We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Family-oriented resort with water-park for kids. Please note people start lining up around 8:30 am to reserve spot by pool which opens up at 10:00 am, line gets pretty long.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucrew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear brucrew4,

It is wonderful to see that you had an outstanding family vacation and your children enjoyed Oasis Water Park. Thank you for sharing your tips for families and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    798
    436
    221
    102
See reviews for
1,436
298
46
633
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, WA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

In a continual quest for the resort that can meet our 11 twin boys' expectation of fun and our need for comfort with a splash of luxury, we selected the Arizona Grand Resort because of it's water park and 4 diamond rating. It turned out to be a disappointment for all. Here are my few pros and many cons:

The Room:

Pro: We stayed in a Deluxe Queen Suite and had paid to be in a building near the waterpark. The room was large enough for the 4 of us. The beds were comfortable and the amenities were nice.

Con: The carpet was wet...we are hoping it was just cleaned? I guess we can take comfort in the fact that they do clean the carpets, but it gave the room a really musty smell and a general sense of unease. The bathroom door was warped and required a contortionist move to close it. The bathroom was extremely small and dark. The TVs were from last century and very small. The sofa bed could hardly be called a bed - the mattress was so thin - and squeaked all night.

The Water Park & Pools:

Pro: They have a water park and they have lots of pools.

Cons: Our boys were bored with the waterpark in under an hour - and my kids love water parks. Maybe if you have younger kids - and/or less adventurous kids - it might work for you? You have to wear a bracelet to get into the park...it's a little annoying as an adult. All the reviews are right that there are not enough chairs. And we found that was more the case at the pools away from the park. For a 4 diamond resort, the pool towels are small, thin and simply awful.

Food & Beverage:

Pros: N/A

Cons: Other than an order of fries, we never ate at the hotel...not for lack of trying. The wait staff at the park walked by us no less than a dozen times and never once asked if we wanted anything. The ice cream machine at the park was broken. The restaurants at the hotel were so far away from our room (and 4 Diamond expensive) that we would have needed to take our car anyway, so we went out for dinner. We did attempt to catch lunch before our flight at the Lobby Grill - at 11:00 when they said they were open for lunch - but were told we had to wait until all the breakfast guests had finished before she could even seat us. We left.

Other annoyances:

1) The hotel staff uses loud gas-powered golf carts to get around. They beep when in reverse. The staff drives them on the paths in front of the guest rooms - until late at night.

2) A plus for some, but an annoyance for us, they have a kiddie DJ in the waterpark that goes from 6 - 8 and the volume is loud. If you have pre-tween or tween girls, this is probably a big hit, but it was a primary reason we fled the hotel for several hours.

3) The whole place just seemed tired. My husband commented that the place needs a good pressure wash.

4) There always seemed to be housekeeping staff in the halls (who had a fabulous knack for leaving their carts blocking passage), but there also seemed to always be dirty dishes and linens in the halls.

5) It is right off the freeway - which is convenient, I guess, but it really doesn't give you the sense that you are "getting away from it all."

So, our quest for the ideal vacation resort continues. I guess I am most baffled by how this place has a 4 diamond rating. I have stayed in Ritz Carltons, Four Seasons and other luxury hotels and there is no way this hotel even comes close.

Room Tip: If you pay to be near the entrance to the waterpark - ask for the Camelback building. Sedona isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendypel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear wendypel,

It is gratifying to see that your suite offered plenty of space for your family of four, and that you were pleased with the abundant pool options. I am sorry to see that your family was disappointed by the features and activities at Oasis Water Park. We strive to accurately showcase our amenities, seasonal activities, location and dining options on our website so guests have a clear understanding of what they will experience during their stay. I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

We had a great time at the Arizona Grand Resort. With five I our party, our room with double queen beds and a living room area with a sleeper sofa was perfect. We all loved the water park. Sure, it would get a little crowded but that is what happens at a large resort. With a little patience, we found room for the five of us together. We were surprised that the package only came with four water park bracelets and that there would be an additional charge for the fifth bracelet. Thankfully, one of the front desk staff took care of us and simply gave us the fifth bracelet for the water park. I think that if the resort allows you took book rooms with five, you should expect the same number of bracelets for the water park. Our room could have used a tv upgrade. Vacationing with sd tv does seem dated, but we were not there to watch television. Staff did a good job and took care of us.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Dave L,

Thank you for being our guest at Arizona Grand Resort and sharing your experience with fellow travelers. It is great to see that your family of five felt comfortable in your spacious suite and that you loved Oasis Water Park. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I travel many times each month on business and the accomodations here were NOT 4 star anything. Very dirty room (our feet were black within minutes of taking our shoes off), fridge didn't work (drinks stayed warm the whole time) the tub didn't drain (after 5 minute shower you were standing in 4 inches of water) and we found a couple of bugs. :( Very disappointed with the room. The water park was good. The onsite restaurants were TERRIBLE. Never would recommend this place!

Room Tip: We stayed in Mountain Suites and they were awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Although the resort itself is beautiful, there were a couple things that really ruined the experience. The biggest thing that everyone going here should be aware of is that if you are not in line at least one hour before the waterpark opens, you are not getting a chair at all until around 3:30. The park opens at 10:00 and by 10:15 there is not a single chair available. People begin lining up at 8:30 am. After 10:15 you will have to find a patch of grass and even concrete in the corner to set up camp for the day. Also, they search your bag everytime you enter the park. You are not allowed to bring ANY outside food or drink in. I was forced to throw away my water that was 2/3 gone. After being searched several times at the airport on the way there (normal procedure) it was offensive to have to then get searched daily at my "relaxing" resort. Then there were SEVERAL little things that just added up eventually. For example, had to call everyday for coffee in my room, one day my room wasn't cleaned at all and when I called at 3:00 to inquire I was treated like I was asking for a million dollars. Finally, the staff, including management, never wanted to hear about any complaints. Just an overall feeling that they really did not care one way or another. We have stayed at several resorts and this one was definately a disappointment. There are way too many beautiful resorts in the Phoenix area to waste your money on this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iopscusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear iopscusa,

It is great to see that you found the Arizona Grand Resort a beautiful setting; however I apologize if the rest of your experience was not as outstanding. Spring break is the most popular time of year to visit Phoenix and the busiest time for our property. I am sorry if this affected your stay negatively. We appreciate the patience of our guests as we do require a quick inspection of bags brought into Oasis Water Park. Arizona law requires all alcohol on property to be purchased and supplied solely by the resort, and we are committed to fulfilling that obligation in providing a safe, family-friendly environment. I hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife planned our trip and booked us at the Arizona Grand Resort, subsequently I visit Tripadvisor and read a number of disgruntled reviews. I immediately reduced our stay by a few days and booked us in Sedona for the end of our trip. What I learned was that for as many unhappy travelers there are dozens that may not review a property but had a very satisfying experience.

We had a Villa, and we found it comfortable for my family. The kitchenette was helpful, and ample space for us to stretch out. The food was very good, albeit expensive, but not any more than I would expect from the property. The pool was great, but crowded especially on the weekend. People do arrive early, stake out their chairs and leave for breakfast or lunch leaving a shirt or hat on the chair to claim for the day. I do recommend doing the same, although chairs do become available throughout the day.

Rustler's Roost is nice kid friendly restaurant that we enjoyed. The health club is very nice also crowded at certain times of the day, but the hiking was wonderful.

Bottom line, we wish we wouldn't have reduced our stay, but the scary reviews got us nervous. We will be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear sinyusa,

Thank you for sharing your TripAdvisor insights with fellow travelers. We see so many satisfied guests leave the resort each day it can be surprising to find there were negative experiences. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your family vacation and hope that you can stay with us longer next time.


Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrison, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here with our two young kids (3 and 5). The water park is amazing. The kids loved it. It was very crowded the first day but not too crowded the second day. The lazy river is very relaxing and fun for the kids. The water slides are very steep and the kids must be 48 inches to ride so they couldn't go. Still, the hot tub, kiddy pool, wave pool and lazy river were all we needed.

We stayed in the Grand Suite which was huge. We upgraded a living social deal and I'm glad we did. It wasn't that much more money and it was great to have all the space.

The onsite restaurants were fine. The Lobby Grill had a decent breakfast but like everything else at the resort was quite expensive for what you get. The Rustlers Roost dinner restaurant was really fun for the kids (or would have been if they weren't so exhausted from all the swimming).

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Grand Suite for more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
resortgry, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for sharing your great recommendation for families. It is great to see that your kids had a blast at the private Oasis Water Park - even though they weren’t quite tall enough to go down the 8-story water slides (hopefully next year). We look forward to welcoming back your family to Arizona Grand Resort in the future.

Best regards,

Paul Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing