We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Tonto Natural Bridge State Park
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Gorgeous scenery but it was to hot for us so didn't stay long, the walk to waterfall is nice but a little small.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank clancy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    163
    19
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for every visitor”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

By far one of the best natural beauties I have seen in Arizona. The hike is simply awesome. It is relatively easy but still full with stunning little curves.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harshkhaitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“awesome natural wonder”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

the waterfall was so cool . We hiked down under the bridge and set there for hours just enjoying the beauty and quiet of this awesome place. It was getting very warm when we left. Take lots of water.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLW7658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Beautiful large bridge”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was here years ago when the state ran the state parks and it seemed a little "run down", since the city of Payson took over the park, I can see a big difference (more pic-nic areas and some are covered, larger paved parking area, the Ranch house looks to have been painted and looks maintained. This park has the feeling of "welcome" you to the park where before it was just here. They are also putting up a new sign to get your attention. The day we were there was the most people I had seen here in one day in a long time. Great job Payson!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelJohn092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty area”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Couldn't hike down to the bottom because of health issues, so we viewed the bridge from the viewpoints by the parking lots. Viewpoint #1 has the best view of the bridge and one of the trails leading down to it. Couldn't see much from Viewpoint #2. Viewpoints #3 & 4 have a nice little waterfall. There were a lot of picnic tables and bathrooms were clean. Gift shop was really small and didn't have too much in it. Definitely worth the drive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tonto Natural Bridge State Park also viewed

 

Been to Tonto Natural Bridge State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing