We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cochise Stronghold in Transition”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pearce
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat
Ranked #2 of 2 Pearce B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2010

The Cochise Stronghold B&B has absolutely breathtaking scenery and is truly a unique place to stay. It is set amid 15 acres and lies within the shadow of the Cochise Stronghold, a beautiful place with incredible history. However, the B&B is in transition to become a Silent Meditation Retreat, something not advertised to the general public. It is also the permanent residence of 3 frail, elderly people in their mid-80s, something else not stated to guests until their arrival on site. My husband and I were quite dismayed to learn that we were unable to walk upon certain paths or even speak when near the home of the elderly people. We were also told not to look at, make eye contact with or disturb anyone on the property as they might not be another paying guest but someone on a silent meditation retreat. These rules, combined with a request to not use the propane heater while sleeping (we were staying in the yurt which was absolutely freezing after the sun went down), left us feeling very disappointed and sad. We paid $137 a night for 2 nights and expected a certain level of comfort and freedom but instead felt that we needed to tiptoe around in order not to disturb anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SpanishTeacher39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyNancyYates, Owner at Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

A Place to Retreat - Yes! Diverse uses - Yes!
Cochise Stronghold, Nature Retreat has been in business for 12 years and continues to offer this beautiful facility to guests for diverse uses. Birders, hikers, romantic getaways, weddings, parties, small group retreats… Some guests do come for personal retreats – health, meditation, creative, spiritual, study, stress relief…we are happy to expand this type of use, but the reviewer is incorrect in her perception.

However, the reviewer was requested to respect another guest's choice to be in silence - a rare occasion and a special opportunity for him. However, the reviewer mistakenly took this to mean that they could not talk near him. This was not the case. This is a quiet place, but we have never asked anyone else to be quiet around someone else.

Yes, our parents reside in a private and totally separate residence, distant from guest accommodations. It is a perfect set-up for everyone as someone is always on-site in case of an emergency. The policy here is for respect of others' privacy and a request was made, not to walk immediately next to the bedroom windows of the parent's home.

As innkeepers of a romantic location place, we very much respect guests’ desire for privacy and offer every consideration. Even mid-day we would not walk directly under other bedroom windows. We are small with only 2 rooms, so this is not a difficult consideration. Our guests celebrate anniversaries, honeymoons, engagements, they sometimes enjoy bird-watching right from the comfort of their bed. 99% of our guests are equally respectful.

The reviewer stated that she could not access trails….a totally false claim. Access to the Coronado National Forest trails, immediately adjacent to this 10 acre parcel are from many place, but not beside the private residence.

Heat - The yurt is heated both with propane, an electric space heater and electric blankets are also available. We have several sizes of bottles, the 40 lb. propane tank had a damaged handle (not fixable immediately), so a smaller tank was used for one night of their stay. The guests were asked if they could keep the heat lower while they were in bed, so they conserve fuel and thus have abundant heat in the morning when they were up. We know that you can be quite warm and cozy at night in bed, from plenty of experience. In the morning, all that is needed is that you reach over and turn up the heat and the place warms very quickly. Normally no “rationing of propane”. We do apologize that the guests felt unhappy.

The guests could easily have moved into another room with an electric space heater or used the electric blanket. For some reason they choose not to do so? We do know that people really do not freeze to death if it is below 70 degrees in their room. We do advertise the Woodlands Yurt - as "luxury camping" and the yurt is a highly unique building which is attractive to most, but not everyone is adventurer.

Please feel free to call with any questions or concerns. We aim to please!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

was the vacation of a lifetime. would recomment this place to anyone! I couldnt think of a better place for relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shymaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

We spent two days at this quiet, clean B&B nestled in the Dragoon Mountains in an area called, "Cochise Stronghold". We found the accommodations, location and service to be wonderful. We stayed in the Agave Suite, where we were able to view a variety of birds at the feeder outside the sliding glass doors, and were able to watch the Coues deer come to drink water. The walking and hiking opportunities are numerous.
We appreciated Nancy's tasty, hearty breakfasts, and her tour of the grounds. She and John have created environmentally friendly lodging, with strawbale buildings, yurts, an outdoor solar shower, a rainwater collection system and a solar oven.
We have camped in the Dragoons many times, but now that we're older and less able, it was great to have such a comfortable and beautiful place to continue to enjoy these mountains.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bisbeeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We parked the car and did not touch it for two days. Rode my my bike, hiked the canyon, sat in a hot tub in the trees, watched numerous birds & Coos Deer on the patio, read 2 books, slept like a baby, and than some really nice people showed up with an excellent breakfast. On top of that we stayed in a unique and special hay bale house that has some electronic gear in a closet but why waste your time in such a place. Take your own food and drink because their ain't no place to get such stuff. No people, no stuff, life can't get any better. Dan & Marion, Parker, Arizona

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank Parker_ArizonaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

This was our second stop on a long vacation in Arizona and we could have stayed here a lot longer than 2 days! Quiet, beautiful, restful and lots of entertaining wildlife.

We chose to stay in a rustic tepee they offer (no power, or water-and it didn't matter) it was only a short walk to a spotless bathroom and a beautiful outdoor hot tub. We soaked under a starry sky surrounded by incredible rock formations.

Lots of firewood, a box of camping gear, chairs and comfy beds were all provided but it was the breakfasts I'll never forget. The owners are wonderful and the area is one of the most scenic we visited.
Do not miss the nearby Amerind Museum.

We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parsons19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2005

Absolutely perfect for those looking to stay at a place well off the beaten path while enjoying stunning scenery in the heart of the Dragoon mountains. It's about as close to nature as one can get while still enjoying all the amenities of a great Bed & Breakfast. I stayed here based on the advice of a Frommers.com review that said this was one of the top ten B&B's in Arizona, and they were right on. The breakfasts were excellent, the beds were very comfortable, I could go on and on but trust me when I say everything was perfect. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BuckTugidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank ELIANA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat

Address: 2126 W Windancer Trail, Pearce, AZ 85625
Region: United States > Arizona > Pearce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pearce
Price Range: £96 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location: Cochise Stronghold, A Canyon Nature Retreat, is located within the spectacular, historic, mountain canyon. Cochise Stronghold Canyon surrounded by 64,000 acres of evergreen Coronado National Forest. It is 80 miles SE of Tucson, Arizona, in the mailing district of Pearce. Regional attractions include the Canyon itself; Amerind Museum & Art Gallery; Kartchner Caverns and Chiricahua National Monument.Cochise Stronghold Retreat has an outdoor spa under the star, perfect for stargazing the clear, dark night skies. Wonderful walks and hikes out the door. Nature enthusiasts enjoy abundant wildlife and birds. Guests enjoy complimentary, gourmet breakfasts created by the nutritionist owner. For an additional fee supper dining is available. Top ratings by Frommers Arizona; Lonely Planet; National Geographic Traveller; A Thousand Places to See Before You Die; The NY Times ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cochise Stronghold, A Nature Retreat Arizona/Pearce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing