We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception was a success thanks to the Grand!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #30 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Reception was a success thanks to the Grand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Arizona Grand and it was the smartest thing we could have done!! Tracy Mueller, Samantha Zeigler and Savannah Bridges were amazing and worked tirelessly to make sure the details were all covered. Planning the event was fun and the outcome was over 100 happy and impressed guests in a beautiful romantic setting. All of our guests enjoyed the spacious rooms, the golf cart service was a great feature (those guys are so personable). Guests loved the water park and we enjoyed our cabanas and relaxing by the pool until the reception (imagine that, they took care of the details while my husband and I relaxed by the pool!). The food for the event and our cake, just great, the food servers, bartenders, all the staff in general know hospitality. Great service, friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms. My only complaint was that there were no pots or pans in the villas, but the full kitchen is nice if incomplete. It was the party of the year, but the staff's attention to great service and detail is what truly made it a success. We didn't have to worry much for the planning or the event itself thanks to them. They exceeded our expectations and the price overall was very reasonable compared to other venues.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Melinda P,
Thank you for you kind remarks regarding your reception at the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. I am so pleased that your reception was a success! Our team works tirelessly to ensure a great visit with us. I will make sure our team knows what a great job they did on the food and the service. Thank you for posting the beautiful pictures! We are honored that you decided to spend your special day with us. Congratulations on your marriage! We all wish you both a lifetime of happiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    743
    402
    202
    96
See reviews for
1,318
280
45
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights and 4 nights. Grandkids had a grand time in the Lazy River and the rides. Adults lounged in shaded areas in between dips in pools, river and rides. For the price, this was one vacation well worth the drive from California. Rooms were adequate for resting and sleeping since most of the day was spent in the pool area. Would definitely recommend this Resort to my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jladvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. You one of our greatest assets, our water park is always a hit. I am so glad you had such a fun and relaxing vacation with us! Our team is always working to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this hotel primarily due to it's location to Diamondback Stadium and the pool options. Little did we know that it's a little oasis in the middle of what seems like a residential neighborhood. Our room was spacious and clean. I loved the indoor courtyard areas of the hotels and the smaller pools in these locations. The main pool was well maintained, had ample seating, food and drink service at your seats and had something for everyone. The main lobby was also nicely setup with a cafe/giftshop and outdoor seating with a fire pit at night. We were fortunate to catch one of the movie nights at the pool. The kids loved it. We would go back in a heartbeat. Also loved the close proximity to Aunt Chiladas and Rustler's Roost.

Room Tip: If you have young kids ask for one of the building near the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0j03333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear j0j03333,
Thank you for you kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. You touched on many of our great amenities that better serve guests. We have dive-in movies at Oasis every Friday and Saturday nights during the summer. I'm glad you and your children had such a wonderful visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
154 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The main reason we chose Arizona Grand was for the water park. We weren't impressed. The place needs to be refurbished badly. No cool deck anywhere, so you can't walk around with your sandals off or your feet burn. The lazy river is more like a lazy stream. Very narrow and you bump into everyone or the tubes. The waterslides are okay, at best. The worst part is you can't bring any food or drink into the water park and they charge an arm and a leg for everything. $20 for two tap beers and a diet coke. If you want to go to a water park, save your money and go to Golfland Sunsplash or one of the other water parks in the Phoenix area. More bang for your buck. In fact, we talked to several people checking out stating they were heading to a different water park because this wasn't good.

As far as the hotel/resort area, it needs refurbishing too. Old, out of date and tiresome. On a good note, the room was clean and roomy. We didn't eat here because we figured since the water park food was overpriced, the restaurants would be overpriced. I don't mind paying the extra money for a nice, modern resort with decent amenities. Sadly, Arizona Grand did not fit the bill. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Melody M
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your visit was not all you hoped it would be. I'm sorry that the water park is not what you were expecting. We are always working to improve the quality of our property. Your mention of a "cool deck" will be taken into consideration as we are always looking for improvements for the water park. We sincerely hope you will return someday allowing us to demonstrate how important your business is to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Arizona Grand. The rooms are clean and comfy. When there was a problem (with the fridge) we just called the front desk and they took care of it. The grounds are so pretty and the Oasis Water Park was just what the family needed! This was my second time there and I look forward to returning for a third!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonGirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Tucsongirl2014,
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. You touched on two of our greatest assets, our service and our waterpark. We could not agree more with the praise for both. I am glad that our team was able to quickly fix the issue you had with the fridge in your room. I'm glad you and your children took advantage of, and enjoyed Oasis. We look forward to seeing you for your next trip to Phoenix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is a resort with spa and golf as well as a guest-limited waterpark.

Everything was wonderful during our stay. Our suite was spacious and well supplied. The staff was courteous and helpful, especially the concierge, Don Went, who was very instrumental in making our stay as great as it was. Mr. Went ‘went’ out of his way in several areas and is to be commended for doing a wonderful job in giving service to his guests.

However, the resort is showing its age. We noticed several areas needing maintenance attention.

While there is a resort charge that includes the waterpark, there is a free, good sized pool in every complex.

The only down side was the price of the food, both in the resort and at the Oasis Waterpark. It was ballpark level. At the very least, guests should be allowed to bring snacks into the waterpark. What would it hurt? Every parcel being brought into the waterpark is inspected upon entry for ‘illegal’ food. A picnic area just outside of the entry gate would be of great assistance to those families with children.

Parking is limited

Room Tip: Special values can be realized during summer months, as must be expected in Phoenix. Try for a Camel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Phillyta,
Thank you for your remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. You touched on two of our greatest assets, our service and our waterpark. We could not agree more with the praise for both. I am glad you were able to experience great customer service here. Don Went is one of our many team members who consistently go out of their way to provide a wonderful guest experience to our visitors. I am glad you enjoyed your room as well. Your comments on the condition of the property as a whole will help drive future decisions concerning the property. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Although this isn't what I would qualify as a "resort" in my mind, it was a great place to stay with kids for a reasonable price. We had a 2nd floor room in the Camelback building, and our patio opened out onto a small view of the pool area. Rooms are a little "tired", but spacious, clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff was very friendly, efficient and helpful and we enjoyed drinks by the pool while the kids swam. It is a large property and very easy to get lost or turned around. The location is close to the airport, but it seems far away from anything else. The water park isn't huge, but we enjoyed the smaller aspect of it…although it seems best suited for kids age 4-12. We would stay here again, but it was not the destination I had envisioned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiBu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear MiBu69,
Thank you for you kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are always striving to provide a wonderful stay at a valuable price. I am glad you got to experience the customer service we pride ourselves on. Our location is actually fairly ideal. We are just down the street from Target and Fry's, and the Tempe Marketplace is quite close to us as well, if you would like to go shopping. We hope you will consider us for your next visit to Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing