cabin door to the bottom of the creek. The next day, we thought we would try our luck and see if any of the bigger cabins on the creek were available for us to switch to. They were so accomadating and friendly about the transition and seemed to want to help us have a good time. The second cabin we stayed in was perfect. We loved everything about it and were almost tempted to try to book another night. Unfortunately we had to go back to our lives. I cannot wait to go back here again. The only negative thing that happened on this trip (which is something that made feel very uncomfortable) is that there we a couple very young boys down at the creek shooting the very visible fish with bb guns. This is not only dangerous, but highly unethical. We went a while down the creek to get away from it and then mentioned it to the staff on site when we returned. They made us feel much better about the situation because they made is clear that they do not approve of that. Overall amazing experience and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone at anytime for any reason.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breezy1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice cozy cabins on the creek. across the street is a nice hiking trail and a small Bar for eats on the Creek after your hike. Many of the cabins can handle a small family. Our the last Cabin on the creek can handle a family of 7 to 8 people with a additional Loft space an beds. Nice fire place beautiful creek. Near by lakes and the creek is great for fishing and relaxing. Cabins arranged to give some privacy with back porches resting on the creek adored with rocking chairs. Bring additional battery powered Coleman lights. We had a complete Kitchen with small oven

Room Tip: These are cabins sorry no gym or office No WIFI. No cell service except Verizon. Unplug People unplug
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I plan a get away every year for my our wedding anniversary. I choose historic inns, BnBs, and Lodges over the mainstream hotels. We loved Christopher Creek Lodge and will be back again in the fall this year. It is very quiet and relaxing. This is a fantastic experience for the whole family and a perfect cool get away from the valley heat. If you are looking for a quiet retreat, or a bird watching get away this is a perfect place for you. This was our 13th anniversary get away and of all the places we have stayed in all corners of AZ this one gets 5 stars and is on our list to frequent again.... Love the place great caretakers too....

Room Tip: Go for the cabins right on the creek.. you can step out of the back door and sit on a private porch.. fantastic....
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this quaint Motel. We wanted to do a quick getaway from the city - and this is the place to be. This is a family run business and the people could not be more accommodating and hospitable. We stayed in the Pony Express part of this Motel which is very nice. The restaurants are within walking distance (about 200 yards away). Could not have asked for a better place. My suggestion is to see this for yourself...

Room Tip: You may want to take your own coffee, paper towels, etc. if you are going to stay there more than a couple of nights.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our 30th wedding anniversary and we wanted someplace relaxing to spent 4 nights. Having stayed at several other properties in northern Arizona owned by the same owner, we felt very comfortable making reservations for Christopher Creek Lodge. We were not disappointed.

Online reservations were taken care of very professionally with follow-up personalized e-mails (besides the auto-generated confirmation) to answer a few questions. Everything was in order when we arrived -- we could have said "hi, we're ____" and grabbed the key. But we wanted to get some local information from Brendan at the front desk -- he knows the area and what is going on. If you are new tot he ara, plan on spending 5-10 minutes talking to Brendan on your first day. The friendly, family that staffs and runs the place makes staying there a joy. (Did I mention they were friendly?)

Our cabin (Fisherman's) was definitely rustic and older but had been modernized, was very clean, comfortable and fairly well equipped -- exactly as described on their website. The road through the property was narrow, curved, and dirt -- and you had to be careful driving and parking -- but, hey, this is the middle of the forest and that's why you came here, right? The loft looked very cozy and nice, but the stairs are very steep and not for the old -- I took a quick look up there and we stayed downstairs. This cabin had a very small, cramped bathroom but we were told others were larger. There was also a lack of space for storing/hanging clothes, but we found the stairs to the loft made great shelves. Bed was very comfortable, fireplace (Duraflame logs only) worked beautifully -- bring your own logs or buy them there. We spent hours on the porch overlooking the babbling creek -- could even hear it at night with the windows closed.

Our stay was great. On Saturday evening, there was a wedding on the grounds with a loud reception. The policy is quiet time after 10:00 and -- sure enough -- they were shut down just minutes after 10:00. Other than that, it was quiet and relaxing. Many of the other guests had well-behaved dogs -- no problem there. (They do have a small, fenced dog park on the property but it is a bit of a walk from the cabins.) This is a great place to bring your (furry) best friend. And there is a rustic playground for kids with a tire-horse swing you must see to believe.

We will definitely come back to Christopher Creek Lodge. And probably go for the slightly more expensive (and larger) Pioneer cabin. The same owner also has two other similar properties in Christopher Creek. We looked a the other two -- looked nice, but CC Lodge is the one for us!

Room Tip: Cabins are more expensive, but are on the bank of the creek.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david-oberpriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews