We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a two star, although it shows up that way on ratings”
Review of Motel 6 Payson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Payson
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not quite a two star, although it shows up that way on ratings”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Before writing this review I looked at some of the pictures that have been posted. Those rooms look like a suite compared to the room I stayed in! I think staff must have a policy to shove Priceline customer in the tiniest rooms. The room I stayed in was so small I could barely move around the queen bed. The room was very also in need of a serious remodel. Carpet was frayed where it meets the bathroom. Fixtures are old. The single lamp by the bed was controlled by a switch over by the door (?). The room was reasonably clean but otherwise I was not impressed and would say this motel is much more like a one star than a two star. Even the lobby is a small cramped little room. I had to run the noisy AC to drown out the noisy highway outside because my room was so near it. There were people hanging around in the parking lot well after midnight, perhaps because there was no where else to go? Good thing there are two convenience stores nearby because I couldn't even see soda or snack machines at the motel. This is a bare bones place that is much more fitting of one star rating. The best thing about the hotel was the friendly staff upon check in, which made for a nice touch in an otherwise dreary stay.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the office toward the back side of the motel. The front part of the motel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LW26102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    10
    5
    21
See reviews for
13
20
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were so disappointed! The remote didn't work unless you sat right in front of the set. No Dvd player. creepy looking people hanging around the parking lot at night, so we felt compelled to park our car near the office for safety reasons.
The wireless internet never came online, though we were repeatedly told, "anytime now". that went on all weekend.
The pool was dirty and the spa was broken.
I won't remark on the uncomfortable bed and cheap sheets and towels, because others have already done so.
Please find another place to stay in Payson.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Payson hotels

idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Old motel that was in reasonably good shape. Everything worked and the hot water was very consistant (not like in some places where you get a blast of hot then cold). Room was small, tv was old, but overall the room was clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Very clean, remodeled motel with nice staff. Continental breakfast was Spartan but in line with the cost of a room. Rooms are small but adequate (again in line with price). Parking lot is narrow - not good for large vehicles. Road noise was minimal. The mattress and bed springs badly needed replacement. I awoke with a sore back. The poor bed quality will keep me from booking again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudybaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Old motel with very small rooms and lacking of any sense of luxury or comfort. The room itself was barely large enough to contain the king size bed and tv. Rock hard matress was nearly unbearable. The room I stayed in was apparently adjacent to the water heater. Every time that someone took a shower or otherwise used hot water in any of the nearby rooms, you could hear the water heater popping and gurgling thorugh the wall.

Hot water was very limited in the shower. Even turned all the way to hot, the showers that I took were luke warm at best. The shower head was so calcified that it wasn't much more than a dribble. I was able to clean some of the nozzles with my fingernail to get a little more water, but come on! They need to spend a couple of bucks on a jar of Lime Away once in awhile.

The free breakfast was limited to cereal, coffee, toast, donuts and bananas.

I'll rate this hotel with 2 dots instead of one because:
The Wi-Fi worked well.
The room was clean.
The noise from outside was not bad.
The area seemed secure enough to me.

Room Tip: The area that I stayed in was the main, older motel. There is an annex to the hotel across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlagAZ-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We got two rooms that connected. One of the non-smoking rooms reeked of smoke. The other room had no remote. My daugher got stuck in the bathroom. In the morning I was awakend by all of the traffic, even though the manager indicated their was no traffic noise. When I went to shower I got locked in as the handle did not work. I had to have the maintenance man pass tools through a bathroom window, while I was only in a towel, to get myself out. It took a half an hour. The manager promised me a credit for the second room, but did not do it.

Room Tip: Don't stay by the road. Get a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rye creek
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

It was many years before that we stayed there.That is why I dedcided to stay again. The pool looked like it could use a good srcubbing.Hottub was out of order and nasty dirty,also the pool chairs were so dirty. The bed was so hard I was sore the next morning.The so called continental breakfast was dry bread and old fruit.They also took sunny delight labeled it OJ.YUCK!!!!!! This once nice place is now So Badly Run Down.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelloveryecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
0.5 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Payson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Payson

Property: Motel 6 Payson
Address: 1005 S Beeline Hwy, Payson, AZ 85541-5415 (Formerly Paysonglo Lodge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Payson 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Payson AZ is nestled among the majestic mountains of the Mogollon Rim and 90 minutes north of Phoenix. Visit the Mazatzal Casino, using our free drop-off and pick-up shuttle service. Enjoy mini-fridge units in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Payson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paysonglo Hotel Payson
Motel 6 Payson Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing