We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #40 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel was the one included at the beginning of our organized tour of Az and Southern Utah.
The fact that we had a suite, made it large and comfortable. Our experience began with the convenient and prompt free airport shuttle. Within 1/2 hour of landing at the airport, my daughter and I were enjoying a swim in the pool. I thought the layout of the rooms were cool. Our room was on the 4th floor looking out over the pool area. We didn't have our own car, so before we left home, we always search Trip Advisor for local restaurants. We had chosen a small Mexican Restaurant which appeared to be within walking distance. It was called Los Jarritos maybe within a mile of the hotel. We found it, but it was closed :( Anyway, after trying to find a local alternative, we ended up at Ruby Tuesdays which was just down the street from the hotel. Back to Doubletree. The beds were comfortable, but we didn't sleep much because we were so excited to start our trip up through Sedona to the Grand Canyon. In the morning we ate at the included breakfast buffet which I found really good. Overall, Service was good and friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomad824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

I'm happy that we hit a homerun to start off your Southwestern tour. I hope the rest of your vacation was equally enjoyable. We always appreciate positive feedback and I'll be sure to share your comments with my team. Hope to have you and your family stay with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,197 - 1,203 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

I am totally in love with this hotel. The staff is so warm and welcoming, the hotel is in a good location, and the rooms are spacious. The property is very pretty and relaxing, which is what I like on business. I stay there every time I go to Phoenix after experimenting with three different properties there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXLATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you so much for your review and we are happy to be your favorite hotel in Phoenix! I will certainly pass on your compliments to the team. We look forward to having you back in sunny Phoenix soon.
Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This 80's era business hotel is hard to find for a start. It is in a "office park" that is of the poorest design ever. The parking lot is confusing, dangerous, and it is hard to find the hotel even when you are right in front of it! If your car is smaller than a school bus you might want to make sure you have full coverage before driving to the hotel, there are blind corners, obscured stop signs, you will be relieved to pull on to the crazy streets of Phoenix, because this parking lot is like driving in downtown Boston. I was there two nights and almost had three accidents in the lot.

the room was nice enough with two flat screen televisions, the rest of the room was sad 80's and has never been updated.

the pool would have been great, had it been in the sun at all. I went in winter and found that the deep heated pool never got any of the much craved sunlight I wanted on my vacation to the Valley of the Sun. But it was DEEP and clean and warm (getting out in the shade was a problem, very chilly, I stayed in for hours avoiding getting out)

The restaurant was AWESOME!!! We had a steak dish with rice and the whole thing was just good comfort food!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikethebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Phoenix. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and amenities help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. We sincerely apologize for your experience in our parking lot and we are working on adding signage for better direction and guest safety. Thank you again for your feedback and feel free to share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time. We do hope to see you back at the DoubleTree soon.
Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This hotel is located near downtown, and is generally ok. Rooms, lobby, grounds are all clean. Newspaper was not available on Sunday, free WSJ weekend was there on Saturday. Elevators to rooms are slow. Early risers will find packaged muffins and coffee in the lobby. Breakfast is free but a tip is expected. Canned fruit, leftover bacon mixed with packaged scrambled eggs, doughy pastries and imitation creamer are the stars of this dreary event. Seating under bright flourescent lights and rude dining room staff do not help the experience. The rooms are spacious, with small refrigerator, hair dryer and toiletries included. My room had ripped vinyl on a chair, the refrigerator setting froze food, and the toilet gurgled. Another guest complained about a broken hair dryer and broken security lock. My traveling companions complained that they were able to hear everything in the room next to them. These little things make a difference, and keep this location from being great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel and complimentary breakfast buffet. We’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our offerings, and we’ve shared your comments with our culinary team. Your feedback will also be kept in mind as we continuously work to improve our guest rooms and overall guest experience. Thank you for alerting us to the aesthetic issues in your room so that we can work to promptly correct them. The next time you’re in the area, we hope you’ll come back to see the changes we’ve made and tell us what you think. We want to provide you with the best guest experience possible. Thank you for helping us to improve!

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Two of us stayed here Sunday night (Labor Day Eve). This is an older hotel but has been well maintained. It is a good value at $76 plus tax per night, and it is located near the airport. It is not far from Scottsdale's Old Town and Civic Plaza area. Our room was spacious and well equipped. Even though we were located on the second floor right above the pool (and there were a lot of families in the pool with children), our room was fairly quiet. We enjoyed the warm water pool. We thought that the complementary breakfast started at 6 AM, but when we arrived at 6:45, there was a long line of folks from a tour group. We were then informed that breakfast started at 7 AM on holidays, this being Labor Day, so we waited longer than we had hoped for breaky. The breakfast was quite good with many options. Pete, the shuttle driver, helped us with directions to locations we wanted to drive to. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChazNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very clean and entire staff was so helpful. Too bad it was SO HOT there ! Pool looked very nice but it was too hot out. They provide a transport to and from the airport and the driver helped us find a cab to and from the concert that night. The cab driver met us outside after the concert. Rooms were very nice and it was cool inside when we got there in 106 degrees outside. They allowed us to stay an extra hour before our flight when we left which was very helpful. Everyone was really nice and the Neil Diamond concert was great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheriolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you so much for the great review of your recent stay with us. There are times we wish we could lower the temperature outside also. I'm glad you enjoyed the concert - Phoenix has some state of the art entertainment venues that are easily accessible by the light rail. We have a nearby station located just one block away. Hopefully you'll be able to take advantage of that when you stay with us during your trip to sunny Phoenix (and hopefully cooler Phoenix!).

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is in serious need of updating. Picked the Doubletree based on past experience of clean rooms and comfortable beds. The front desk attendant was very friendly, but hotel has external corridors, shows its age, and the tv in the bedroom was small. Bed was not bad, but not as comfortable as I expected. There were several hairs in the shower, major gross-out for me. The highlight was breakfast, a great buffet spread is included with your stay. I found it a little bold to ask for tips on the table, but the attendants did work hard and the breakfast was delicious! Location is great, less than 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDR1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

We appreciate the detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We use comments like yours to motivate and train our dedicated staff to ensure the utmost attention to detail. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary full buffet breakfast and close proximity to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#15 of 174 in Phoenix
1,474 reviews
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Camelback East
Holiday Inn & Suites Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix

Address: 320 N 44th St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#59 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £67 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort-style atmosphere less than two miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and five miles from downtown Phoenix at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix. Getting around is hassle-free at our Phoenix Airport hotel with complimentary airport shuttle service (call hotel directly for pick-up services) and the Metro Light Rail System just one block away. Start every day in style when you choose from our complimentary breakfast buffet at Belvedere's American Grill. Open throughout the day, this restaurant serves a range of modern American favorites in a casual setting. After a busy day, make the most of the warm Arizona sunshine with a swim in the outdoor pool or unwind with a workout in the fully-equipped fitness center. A warm welcome and a warm DoubleTree cookie are waiting for you at this all-suite Phoenix Airport hotel. A private bedroom and a separate seating area with sofa bed give you more flexibility for work or added space for the whole family. Upgrade to a Business Class suite for extra perks including free WiFi, daily drink coupons to Belvedere's, a lap desk, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Phoenix
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing