We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will look elsewhere next time.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #31 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Not impressed with resort. Did not live up to the hype or reputation. Room was small for a suite, expected something larger for the price. Hide a bed was broken,put mattress on floor and slept there. Oasis water park ran out of chairs, people were laying on towels in the grass. Very crowded.If there was a capacity limit they must have exceeded it.$13 Hambugers, $9 hot dogs was ridiculous.Bring a bag of money and don't go on a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjmc121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear tjmc121,
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us. I am sorry the room did not meet your expectations. We are always working to improve our property and our level of customer service. I am very sorry about the state of the hide-a-bed. Never hesitate to call the front desk and ask for assistance. You are correct, Oasis does get crowded on the holiday weekends. Many of our guests come specifically to enjoy our water park. I assure you we are always working to provide all our guests a pleasurable experience. I hope you will consider staying with us again to give us another chance to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staycationing here has become an annual summer tradition for our family. Summer prices are unbeatable! Rooms that normally go for $200 to $300 can be obtained for $100 to $150. This includes 4 passes to the on-site waterpark. The kids love the spacious rooms and, of course, the waterpark. The waterpark is only open to resort guests, so this helps keep the occupancy down. Waterparks here are expensive. Of course, they are much larger, but this works perfect for our family with two preschool-age children.

Most recently, we stayed here to celebrate my husband's birthday. I worked with group reservations and got great deals on awesome rooms for our friends as well. We've always enjoyed the food, both inside and outside by the pool.

We've stayed here multiple times now. At one point, we had a snafu. In the end, the management made it right. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating...they seem to actually LIKE their jobs! We highly recommend this resort. Check out sites like Groupon and Living Social for the great summer deals.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpaweleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear jpaweleck,
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. You touched on two of our greatest assets, our service and our waterpark. We have a great team, always working for a wonderful guest experience.We are so pleased that you decided to spend your husband's birthday with us! Our water park is a great resource to utilize for the event. We are always offering deals during our summer months, too. Check out our Facebook We hope you will continue to visit us for your family staycations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed her with a group - so did not have a choice where to stay. The resort is old and out of date - the water park has nothing to do and looks run down.

For the same price - I could have stayed at a 5 star hotel downtown with summer rates.

The hotel became very quiet at 10Pm when the pools closed - but before that kids running around knocking on doors - so not great security.

Maybe a better place with little kids - but still outdated.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a bed that is harder. The bed sunk on one side and the pullout was a typical u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear chilpickle,
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us. I am sorry the amenities and the property did not meet your expectations. We are always working to improve our property and our level of customer service. We are often full with families enjoying our water park. I'm sorry that you were disturbed during your stay. Please never hesitate to call the front desk if you are having any issues. We are here to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We also have security onsite 24/7 and they are always willing to help our guests. We work hard to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable experience. Your comments concerning the appearance of our property will help drive future decisions. I hope you will consider staying with us again to give us another chance to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Arizona Grand and it was the smartest thing we could have done!! Tracy Mueller, Samantha Zeigler and Savannah Bridges were amazing and worked tirelessly to make sure the details were all covered. Planning the event was fun and the outcome was over 100 happy and impressed guests in a beautiful romantic setting. All of our guests enjoyed the spacious rooms, the golf cart service was a great feature (those guys are so personable). Guests loved the water park and we enjoyed our cabanas and relaxing by the pool until the reception (imagine that, they took care of the details while my husband and I relaxed by the pool!). The food for the event and our cake, just great, the food servers, bartenders, all the staff in general know hospitality. Great service, friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms. My only complaint was that there were no pots or pans in the villas, but the full kitchen is nice if incomplete. It was the party of the year, but the staff's attention to great service and detail is what truly made it a success. We didn't have to worry much for the planning or the event itself thanks to them. They exceeded our expectations and the price overall was very reasonable compared to other venues.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Melinda P,
Thank you for you kind remarks regarding your reception at the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. I am so pleased that your reception was a success! Our team works tirelessly to ensure a great visit with us. I will make sure our team knows what a great job they did on the food and the service. Thank you for posting the beautiful pictures! We are honored that you decided to spend your special day with us. Congratulations on your marriage! We all wish you both a lifetime of happiness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights and 4 nights. Grandkids had a grand time in the Lazy River and the rides. Adults lounged in shaded areas in between dips in pools, river and rides. For the price, this was one vacation well worth the drive from California. Rooms were adequate for resting and sleeping since most of the day was spent in the pool area. Would definitely recommend this Resort to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jladvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. You one of our greatest assets, our water park is always a hit. I am so glad you had such a fun and relaxing vacation with us! Our team is always working to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Phoenix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked this hotel primarily due to it's location to Diamondback Stadium and the pool options. Little did we know that it's a little oasis in the middle of what seems like a residential neighborhood. Our room was spacious and clean. I loved the indoor courtyard areas of the hotels and the smaller pools in these locations. The main pool was well maintained, had ample seating, food and drink service at your seats and had something for everyone. The main lobby was also nicely setup with a cafe/giftshop and outdoor seating with a fire pit at night. We were fortunate to catch one of the movie nights at the pool. The kids loved it. We would go back in a heartbeat. Also loved the close proximity to Aunt Chiladas and Rustler's Roost.

Room Tip: If you have young kids ask for one of the building near the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0j03333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear j0j03333,
Thank you for you kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. You touched on many of our great amenities that better serve guests. We have dive-in movies at Oasis every Friday and Saturday nights during the summer. I'm glad you and your children had such a wonderful visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The main reason we chose Arizona Grand was for the water park. We weren't impressed. The place needs to be refurbished badly. No cool deck anywhere, so you can't walk around with your sandals off or your feet burn. The lazy river is more like a lazy stream. Very narrow and you bump into everyone or the tubes. The waterslides are okay, at best. The worst part is you can't bring any food or drink into the water park and they charge an arm and a leg for everything. $20 for two tap beers and a diet coke. If you want to go to a water park, save your money and go to Golfland Sunsplash or one of the other water parks in the Phoenix area. More bang for your buck. In fact, we talked to several people checking out stating they were heading to a different water park because this wasn't good.

As far as the hotel/resort area, it needs refurbishing too. Old, out of date and tiresome. On a good note, the room was clean and roomy. We didn't eat here because we figured since the water park food was overpriced, the restaurants would be overpriced. I don't mind paying the extra money for a nice, modern resort with decent amenities. Sadly, Arizona Grand did not fit the bill. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Melody M
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your visit was not all you hoped it would be. I'm sorry that the water park is not what you were expecting. We are always working to improve the quality of our property. Your mention of a "cool deck" will be taken into consideration as we are always looking for improvements for the water park. We sincerely hope you will return someday allowing us to demonstrate how important your business is to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £146 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing