We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable time, but only once”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights with our teenage boys (17 & 14) and went to a Diamondbacks game on mini getaway. The length of our stay was just right. Anything longer would have been too long. We don't golf, so there was no allure there. The room was good size (we had the least expensive "suite") and the beds were comfortable. However, the sofa bed had a miserable mattress and each boy had to endure a night on it. The water park was not overcrowded and it was staffed well. My husband and I spent some time in the lazy river and the boys liked the slides. They were ready to leave though and were okay that we weren't staying longer. We got a "good" deal through the resort's Facebook page on Tuesdays. But, I didn't realize how expensive the restaurant in the hotel was ($150 after tip for dinner with no drinks; $40 for 3 muffins and fruit for breakfast). Also, no drinks or food can be brought into the waterpark and the prices are high ($40 for 2 sandwiches and nachos; our son wanted a small slurpee and it was $5). The gym was nice, but you have to be 16 to use the equipment. Our 14 year old wanted to jog on the treadmill since it was 113 degrees outside and that wasn't allowed, so it was a huge disappointment. I'm glad we went because it was fun, but we won't come again. Our curiosity has been satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank californiafudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Californiafudge,
Thank you for your remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm sorry that your son was disappointed in not being able to use the fitness center, we understand that. We will also look into the condition of our sofa beds. We hope you will return someday and give us another chance to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,528 - 1,534 of 2,889 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Thought this was a RESORT with a waterpark. It is actually is a WATERPARK right off the fwy in tempe (our web search lead us to believe this was in Scottsdale), with a timeshare hotel next door. To their credit they have redone the villas and lobby beautifully!!! Gym is nice too. Unfortunately, there is no pool area that is nice enough for the adults to hang out all day. We booked 3 days, but only stayed one. The kids loved it, but for the adults the 1 night was all we could do. The Frys Electronic store, Dennys and a Mexican Restaurant is the only thing in walk distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuxeValueTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear LuxeValueTravler,
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us. I am sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. We are always working, and looking for ways to improve our property. While I'm glad your children enjoyed the waterpark, I'm sorry that the resort was not what you expected. I assure you that no part of our property is a timeshare. We work hard to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable experience, I am sorry that we were unable to provide this in your case. I hope you will consider staying with us again to give us another chance to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at the Arizona Grand this past weekend and were completely disappointed. The grounds are run down, tired, and dirty. The water park is just not clean, and smelled of old grease and garbage. NEEDS A GOOD CLEANING! There was nowhere to sit, which in retrospect was not bad since I could not wait to run out of water park area. We then went to a quieter pool on the grounds, but it needs a remodel as it looked like it hadn't even gotten a new coat of paint in twenty years. Room was clean, but that is the only positive thing I can say about the entire resort. The website is completely false advertising - what you see in those pictures is nothing like the real place. They must advertise on Groupon, or some other discount last minute vacation website, because the clientele was definitely not those you find at a "high-end" resort. The keg party in the room next door a complete turn-off, the kind of thing you would find in a Super-8. On second thought, Super-8 would have been better!! Unfortunately, they are sacrificing quality for size and of course, money. Never again! STAY AWAY!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Roscommon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Roscommon9,
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us. I am sorry the resort and waterpark did not meet your expectations. We are always working to improve our property. We have a high standard of cleanliness for our resort and I am sorry you were not able to experience this. I will look into the issues you had at our waterpark. We work hard to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable experience. Your comments will help drive future decisions. I hope you will consider staying with us again to give us another chance to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked 6 nights at the resort. After we spent about 6 hours on property we quickly realized this is not a 5 star property. They have a few 5 star photos parts of the property were great. The grounds and the water park area are in need of major cleaning up. The service was good and they have lots to do. We were just looking for something a bit higher end.

If you have smaller kids it's good, The photos are way way better than the actual property. It's just worn-out needs a remodel badly. Things like poorly kept landscape and sort of trashy in places other areas were nice, overall it's 3.8 to 4 stars max!. The Cabana's are in need of major cleaning pool furniture was in poor condition. The pool deck area needed to be power washed with heavy duty degreaser! IT WAS GROSS! Walking on your bare feet made my wife think twice. WIFI is super slow, yea they have WIFI at turtle speeds. HOW MUCH DOES IT COST TO REMOVE THE SPILLED FOOD AND YEARS OF GROUND IN DIRT AND GREASE from the pool area. This was the single biggest turn off. The foliage and trees were so overgrown it was just not kept well.

The room was clean I will say that much and it was a good location. Just not right for our family. The manager was really cool about helping us re-locate to another property, SO ALL IN ALL just know it's in need of updating. To their credit some construction was going on. Again great for Smaller kids my Teenagers killed me...... 16 to 18 olds........ Sorry for the semi-good review but this would have really helped me when i was booking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bloomer5146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Bloomer5146,
Thank you for taking the time to remark on your recent stay with us. I am sorry the resort and the waterpark did not meet your expectations. We are always working to improve our property. We will be looking into ways to improve our waterpark, especially the cleanliness, and guests' experiences there. We work hard to ensure all our guests have a pleasurable experience. Your comments will help drive future decisions. I hope you will consider staying with us again to give us another chance to wow you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms and excellent service at the Arizona Grand. From front drive and desk to water park attendants, servers in main dining room to housekeeping, staff was friendly and efficient. Yummy drinks poolside. Overall, great experience. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AnnieBH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear AnnieBH123,
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are always working to ensure our guests enjoy themselves. We would love to welcome you back on your next trip to Phoenix!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was a great experience from check in to check out. Very professional staff and at your call for everything. Very clean and the water park was awesome. We rented a cabana and the staff was great and it really kept us cool in the heat. Would definitely recommend getting a cabana especially in the summer. Great place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Dee B,
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. You touched on two of our greatest assets, our service and our waterpark. We could not agree more with the praise for both. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy the waterpark, our cabanas are a wonderful way to escape the heat. I hope we can welcome you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

thank all the staff and personnel at the Arizona grand for making our weekend a blast!!!
We got there on Sat afternoon and was greeted with a friendly smile at the front desk and the customer service continued all weekend long. (from the bellmen greeting us to the bartender)
If you have not been to the Arizona Grand you don't know what you have been missing.
our family has been coming here for over 10 years now and would not go anywhere else
Thx Lucchese Family

Room Tip: The villa's are amazing and will worth the cost !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, General Manager at Arizona Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Sal L,
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay with the Arizona Grand Resort and Spa. You touched on one of our greatest assets, our service. We could not agree more with the praise. Thank you for your repeat visits. We love to hear that our guests love coming back, especially for so many years! Thank you for your loyalty! We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#1 of 174 in Phoenix
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 8000 S Arizona Grand Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85044-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#11 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#26 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#27 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £149 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 744
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of America's largest urban park and wilderness preserve, Arizona's only AAA Four Diamond all-suite resort features spacious one and two-bedroom suites. Whether meeting with colleagues or vacationing with friends, gracious service, creative culinary delights, and unique recreational activities await. All in the midst of a tropical escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arizona Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Grand Hotel Phoenix
Pointe South Mountain Resort
Pointe South Resort
Arizona Grand Phoenix
Arizona Grand Resort & Spa Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing