We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in Peace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ZenYard Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Phoenix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Staying in Peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed 2 times here.
I felt comfortable and enjoy talking with people staying here.
Always i met nice people there.
Good vibration where is different from other area.
I appreciate all staff there.

Thanks Eddie, Dale and Sherri !!

Room Tip: If you want Friendly, Open, Peace for staying, Do choose this B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiroyoshi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    52
    10
    11
    2
See reviews for
37
204
48
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We are just leaving ZenYard after two great days! We originally came to Surprise, AZ. for Ranger's Spring Training games and we stayed in Surprise, moving to ZenYard for a few sightseeing days in Phoenix.
Next year, we will stay with Dale and Eddie at their wonderful B&B the whole week.

ZenYard was a haven set in a busy neighborhood. Our room, Jerome, with private patio and bath was perfect. The smell of the grapefruit trees was everywhere! The common area and breakfast room were relaxing and overlooked the saltwater pool. Cooked breakfasts were to individual requests and their fruit, scones, breads, yogurts were yummy!

We are sorry to leave this wonderful welcoming place. We feel we are leaving new friends behind! We will be back!! Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fillmore, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was my third stay at the lovely Zen Yard. It will hopefully be one of many many more. Every time I have been here I have felt welcome and surrounded by caring efficient people and nourishing rejuvenating surroundings. I have always had a reason that brought me to Phoenix, but I can well imagine that one day I will come just to stay at Zen Yard. It is truly a fantastic retreat!

Green Features: Zen Yard has extensive environmentally sound practices...which is no surprise. As a guest you can tell the owners truly care about healthy, beautiful environments!!
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Eddie was charming, Sheri was friendly and a great omelet cook, the bed was comfy and the rooms very clean. However, while the decor was cute, the very old, stained bathtub was not. Using pliers to turn on the air is rather inconvenient. They did provide an extension cord for the hairdryer since there are no outlets in the bathroom. And the roof leaks. We told Sheri about it but she seemed to think it perfectly normal to place buckets around on the floor. At least it didn't leak over the bed.

I do understand that it rarely rains there, but rain it did and with no gutters it was impossible to walk between the buildings without the water pouring on our heads.

Great parking. The pool looked lovely.

Room Tip: If it's raining, stay in the house, not the cowboy shack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zenyard, Owner at ZenYard Guest House, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thanks for staying with us!

You are definitely right about not raining much here... every hard rain usually reveals a new spot that can be cracked and dried out from the sun especially on our flat roofs like the Cowboy Casita. When it rains in the desert it pours and comes down hard, bound to be wet in places we didn't expect. We have resurfaced the roof so hopefully the next blast doesn't find its way inside ;-)

Glad everything was clean and you were able to sleep well and had a great breakfast with us. We are getting new knobs for the AC unit from someone taking them off and not sure why that would happen.. lol The casita was built in the 60's so I think the bathroom is a place where no one ever imagined having an outlet in there, we are having a GFI put in to help accommodate some of the appliances necessary when traveling.

Hope you can come back and see the changes in the future!

;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed at the ZenYard Guest House for four nights in late February and early March because I had come to Phoenix to watch spring training baseball. It's a charming, casual place to stay with the best hosts. Rooms are tastefully done and beds are quite comfortable. The property is quiet and, well, zen. It's a great place to come back and relax after a busy day of baseball and sightseeing. A full homemade breakfast is offered, which is a great way to start the day. I stayed in the Sedona room for three nights which offers a private patio and the Tucson room for one night. Eddie was great at offering suggestions for nearby restaurants, and he's friendly conversationalist. All in all, I would return to ZenYard again and again and again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a shared bath, the Sedona Room offers a nice private patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

ZenYard is a great stay! The location is in a safe area for you and your car, close to the main drag for going into downtown or leaving the city for other adventures. We had the Sedona room, which has a small deck area attached to the room-it was perfect for enjoying the cool evenings with a glass of wine! The hosts are great people and the atmosphere is peaceful and relaxing. We will definitely use this as our spot when returning to the Phoenix area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsgreats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while visiting his family who lives in Phoenix. We booked the Flagstaff room. This room a bit smaller than some of the others and is in the same building in the back in which the Jerome room is. It was very quiet and comfortable there. The attached bathroom was big and has a very large step in shower, but no fan. We just kept the bathroom window open which also kept the air circulating throughout the room.
Zenyard has total of four rooms and one "Cowboy Casita" which has a kitchenette and separate sleeping and living areas. The cowboy casita is the only room which has a TV. The other rooms do not have TV to keep an ambience of rest and peace. The two rooms in the main house (the Tucson and Sedona rooms) have a shared bathroom.
There is a small pool and a hot tub in the front yard. Pool towels and sunscreen are provided.
Breakfast is from 0730 to 0900am. There are cereal, OJ, baked goods, jam, yogurt and hard boiled eggs as well as coffee. When Sherri is working (she is off on Tuesdays), she will also make you eggs, waffles, bacon or sausage for breakfast. Breakfast is around one communal table.
Our room had a small fridge in it which is great for keeping snacks and beverages. In the communal area in the main house, where breakfast is served, there is also an area where you can buy beverages including wine.
Zenyard is in a central location, close to SR 51, and has its own off street parking. Look for the rainbow flag in front of the driveway; its right across Madison National Academy (a school).
After you make your reservation, and a few days before you arrive, check your e-mail for the code you will need to get into the building and into your room. My e-mail ended up in my "junk" inbox so be sure you check there, too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBirdSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
3.0 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix North
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN InnSuites Phoenix Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Biltmore
1.7 mi away
Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.5 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZenYard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZenYard Guest House

Property: ZenYard Guest House
Address: 830 E Maryland Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85014-1570
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ZenYard Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban lodging home with individual guest rooms and suites. It's a perfect location for leisure and business getaways for nightly and weekly travelers. We have a solar heated salt water pool and a hot tub on the property. Honor bar includes self help options for drinks, sodas, beer, wine, premix alcohol, snacks, cereal, pastries, milk, juice and more for individual purchase and add to your bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your ZenYard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenyard Guest House Hotel Phoenix
ZenYard Guest House Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing