We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a timeshare and I am an owner but had never been to Kohl's Ranch before. I loved this location. My unit was #502, a one bedroom attached to the Horton House. Absolutely loved it. It was perfect size for one or a couple. The back deck was along the Tonto creek and you could hear it babbling. The leaves were turning for fall so it was beautiful. Plenty of seating on the deck and a grill at the bottom of the few steps. It was quiet and the decor of the unit was really nice. I will return and will request this same unit again. The location is 17 miles from the town of Payson, AZ. Take food/drinks if you want to fix anything in the kitchen and there are grocery stores in Payson in addition to restuarants. The Zane Grey restuarant and bar were only open in the evening while I was there.

Room Tip: I believe as others mentioned, the rooms along the creekside are in the 500 and 200 series.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your sharing your thoughts about your stay here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge. We were very glad to hear that our accommodations exceeded your expectations. The tips you provided for the surrounding area as well as for our resort are very much appreciated. Please make sure to contact us before your next reservation arrival date, and we will try to do everything we can to assign you the same unit. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    137
    39
    24
    22
See reviews for
109
177
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After arriving at this mountain/pine forest resort, we were soon to find out that we got much more for our money than we expected. The service was the best we have had overall, including many hotels, cruises, and resorts that we have stayed at in the past. The rooms in the lodge were very large and clean. A small kitchette including a half size refrigerator, micro, and two stove burner were more than we expected. The king bed was very comfortable and we could tell that they provided clean comforter and covers to each guest. They do not provide daily room cleaning in the lodge rooms, but towels, soap, etc are available on request.

The location of the resort is ideal for fishing, hiking, hunting or simply relaxing by the pool and spa. We ate dinners in the hotel restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food. Service was wonderful. We booked this during the week when only the Saloon provided food. Prices were quite reasonable.

Wi-Fi in our room 139 was usually quite fast, although we did hear others complain about having little or no signal. The real surprise was having free US long distance from the room phone. Cell phone coverage was not too good.

Overall, we will stay hear again. It is close to Phoenix, only a drive of about 2 + hours.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms next to the pool are the best if you are staying in the lodge. We loved room 139
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alcruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We decided to get out of Phoenix and into the mountains to experience the changing color of leaves in October and stayed at Kohl's Ranch. It was worth it! A nice, modern, log lodge nestled in a valley just off the Mogollon Rim we were able to leave the city behind and settle in to a mountain, western getaway. The lodge was clean, the front desk manager very friendly, and the amenities were many. The grounds were fresh and clean, with trees changing colors and Tonto Creek slowly flowing along one side of the property. We staying in the lodge, and not one of the cabins, but the room was clean and well appointed. Comfortable linens on the bed, a great kitchenette, and a super comfortable chair in the room, as well as a patio with two wooden chairs that made enjoying coffee and a book in the crisp mountain air a morning must! A great room, great location with good amenities. Perfect mountain getaway!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the creek side cabins looked absolutely amazing! East side of lodge is away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safford, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Luckily I had read reviews and new this was about 20 miles from town so I knew to eat in Payson first before heading out that way. We got in late from traveling and were ready to just get to our room. The lady checking us in was very pleasent. She knew we were only staying the night and since check out is at ten (a little early in my opinion) I am not sure why she had to tell us everything about the accomidations and restaurant. I thought that part was a little silly but besides that the room was great, bed was better then the previuos hotel we were at so that was a plus and from what we saw the grounds were very beautiful. When we left we went accross the higway up to the fish hatchery which was really fun to see so it was a nice little area to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Located on the banks of Tonto Creek in the largest pine forest in the world, Kohl's Ranch lodge offers western hospitality. The friendly and casual atmosphere may our stay a refreshing get away from the desert heat. We had a studio room the was clean and quiet even on our private patio.
The dining room was closed but the saloon offered great burgers and a view of the pool area. This is a quant log cabin style retreat, so do not expect high end decor. Would go back again....will stay again this fall to enjoy the Mogollon Rims fall foliage and beautiful lakes... all just a few miles from Kohl's Ranch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are very pleased to read that you have found our location picturesque and relaxing and we hope that you had a stress free vacation here with us. We hope that we will have another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I visited Kohl's as a cool break from the heat of the Valley. On arrival the front desk was hopeless. Also be warned that they request a $100 deposit which you sign a waiver you don't get back from 3-4 weeks.....terrible and not what you expect from any decent establishment when you've handed over your credit card.
The advertising is misleading. We did indeed have a patio but it is overlooking and almost in the parking lot!! Not quite the tranquil view we had planned for.

On arrival we were tole the dining facilities were open until 8/9 pm. Thankfully we went earlier as we watched others being turned away. The food was average...no choice of sides as the menu said, I was told what my fish came with. And entrees are meant to come with a house salad but no house salad in sight......very misleading. The waitress was rude, the saloon tales filthy and the food just ok.

Rooms ok, motel like and smelled a tad like a dog but ok for the price, but I'd look to go somewhere else next time. Most disappointing service we've ever had in Arizona.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for creek side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
We sincerely apologize that your stay with us here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge did not measure up to your expectations. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer good quality accommodations to each of our guests who stay with us. We are very concerned that our accommodations and customer service did not meet your expectations, nor outs. Please be aware that a prepaid deposit to cover potential damage(s) or theft(s) from a unit is required for all guests regardless of how the unit was paid for. These types of deposits are very commonplace in the resort industry and are used as a deterrent for guests to cause damage or theft to their unit(s). By limiting these types of costs to the resort, we pass on the savings to our guests. We are truly sorry if you feel you were not given proper notice that this is a required deposit. We try our best to advise 3rd party booking websites to advise their users that this deposit is mandatory at the time of check in. After your check out, your room is inspected for any damage or theft, and as long as nothing has been damaged or stolen, your deposit is returned immediately back to your credit or debit card. The time it takes to receive this deposit back varies by depending on the processing time of your credit card’s bank or financial institution. While not all rooms have a view of the surrounding mountains, you are more than welcome to request a specific view type when you book your reservation or through the front desk before your arrival. Your feedback about our restaurant is appreciated, as it helps us determine what our strengths and weaknesses are. This feedback will be forwarded to our restaurant staff, and the appropriate changes will be made. If you are willing to give us a second chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your business with us and wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level Contributor
299 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We got a deal online for a one of their rooms and decided to go for it! We were trying to escape the heat and this place delivered. We loved the outdoors surrounding the lodge. There is a river that the kids enjoyed playing in. There is a large grassy area, tall trees, tables & benches to eat outdoors. The lodge has a restaurant onsite as well, pool, and workout area. Our room was a good size and had a Western / Cowboy decor. We got some rollaway beds for the kids. Room also had a small fridge, microwave, dishes & utensils. We would love to return & stay in a cabin this time instead of a studio. We'd also stay longer to enjoy more of the outdoor activities like hiking and horse back riding. From Phoenix metro this was a little over an hour drive and that's an awesome way to escape the high Summer temperatures in the valley & enjoy the outdoors!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluelagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Kohl's Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay here at Kohl’s Ranch Lodge. We were pleased to read that you were able to find a deal online to book your reservation here, and that our accommodations, activities, amenities, and location met, if not exceeded you and your family’s expectations. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated by all of us here. We look forward to seeing you and your family again here soon! Hopefully, you will be able to experience one of our popular cabin units, and be able to experience more of the nearby outdoor activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Payson hotels
13.8 mi away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Super 8 Payson
Super 8 Payson
#6 of 12 in Payson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
14.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Payson
15.0 mi away
Motel 6 Payson
Motel 6 Payson
#11 of 12 in Payson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohl's Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Ranch Lodge

Property: Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Address: 202 South Kohl's Ranch Lodge Road, HC-2, Box 96K (mail), Payson, AZ 85541-2272
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Payson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Payson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohl's Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you first arrive at Kohl's Ranch Lodge in Payson, Arizona you will be sure you have truly cornered a little piece of paradise. The location is what creates this setting, which borders on perfection. Kohl's Ranch Lodge is at the base of the Mogollon Rim and on the banks of Tonto Creek. All of this comes together in the largest Ponderosa Pine Forest in the world. This stunning, off the beaten path section of Arizona's back country was made most famous by author Zane Grey, who stirred up vivid imagery of a striking land throughout his tales of the Old West. Not to mention, the people here are known for their historically famous, western hospitality. You will revel in the casual and friendly atmosphere that makes each stay here an inviting experience that leaves visitors wanting to come back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kohl's Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohl`s Ranch Hotel Payson
Kohls Hotel Payson
Kohls Ranch Lodge
Kohls Ranch Az
Kohl's Ranch Lodge Payson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing