We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and would do it again!”

Hualapai River Runners
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One Day White Water Rafting Begin to explore the Grand Canyon walls over the white water rapids of the Colorado River. Hike up to Travertine Falls, a natural waterfall, with your experienced guide. Hear about the history and culture of the Hualapai people. Look for local wildlife while enjoying lunch along the banks of the river. Continue through the Grand Canyon on a smooth water ride viewing the towering canyon from a unique perspective. Complete your adventure with a helicopter flight up to the top of Grand Canyon West, home of the Skywalk. Rafts depart from Peach Springs, Arizona on Historic Route 66 from the Hualapai Lodge and ground transportation returns you to Peach Springs. All this in just one day! 2-Day Paddle Rafting The 2-Day Paddle Rafting Trip is a weekend only excursion that will ramp off at Diamond Creek RM 225 at 8: 00 a.m. Designated stops will be held at Travertine Falls, Separation, and camping at Spencer Canyon. This trip will include lunch, dinner, breakfast and assorted snacks for paddle rafters. Operational hours will begin at Sunrise to Sunset. Cost is $650 per person and must be 12+ years of age. No additional services included.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lake Worth, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it and would do it again!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Even the though the ride down to the river was a little bumpy, the rapids were amazing. The scenery was beautiful and our guide Robert was very informative and lots of fun! My family had a phenomenal time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    29
    11
    4
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor UK
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent day trip, definitely recommend”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

An excellent way to see the canyon from the bottom. The trip down to the river took around 90 minutes and whilst a bit shaky it was bearable! Anyway if you want to go rafting then you have o choice! The rafting was huge fun and worth doing. The rapids are medium size and all told unless really infirm they are tame. However you do get very wet but in the summer you also dry out quickly. The 5 min helicoper ride out was a great way to end the trip. We then stayed over at the ranch at the west rim and travelled back the next day. I'm not sure that was such a god idea as we then spent a day just wandering around, luckily the team collected us early as the next days trip was cancelled because of too much rain over night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We did this trip this week! It was fabulous!! We were skeptical when we first arrived but once we got going we had a thrill if a lifetime! Besides the view and experience of seeing the Grand Canyon up close we had some great rapids! Made the trip worth the money!!

Our guide was Matt aka white fang! He was awesome! He made extra stops to show us the history if the canyon.

We stopped to do a hike up to waterfalls. It was amazing! The crew from our trip helped everyone make it to the top! Very professional, friendly and fun! When it came time to be serious on the rapids they were! We felt very safe. Lunch was surprisingly great! They provided snacks and drinks for us the entire ride.

We were happy we did this trip! It truly was a once in a lifetime experience! I highly recommend taking this trip if your looking for an adventure! It's something you will never forget! We hope to take our kids back one day!

Helpful?
4 Thank momklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
165 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Incredible whitewater experience!! The Hualapai know what they're doing on the Grand Canyon!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was the 1st whitewater experience for both my husband & I, & it was everything we dreamed of & more!! Well worth it! Everything in our day went as planned...the Hualapai tribe knows what they're doing in organizing a great whitewater experience.

First of all, if you want the least expensive route for a 1-day whitewater trip, book directly thru HRR. From everything we learned in researching our trip, the other tour companies (from Flagstaff, etc.) all book thru the HRR but of course they price the 1-day whitewater trip higher. The South Rim of the Grand Canyon is on the Hualapai reservation, so the tribe has rights to the river (the north side of the river is National Park). The only potential "hang-up" is if you don't have transportation to get to Peach Springs, which is where the tour departs. But it was worth it to us to save the $$ & leave early in the morning from Flagstaff (about 1.75 hrs away) for the drive to Peach Springs. We opted not to stay at the Hualapai Lodge after hearing some negative reviews of the Hualapai Lodge (due to the frequent train traffic since the hotel is right on the railroad tracks).

Our bus arrived on time at 8:00 at Hualapai Lodge for the bumpy drive on an unpaved road to Diamond Creek (which took about an hour). This is the only route to get to the river. Despite the bumpy drive, we enjoyed seeing wild donkeys, & our driver stopped at a couple of beautiful scenic spots for pictures. We arrived at approximately 9:00, were allowed to use the portapotties, put on our life jackets, & got an introduction to our day ahead. Our whitewater boat captain Jeron was very friendly & answered any questions as well as provided much insight into the Grand Canyon itself. There were 5-6 other whitewater boats in our group, & there was also a boat with photographers to capture images throughout the day.

We had an absolute blast as we hit whitewater rapids almost immediately after departure! We hit approx 8 areas of rapids which were Class 3 to 7 on the whitewater scale. We travelled on about 37 miles of the river from start to finish. Expect to get drenched & laugh so much your cheeks hurt by the end of the day! The whitewater portion of the ride lasts until lunchtime, & after lunch is a relaxing scenic boat ride through the Canyon until you reach the helicopter launch pad site (weather contingent if the helicopters can fly).

Midway through the morning, we stopped at a gorgeous cavern which had a waterfall inside (Travertine Falls). This waterfall & cavern are fed by natural springs. You will be climbing up on steep rocks & also rope ladders, so be forewarned if you want to be able to see the amazing waterfall & cavern. Shoes with grip (our Keen sandals worked great) are a must...no flip-flops. To get out of the cavern, we slid down part of the way on slippery rocks (with others ahead there to catch us). So much fun!

Lunch consists of deli-style sandwiches (ham & turkey) with fresh grapes, chips, & choice of non-alcoholic drink. As we were cruising to the helicopter pad, our whitewater captain shared snacks (cookies, nuts, etc.) & more beverages.

For storage of personal items during the whitewater trip, there is a large shared dry bag for items you don't want to have soaked (personal ID/wallet, cell phones, extra camera batteries, extra set of clothes, snacks for after the ride, etc.). You'll only have access to the dry bag over lunchtime. The ammo boxes are for just a few items you might want access to during the ride (sunscreen, extra shirt for over swimsuit, etc.). I had a few items in Ziploc bags in my fanny pack that actually got wet during the whitewater...thankfully they dried out, but be forewarned you will get wet!

We arrived at the helicopter launch site at approx 2:30, which is near Grand Canyon West. We waited for just a few minutes before we took off for Grand Canyon West. As we were previously advised, the helicopter flight up & out of the canyon to Grand Canyon West (only about a 5-10 minute flight but OMG gorgeous!!) is weather contingent. They won't fly if it's too windy, stormy, or if there is lightning of course. If the helicopter can't fly, we were told you'd have to remain on the boat for up to another hour or so down river (to where a bus/van can reach the river again to drive you out).

Once we arrived at Grand Canyon West's airport, we had enough time to change our clothes, freshen up, grab snacks, & check out the gift shop before the rest of our designated group arrived via their helicopter flight (less than an hour). The air-conditioned van drive from Grand Canyon West to Peach Springs was mostly paved & took 1.5 to 2 hrs.

Once you arrive back at Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs, make sure to stop by the reservation desk if you might wish to order pics from your whitewater trip. The gal told us it would take up to 2 weeks to get our email where we can order pics (digital or prints)...we're excited to see how funny we looked as we were going over the rapids!

A few tips:
--Bring a waterproof digital camera if you can for memories of your amazing experience. So glad we did!! It also gave us peace of mind from not ruining our good camera in case it got wet. I used a lanyard to safely keep my camera around my neck with less chance of losing it.
--Closed toed shoes with grip are recommended. We saw several people in flip-flops at Travertine Falls that kept slipping. Best to prevent your own accident.
--Sunscreen (& chapstick) is a must. We used 50 SPF & had no sunburn, only tan by the end of the day! :)
--A hat with a chin strap is recommended. My husband sacrificed his ball cap to the Grand Canyon river gods going over the rapids!
--So you don't lose your sunglasses, use a Croakie-style of sunglass strap to go around the back of your neck.
--Bring an extra set of dry clothes, shoes, & toiletries for after the whitewater trip. You should have time to change & freshen up while at Grand Canyon West. Makes for a more comfortable drive back to Peach Springs. Because the water is quite chilly (around 50 degrees), you might even want long sleeves or a jacket for the ride, particularly if you're going in the cooler months. The cool water did feel refreshing to us in the late June sun, though!
--Bring some cash to tip your whitewater captain if desired.
--Bring some snacks for the ride back, especially just in case you can't take the helicopter flight. You will be hungry at the end of the day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Taryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth It!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Ok, so there is a reason they suggest wearing rain gear even if the air is 110 degrees...the water is freezing...like 40 degrees freezing! I would have enjoyed it much more had I taken that advice, but I truly enjoyed myself anyway. Yes, the bus ride down to the water is bumpy, but the windows do open, and the bus ride home is long, but c'mon folks...be a little adventurous and quit acting so spoiled. It really isn't that bad. It was a dream trip for my family. A bucket item checked off. Yes, we got wet, cold, and a little bruised...but we rafted in the GRAND CANYON, and my daughter SWAM in the Colorado River! We saw and shared so many amazing things and had a WONDERFUL rafting trip with memories to last a lifetime! I would recommend it to anyone. BTW, the lodge is very comfortable, with VERY accommodating and friendly staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hualapai River Runners also viewed

Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
Peach Springs, Hualapai Reservation
 

Been to Hualapai River Runners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing