We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #41 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed 16 April 2009

We have stayed at Doubletree Suites in different cities and have always had pleasant experiences. Our stay at the Doubletree Gateway Center was no different. We enjoyed a two room suite with two queen beds and a pull out couch. The accommodations were clean, updated and comfortable. A big screen TV in high definition was a pleasant surprise. The buffet breakfast is bountiful and delicious. Shuttle service to and from the hotel was convenient. This hotel is very close to the airport, but you will not notice air traffic from your suite. There are no restaurants or shopping within walking distance. The hotel has only one restaurant, so you will need to drive elsewhere if you want variety or less expensive options. If you do rent a car, please consider Enterprise @ 2834 N. 44th Street. It was much cheaper to rent out of that location rather than the airport, and we were able to leave the car at the hotel at the conclusion of our trip

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coolfallday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,390 - 1,396 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2009

Normally I write a lot, but I am finding it hard not to repeat the other reviews, so I will just sum up this place as concisely as possible:

This hotel is uniquely designed, with large, very comfortable suites that are a pleasure to stay in. The staff is wonderful, and the hotel has everything you would need, from a wonderful pool to very modern exercise equipment. I loved every minute of staying there.

The hotel's location is less than 5 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of a couple restaurants and gas stations. The airport shuttle also runs on time and they have free Wi-Fi in the lobby. A great experience and I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrakoczy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

I stayed here because I had a short meeting with one of the companies in the Gateway Center. The rate was good and the room was spacious. A two room suite with a small bathroom. Flat screen TV in the living area. A limited room service menu. food was ok, not spectacular. The water pressure was poor. The amenities were all Nutrogena. The bed was comfortable...a bit too soft for my taste but I slept well. There is a microwave, coffee maker and a fridge. I received comp bottled water. There is an on-site restaruant with a free buffet breakfast. The eggs were cold though. But it was free. Pretty standard fare for the business traveler. I personally like hotels that have a bit more style. There was not much to do in the area. It is in a corporate park. This hotel is just a couple of mins. from Sky Harbor Airport, though you never hear any jets. I might try a different location next time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wordub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We moved to this hotel after a bad experience at the Tempe Sheraton Four Points. What a difference, like going from purgatory to heaven. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was beautiful and spacious, pool was very nice and relaxing. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I thought that the Doubletree was OK, but not as great as some people here have said. The pool was only average, the room, while decorated well, was also in need of a paint job. There was a big stain on the bed linens, too. Also, the free breakfast wasn't very good. The location is kind of strange.

On the plus side, the beds were pretty comfortable. Also, I never heard noise from the nearby airport.

I will definitely try a different place next time.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77skidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

This very pleasant hotel is close to the Phoenix airport but you don't have a problem with airport noise. They do provide a 24 hour airport shuttle. Efficient check in and free chocolate chip cookies. The rooms are true two room suites with a living area with couch, chair and large screen tv, a kitchen dining are with a small table, and a nice bedroom. Plenty of closet and drawer space. There is a very pleasant interior courtyard with outdoor pool, hot tub, fountains and tables. This Doubletree provides a complimentary buffet breakfast which was quite ample--fruit, cereals, pastries, eggs, juices, coffee, etc. It is served in their restaurant (we didn't actually eat any other meals there, so I can't speak to the restaurant/bar itself). They have a small business center with free internet access and free printing (very convenient for boarding passes, etc.) The hotel is in an office type area, but is within a couple of blocks of the Chinese Cultural Center of Phoenix, which includes several restaurants. We went to the Szechuan restaurant which was very good and quite inexpensive. There is also a very interesting Asian market there which was fun to browse.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

The hotel is very convenient to the Phoenix airport and the rental return center which was important on this trip. From the moment we came, the staff was friendly and helpful! I had called ahead to talk to the concierge to make a reservation for a city tour and when I got to the hotel, he had made some calls and even remembered by name and knew what room I was staying in. It made me feel like they really wanted me to feel at home. Everyone at the front desk treated you like a friend rather than a customer. LOVED THE COOKIES!!!! They are the best and were a welcome treat when we arrived.

The hotel restaurant has a smaller menu than some hotels, but the food was very good and not outrageously priced. The only downside to this hotel is that there is nothing much around it, however they do offer shuttle service to the downtown area.

Our room was beautiful and very clean. (Important when you have your elderly mom with you!). It has an outside entrance to the rooms as opposed to a inside hall, however I never felt uncomfortable walking to my room. The room had a sitting area and then a separate bedroom and bath. It was nicely set up and allowed each of us to have some space to ourselves in the evening. It was a little cool to take in the pool, but the grounds including the pool were kept very clean and tidy.

Breakfast is a large buffett with the usual amenities and was very good. In the morning we took a walk on 44th St and found a large Asian Cultural Center about two blocks away. It has a lovely garden area with ponds that you can walk through and has several restaurants with Asian menus. If you want a real treat, walk through the grocery store and see items not normally found in your garden variety grocery store! Fresh fish,in tanks and on ice, unusual meats and veggies are just a few. I love talapia and this is the first time I actually saw the real thing swimming in a tank! It is very interesting and I learned a lot!

Being close to the airport, I was concerned about noise, but although you could faintly hear some of the jets, it was by no means noisy. It was very quiet and the cozy beds made it easy to get a good night sleep. If I return to this area, I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wistraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix

Address: 320 N 44th St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#43 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#59 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: £90 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort-style atmosphere less than two miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and five miles from downtown Phoenix at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix. Getting around is hassle-free at our Phoenix Airport hotel with complimentary airport shuttle service (call hotel directly for pick-up services) and the Metro Light Rail System just one block away. Start every day in style when you choose from our complimentary breakfast buffet at Belvedere's American Grill. Open throughout the day, this restaurant serves a range of modern American favorites in a casual setting. After a busy day, make the most of the warm Arizona sunshine with a swim in the outdoor pool or unwind with a workout in the fully-equipped fitness center. A warm welcome and a warm DoubleTree cookie are waiting for you at this all-suite Phoenix Airport hotel. A private bedroom and a separate seating area with sofa bed give you more flexibility for work or added space for the whole family. Upgrade to a Business Class suite for extra perks including free WiFi, daily drink coupons to Belvedere's, a lap desk, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Phoenix
DoubleTree Suites By Hilton Hotel Phoenix Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing