We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little bit of paradise. ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ZenYard Guest House
Ranked #1 of 15 Phoenix B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Midlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“little bit of paradise. ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arrived hot and bothered.....not for long! Greeted witha large smile, firm handshakes and a lo vely room. Couldnt wait to try out the pool and hot tub!
Breakfast was super, fresh fruit, home made scones and lemon curd! Sherri u are great!
Will deffo stay again if ever we in town, well done guys!

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kezibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    52
    10
    11
    2
See reviews for
36
204
48
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

One of the best bed and breakfast we have ever been to. Clean and comfortable and fairly priced. There was wood floor in the room and walk in shower. You know how you normally do not want to take your shoes off in hotels because the carpet is nasty? Here you want to leave your shoes by the door just like at home to keep the place as nice as you got it.

No TV in the room, but there is good internet connection. (We only watch netflix anyway.) The doors are operated with Schlage combination locks. We did not have time to enjoy the pool, but it looked nice and well maintained.

We payed $6 extra for full breakfast and it was totally worth it. We used the freezer in the common area for our icepacks.

The owners are very nice people. You cannot go wrong with ZenYard.

Room Tip: We stayed in Flagstaff, we heard Jerome is most popular.
See more room tips
Green Features: They qualified for silver level. It is nice to know that they are doing their part on all fronts.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I travelled to Arizona and spent a week between Phoenix, Tucson, the Grand Canyon, and Prescott. Our last stop was at the ZenYard guest house and it was a wonderful place to finish the trip. Throughout the week, we were awestruck by the absence of natural shade in the desert landscape. However the property here is a true oasis. There are fruit trees around every corner and shaded patio areas attached to nearly every nook and cranny. The (salt water) pool area feels like an exotic spa when it is lit up at night. The hosts are welcoming and gave us a helpful tour of the property. There's a convenient common lobby area that is open and available 24/7, along with the pool. We stayed in the Flagstaff room and enjoyed the privacy of being in one of the rooms at the back of the property. It is also, however, one of the furthest rooms from the pool so FYI. We had our own private bathroom outfitted with a very nice walk-in shower. The Paul Mitchell hair products in the shower are a nice luxury as well. I noticed my hair still smelled of tea tree oil when I got home and it was lovely.
The bed was soft and clean. The size of the room was generous. I love the fact that there are no tv's on the property. It's gives the whole place a relaxing/healing/spa-like atmosphere.
We didn't get to stay for breakfast because we had an early flight out the next morning but if we make it back to Phoenix someday, we definitely plan on returning to the ZenYard guest house.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickPawSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

A friend and I chose The Zen Yard for a weekend retreat and we were more than thrilled with our experience. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Michael, a friendly, charismatic gentleman. He gave us a tour of the property that was rich with history and many calming attributes throughout. Michael, Sherry, Eddie and Dale were all wonderful, friendly and personable hosts. I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Zen Yard! The pool was delightful. The bed was very comfortable (stayed in the Jerome Room). The food was delicious and the hospitality was over the top. Thanks Zen Yard for a fabulous weekend!!!!!

Room Tip: The Jerome room was clean, the air conditioner worked very well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My best girlfriend and I traveled from different states and met up in Phoenix. We booked a 3-night stay were thrilled with the accommodations. The rooms are spacious and the bed in the Jermone room is fabulous. The breakfast was fantastic! Dale make great banana bread. Thanks Sherrie for catering to our preferences. We spent the majority of our time in/around the pool, which by the way is better than words can express! A big thanks to Michael for all the special attention you provided these wild ladies! Dale & Eddie are so sweet and friendly...thanks guys for creating such a fabulous place! Will definitely be returning.

Shannon & Lori

Room Tip: A/C in Jerome room is excellent.
See more room tips
Green Features: Guest are immediately greeted and given a tour. All your needs are taken care of.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welcome, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Each visit 4 & 5 nights, central location, quiet, immaculate in a true restful setting in the middle of downtown metropolis. you are spoiled at breakfast - do not miss. Never had fresh made scones w home made lemon curd ready at 7 AM! Many breakfast options custom made. Each visit booked 2 rooms, so far have been exposed to 4 of their accommodations. Would rebook any of them!

Room Tip: all rooms quiet but each is diverse have look at website photos. Your mood can match one of their ro...
See more room tips
Green Features: Owners use Hi tech security within a relaxing setting for privacy chuck full of amenities -solar heated pool, jacuzzi, private nooks around the pool with plenty of comfortable resting areas. Landscape is spectacular!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jady H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is much what you expect when staying in a B&B. No TV in room and small desk. Property shows some signs of wear and tear (missing tiles in shower, chipped frosting on window). Arrived in early evening but no greeter which just made it seem like I'm trespassing! Positives - breakfast including the preparing (I forget the name) and the pool which was blissful on the extremely hot day I was there. As a solo traveler I probably wouldn't stay again but would be great for couples or families to have the extra room and pool.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
3.0 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Phoenix North
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN InnSuites Phoenix Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Biltmore
1.7 mi away
Maricopa Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
1.5 mi away
Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ZenYard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ZenYard Guest House

Property: ZenYard Guest House
Address: 830 E Maryland Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85014-1570
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ZenYard Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An urban lodging home with individual guest rooms and suites. It's a perfect location for leisure and business getaways for nightly and weekly travelers. We have a solar heated salt water pool and a hot tub on the property. Honor bar includes self help options for drinks, sodas, beer, wine, premix alcohol, snacks, cereal, pastries, milk, juice and more for individual purchase and add to your bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your ZenYard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenyard Guest House Hotel Phoenix
ZenYard Guest House Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing