We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearce
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat
Ranked #2 of 2 Pearce B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stunning landscape, a warm welcome, comfortable surroundings and magnificent food -- this is what a vacation should be. We stayed in both suites, and each one was delightful in its own way. We also loved the "green" aspects -- from passive solar heating and cooling in the casita to the solar-heated hot tub. The peace of this place pours over you, restoring and energizing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pat574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

I'm just back from a wonderful 2 night stay at the Cochise Strongold B&B, and I only wish I could have stayed longer. The hotel is in an incredibly beautiful canyon, with exquisite views of the Dragoon mountains on all sides. We stayed in the Agave Suite, which is comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated. Porches at front and rear provide perfect shaded spots for reading and watching the amazing array of wild birds and deer. There's a great hot tub from where you can watch the stars, and the whole place was perfectly serene for the whole stay.

No review of Cochise Stronghold B&B would be complete without mentioning the wonderful hosts John and Nancy, and in particular Nancy's really superb breakfasts. The menu is full of fresh, local ingredients crafted into delicious and plentiful platters. The chili relleno souffle and cornbread were particularly good, and just be sure to try the orange juice. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomElRumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were going to use this as a "base of operations" to go visit Chiricahua Nat'l Monument and other places, but decided to just hang out here for two days instead. Good hiking trails. Great accommodations, and they'll fix you food if you haven't planned ahead for that.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JimBob42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed in the yurt. It sleeps 10, has a tempapedic bed and others are comfortable. The yurt has electricity, sink with running water, dishes, microwave, CD player, plenty of tables, chairs. The outhouse toilets are a short path and no trouble, and an indoor toilet and shower for use at the "food shack" where meals and snacks can be prepared. I loved this arrangement. The breakfasts were so good and filling. There were food options given. On the grounds are an outdoor solar shower and a hot tub. Both were lovely under the night stars. Enjoyed seeing deer, hummingbirds, blue jays. The view of Cochise Stronghold and Rockafellow Dome is awesome. There are nice hike trails from the campground close by.
The only thing was it did get warm in the yurt in late April, but I didn't ask for a fan. I opened up the top vent in yurt and sat much outside on front deck.
Nancy and John have a lovely place and are gracious to share it. Her and Lyda greeted me and gave just the right amount of attention.
I'm sure the cottages are nice also. Part of me didn't want to leave, but I moved on to more adventure.

Room Tip: For a large group, the yurt would be a nice option...as well as for one or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is what a great B&B is supposed to be.

The Cochise Stronghold B&B is the perfect balance of exotic and mysterious – comfortable and friendly – and uniquely American Southwest. The silence and clarity reminded us of the Sahara Desert, but our surroundings and accommodations at the Cochise were much superior. We stayed in both the Agave and Casita Manzanita suites. Both were a superb value.

A minimum two-day stay is required. To stay less is to miss the experience. We stayed three. Nancy and Lyda and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. They take a sincere yet modest pride in their quality operation.

The breakfasts are prepared to order from scratch. Try the Chile Rellenos Soufflé and the special Cornbread baked in black iron skillets. We dined on our patio where there is only one rule – you must share the area with colorful songbirds and a roving family of mule deer.

If you like photography, you will love this area. The photo-ops are infinite. Our six-hour hike into the mountains of the Cochise Stronghold was a lifetime memory. And our visit to the nearby (50 miles) Chiricuhua National Monument was a real Southwest treat. Look for the profile of Cochise in the mountains.

If you like some adventure and history coupled with superbly relaxing experience, you must stay here. We arrived unknowing – we left refreshed and energized.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lapolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My friend and i drove through a blizzard to get to the Cochise Stronghold, and found Nancy, the proprietor waiting in the snowy drifts of the lengthy driveway to guide us up to her retreat. we stayed in a small house with a wood burning stove. the next three days were truly blissful. we awoke to a sun on the snow and the pealing back of a most heavenly landscape outside the kitchen door. the temperatures rose and the snow retreated. the house was magnificent, every detail lovingly thought out, the wood burning stove a constant comfort, and the breakfasts so remarkably delicious, it was like a dream. perhaps not having any expectation at all is what makes one open to such delightful discoveries as these. ...there were trails just outside our door, beyond where the birds and deer were having a feast (a treat to behold, standing with a cup of coffee), and from the door we were able to walk high into the mountains, passing only one other couple, and then returning to the warmth of the house. at night we read many books on the shelf about the area, the birds, gardening. there were more amenities than we knew what to do with. the little bathtub was a treat, the bed very comfortable. Nancy gave us many tips about the area, including how to locate the resting place of the migratory sandhill cranes. she left us alone just as needed, but was always available for things we needed to know or find. there was also a yurt and outdoor shower and facilities that in warmer months looked very inviting. the place became the base for all of our excursions to the Chiricahua monument 'park'. it was difficult to leave. it is a treasure of a place in all respects. i would love to think that we can return some day. -kbg

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaitilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My friend Kathy and I recently stayed at Cochise STronghold at the end of a 10 day Grand Canyon road trip in Arizona. We found it a relaxing way to end our trip and a nice change from the hustle and bustle of Tucson, Bisbee, and the Grand Canyon. The yurt was great - funky but comfortable and airy. The surroundings were absolutely silent and dark at night. No ambient light or noise pollution to deal with.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat

Address: 2126 W Windancer Trail, Pearce, AZ 85625
Region: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pearce
Price Range: £96 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Cochise Stronghold, A Canyon Nature Retreat, is located within the spectacular, historic, mountain canyon. Cochise Stronghold Canyon surrounded by 64,000 acres of evergreen Coronado National Forest. It is 80 miles SE of Tucson, Arizona, in the mailing district of Pearce. Regional attractions include the Canyon itself; Amerind Museum & Art Gallery; Kartchner Caverns and Chiricahua National Monument.Cochise Stronghold Retreat has an outdoor spa under the star, perfect for stargazing the clear, dark night skies. Wonderful walks and hikes out the door. Nature enthusiasts enjoy abundant wildlife and birds. Guests enjoy complimentary, gourmet breakfasts created by the nutritionist owner. For an additional fee supper dining is available. Top ratings by Frommers Arizona; Lonely Planet; National Geographic Traveller; A Thousand Places to See Before You Die; The NY Times ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat Arizona/Pearce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing