We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth $109 per night”
Review of Hotel San Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos
Ranked #95 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at The San Carlos during the weekend of 7th of July. Comicon was also heald the same weekend, so I could not stay in the hotel I usually stay in. Iunderstand the historical significance of the San Carlo, but would avoid staying here again. The room was small and the bathroom "tiny".
Reminded me of staying at a YMCA back in the 70s...You get what you paid for,however, I was expecting more for $109......

Room Tip: Reserve at another hotel. I do historical research as a hobby, but was not in the mood for this hist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review, it has been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

I stayed one night going to two Dbacks games. The hotel was maybe three square blocks from Chase Field. Even on a blazing hot day it wasn't a bad walk. I was able to find street parking so I didn't have to pay to park the whole weekend. The hotel was a lot of historic charm, apparently the 4th floor is where Clark Gable used to stay. The rooms are a little small, but for $64 a weekend night, it was nothing to complain about. The only issue I had, which other reviews state was the thin walls. You can hear everything. I now know every bit of the relationship issues of the couple next door, I'm talking some LoveLine level relationship issues. Other than that it was totally worth it. Maybe ask for a room distanced from other people? Due to the $64 a room deal, I'm guessing they have empty rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up won't hear the street. Ask for a room away from people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Phoenix because I had a convention to attend, it was hot but being from florida, I didn't mind. We chose this hotel because we didn't want to be with the huge crowd that was attending and it was a great deal at $60 per night. When we entered we received a very warm welcoming and lots of friendly employees helping us with our suitcases. The hotel has that "old looking" look that I love, some of the originals have been left behind just to give it that historic look, two blocks away from the convention center, sorrouunded by lots of restaurants, everything is in walking distance and they are lots of bike riders that pick you up and take you around, they work by tips ($5 per person is what I chose to tip). The hotel has a room in the 3rd floor that still has Marilyn Monroes name on it on the 7th floor, they say that there's ghost of a young lady who committed suicide on the 7th floor but we were too busy to go check it out. Restaurant downstairs has very friendly people and delicious fried calamari. Negative about it is that is central air that you can not control from your room, the room was warm sometimes, the second thing is that the water in the shower is NOT cold, at least in our room the water was too hot.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Giselle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I chose this hotel because others close to the convention center were sold out. I do like those different hotels outside the chains that have a special charm. This has the historical value. I have stayed in old hotels like this, but never in these conditions.
The worst part was the fact there was no privacy. The walls might as well have been curtains. Conversations were heard as if they were sitting with you in the same room. It was 2 nights on a weekday with zero sleep.
It is a old hotel, so don't expect much in way of furniture or flair. Beds were clean and mattress were ok but all the noise offered no chance to sleep.
Bathroom...ugh paint peeling off the bathtub. Toilet fixtures outside the toilet were corroded.
My room had 2 queen beds, located next to tram. You hear the tram, along with every beep of the countdown of the walk no walk lights.
Most hotels are met for sleep, you won't get any here.

Room Tip: No room is a good room here. Don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mzzlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review, it has been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am sure that the people here, at the San Carlos Hotel, was so relieved when I finally decided on the room.

Staying here was truly a "flash in the past" ... a hotel where many movie stars and celebrities have stayed over decades. With a nostagic touch, it is richly decorated, no air conditioning, and charming.

If there really was a ghost wandering the hallways, I really wish she would have brought me a cup of coffee...

I will go back! The staff, especially, Brian, the valet was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thescraplasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

$20 a day valet parking that if you choose not to pay, you get to find your own parking garage. You can't check in until 3pm as I was rudely informed. No thermostat in your room, paper thin walls, you'd have more room sleeping in your car.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank markus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review, it has been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed at the Hotel San Carlos for a meeting in Phoenix. Clean room, comfortable bed, very narrow bathroom- have to turn sideways to go from the toilet, to sink, to shower. Interesting posters by the elevators on each floor, e.g., Happenings at Elvis' visits to Phoenix in 1950s and 1970s; reported ghost sightings of a woman who threw herself off the 7th floor the night before her wedding. Free WiFi and business center, work out room. Very convenient location for the light rail. Great transportation to the airport - $2 for a one day pass ($1 for 65 and older!). Very friendly riders (Yes, Phoenix is the friendliest airport in the country).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela H, General Manager at Hotel San Carlos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#23 of 174 in Phoenix
2,121 reviews
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#16 of 174 in Phoenix
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Central City
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#11 of 174 in Phoenix
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos

Address: 202 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2201
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: £139 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Carlos is Phoenix's only historic bouitque hotel and has been since 1928. Each of our 128 guest rooms has been individually decorated. Hotel San Carlos is convenietly located in the heart of downtown Phoenix's financial,goverment,and entertainment distric, just steps away from many fabulous local Phoenix Attractions.Walking distance of the convention center. We look forwards to having you stay with us and experience a touch of Phoenix history during your stay at Hotel Sand Carlos.The Hotel San Carlos is Registered with Green Chambers of Commerce! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Phoenix
Hotel San Carlos Phoenix, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing