We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun sitting by the aquarium”

Dillon's KC BBQ Thunderbird
Ranked #5 of 276 Restaurants in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kansas City Style BBQ served up in the valley of the sun!
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun sitting by the aquarium”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This restaurant was nice. There is a large aquarium wall in the restaurant and it is a great place to sit and watch the sharks, etc. The food was very good. Ribs were really good and a whole rack is Fred Flintstone size so if your appetite isn't particularly huge get the 1/2 rack and you will still have PLENTY.Great service. It is a bit of a ways out there if you are staying in Phoenix, but worth the drive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    80
    42
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Burnt ends...Yum!!!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Absolutely love this barbecue joint! Have been going here for years and have yet to have a bad meal. Love the burnt ends...they are so tender and have such a nice, smoky flavor! Don't get me started on the fried pickles and baked beans. Can't say enough good things about the food here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avondale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I've lived in the west valley all my life but finally went to Dillon's for dinner. My family loved it!!! The BBQ was awesome and our kids loved the smiley fries. This will be one of our "staples" now. It's a great place to eat and watch a game!!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyAvondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not worth the $”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Went to Dillon's in Peoria last Saturday. Food okay but too pricey for me. Fried Sweet Fries tasted great but $7.49 for nearly a cereal bowl size order was disappointing. I would not return. Joe's BBQ in downtown Gilbert is better. Wife had BBQ chicken which was "not so great" (her words). Cold slaw delicious!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cycletherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is huge!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

First time in Dillon's and was amazed at the size of the inside (much larger than it looks from outside.) Then they brought the menu and it was also HUGE. I could not read the entire thing if I wanted to eat that day. We all got something different and nobody was disappointed with their choice. Service was also very good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dillon's KC BBQ Thunderbird also viewed

Litchfield Park, Central Arizona
 
Peoria, Central Arizona
 
Glendale, Central Arizona
Glendale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Dillon's KC BBQ Thunderbird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing