We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great find downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Ranked #18 of 175 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great find downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a great place to stay downtown for business or pleasure. Has a very nice restraunt in hotel.. really great happy hour bar. Parking is a little expensive.. even self park ing is pricey...
but all the other services make up for the expensive parking .

Room Tip: We were there for meeting..when we were discussing our trip with desk clerk .. he saw that our shera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here, your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

You can rest assured that we strive to present a competitive price for downtown parking and we constantly re-assess our pricing structure. I suppose in any heart-of-the downtown area, parking can come at a premium price.

We are delighted that you found all of our other amenities to be of such great value!

We genuinely appreciate both your feedback and your business and hope that you will return for either business or pleasure sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    546
    117
    39
    38
See reviews for
112
144
93
1,067
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
372 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,513 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel in room 2033 February 24-27, 2014.

21 Reasons to come back:

1. Ad in AAA Arizona guide states 20% off lowest preferred rate with AAA card, and free parking when available.

2. Downtown location near Convention center and The Arizona Mall across the street.

3. $21 taxi fare from the airport, fixed $25 Towncar fare to airport.

4. $2 light rail fare from airport -at airport take skytrain to transit station, then light rail and get off at Central/Van Buren, and walk 4 blocks to hotel.

5. Eight elevators, four for floors 18-31, and four for floors 5-17.

6. Large expansive window with good view looking northward from upper floors.

7. Attractive southwest theme colors in spacious rooms, with white, and tan designed wall paper, pictures of landscapes, and clean square patterned carpet.

8. Firm and exceptionally comfortable king size bed, with 2 circular glass nightstands, with modern night lights.

9. 18" refrigerator, 32 " flat screen HD cable TV, and electronic safe..

10. In room coffee maker with Starbucks coffee

11. Huge 5' x 2.5' desk, with wheeled swivel chair, modern lights, large leather sitting chair.

12. Large, spotless bathroom, with 4' marble sink counter, vanity mirror, and bathtub.

13. Strong, effective thermostat adjusted room heater and AC

14 Six 22" flat screen monitors in lobby for free internet use by guests in lobby, with printer for printing out airline boarding passes. .

15. 25 meter outdoor heated swimming pool and 11 person whirlpool

16. 24/7 fitness center on premises with extensive weight and exercise rooms, including 8 treadmills, 8 elipticals, and 6 bike machines.

17. $5 happy hour two glasses of wine tasting grade 90 in lobby

18. Ask for a room without a connecting door to minimize noise from next door.

19. Ask for a room far from the ice machine and the elevators.

20. Ask for a room as far up as possible to minimize noise from the street, and to get a better view.
21. $5 per day credit if you waive daily housekeeping -credit must be used for food at the ground floor restaurant



Opportunities for improvement.
1. Long walk to carry luggage from nearest light rail station on Central Ave/Van Buren.

2. $17 a day parking, although this may be waived if you register through AAA.

3. $15 a day in room internet.

4. Noise from pool bar, and tall neighboring building next to lower southwest rooms

5. Noise from outdoor cocktail/music area next to lower northwest rooms

6. Room windows do not open even slightly

7. No microwave

8. Large gap under front door leads to noise from hallway.

9. One bottle of water in room labeled free, but watch out for the other bottle of water which costs $4

10. $2 for 20 ounce coke from ice machine, $2.69 for 15 oz orange juice in concession store in lobby

11 $18 downstairs restaurant breakfast buffet overpriced compared to $7 toast/sausage/eggs breakfast at Corner Bakery in Arizona mall.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on lower floors in southwest area overlooking the pool bar, and next to an adjacent tall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank goodness the reasons to return outnumbered the opportunities! 

However, we are thankful for all of the feedback you provided. We view feedback as a gift, so you were really very good to us..

Thank you for such a thorough and thoughtful review. We hope you will choose us again when you travel to Phoenix. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I loved everything about this Hotel - Very convenient location in downtown, 15 minutes from airport, Good size rooms, very neat & clean rooms, Fitness Center, real big lobby.

Paid but very convenient parking and plenty of nearby restaurants to eat

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Genius04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We’re glad your recent stay was so enjoyable and that you felt that doing business with us, was easy. We would love to welcome you back for a return visit. (Hint: Spring training has started!!)

Thank you for sharing your experience both with us and with your fellow travelers. We look forward to future connections with you and another opportunity to be of service.


Warm Regards,

Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here on a business trip preparing for a conference to be held here. The room was very nice, with comfortable bed. The hotel was located near several restaurants. The meeting facilities are very nice. Internet service was good, but there is an extra charge unless you use it downstairs. The lounge area downstairs where there is free internet, is very nice and fairly quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We’re so glad that you found your way to the Link @ Sheraton experienced with Microsoft. This is our connectivity hub where our guests can choose to work, relax, socialize or grab a snack. We understand how important it is to remain connected to work, family and friends while on the road.

We are thrilled that you would return for another visit and we stand ready to warmly welcome you back…

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

My husband had some work to do in downtown Phoenix, so my daughter and I tagged along. This is in a great location. Walking distance to Cityscape, sports arenas, Science Center and Children's Museum. The rooftop pool was pretty nice, with a bar and lounge chairs there as well. The bellman, Scott (I think) was very helpful and friendly. He was so patient with me (pushing my luggage around the parking lot) when I couldn't find my car. He also offered great suggestions for the area. I'd definitely stay here again! (Parking is $17 a day!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki86001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Vicki,

How great that you had time to explore the downtown area and enjoyed time with your daughter while your husband got some work done. If you haven’t been to the downtown area in a while, I hope you were pleasantly surprised at how much there is to see and do…

Thank you for recognizing Scott, one of our bellman; I doubt you were the first guest to forget where you parked!,  Glad you shared a memorable moment with him…

We hope the three of you will make the trip down from Flagstaff again soon. We look forward to it..

Warm Regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This location is close to the downtown convention center. The rooms we stayed in was in the club level. But for the extra money there was only the very basic items in the club lounge.
A cold breakfast selection of cut fruit, cereal or oatmeal, toast or pastry, hard boiled egg. Afternoon picks were uninviting and bland also.
I recommend to the hotel to upgrade the selections because you are receiving more for those rooms, provide more to the clients who are willing to pay for the upgraded rooms!
That being said if your going to stay downtown Phoenix, this is a GOOD place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback concerning our Club Lounge. We definitely want our guests who choose this upgrade to feel that there is value to the Club level experience, so we will consider your feedback carefully. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about it. Your feedback will allow us to improve and to get better and for that, we are grateful to you.

It was also gratifying to know that your overall experience here was a good one and that you found our location to be so convenient to the convention center.

We hope you will choose to come back and visit again and next time that your experience will be a GREAT one.

Warm regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Considering the price, this is just an average, ordinary hotel. All services were satisfactory, room was clean, staff polite. But, i consider the price exorbitant for the product that I paid for. I accepted the price, only because I was attending a seminar at this hotel. Otherwise I would have gone elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nic_PHX, Rooms Management at Sheraton Grand Phoenix, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
As you can imagine, being average is not something for which we strive; and we are sorry that you found this to be the case during your recent stay. And of course we also want our guests to feel that the amenities here are a great value.

We would have loved for you to have a different experience here, and we apologize that your expectations were not met -

Warm regards,


Rooms Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Westin Phoenix Downtown
#5 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 175 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#6 of 175 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Phoenix

Property: Sheraton Grand Phoenix
Address: 340 N 3rd St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2128 (Formerly Sheraton Phoenix Downtown Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#18 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#32 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Phoenix 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Grand Phoenix is conveniently located in the center of the city, adjacent to the Phoenix Convention Center and just five miles from the Sky Harbor International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing